We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Ranked #92 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very good location, just inside the historical wall of the Chiang Mai. It helds a night bazzar every Saturday just outside the hotel. Near the local center and a few eating places arround. Free WIFI and the brealfast is also good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik_stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 364 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We liked the hotel very much for the following reasons:
1) Location - on the main street of the old city with many eating places and temples, just accross the street of the old city walls/ moat and a nice square into which the weekend bazaar extends;
2) Staff: Friendly, very helpful with suggestions on sightseeing in the city and around
3) Rooms - comfortable. we had a street facing room and experienced no problems regarding street noise.
4) clockroom where we weere allowed to leave our luggage for two days between 2 separate visits to the hotel.
5) Tourist agent in the same building (we used it for several day trips)

The cons we do have:
a) breakfast - just OK
b) lobby not fully ACed

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillelarkin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival following checkin we were asked What time for breakfast box? It was at this point we found out that there was no restaurant facilities due to refurbishment . plus work was being undertaken on the 2nd floor Business facilities! So much for settling in and eating in house . Drainage in bathroom is smelly and shower leaks. Views from rear of hotel M were 50/50 in that you saw back of shops but could make out occasional Temple and then the distant hills with the odd flight .
That said the location so far has proved handy for central city .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinTaylor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had a street side room and a couple of nights it really was loud. In addition, there are renovations going on so it was noisy at times during the day. The rooms are pretty dated and really do need a facelift. On the other hand, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the location is good. My room did not come with breakfast which was OK as it was easy to find a better breakfast at probably half the price close to the hotel. So to sum up, it isn't someplace I would recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If your looking for a budget stay in the heart of the city it does not get better than Hotel M. It's close to everything, great staff, free parking with security guard. Short walk to the night bazaar, we were only going to stay one night and ended up staying the rest of our stay in Chiang Mai. We had a rental car so we could explore far outside the city, but no need if you want to just experience the city, plus you can book tours right out the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my partner and some friends. The location is standout, 15 minute walk from the night bazaar. Bars and restaurants nearby are plentiful. The rooms have all your standard needs bed, bathroom, safe, tv, hair dryer etc. Staff were quite friendly and helpful and there is a tour shop connected to the hotel. My group and I found this very helpful, we were able to hire motorcycles here for a decent price. However, don't get your expectations up for the breakfast buffet, it's pretty average. For the price and location, we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on higher levels. Better wifi and you don't hear the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here four nights in January 2013. All of the cab drivers were able to find it easily... it seems to be a well-known spot. As many other reviewers have stated, it's right next to the main gate of Chiang Mai. We walked to the Saturday night market (15 mins) and the night bazaar (15 mins). And the Sunday market is right at the doorstep.

When we first arrived, I asked the front desk how to arrange a couple of tours. Like the Tiger Kingdom, for example. They looked confused. Maybe ask the tour company next door? So I went next door and asked. No... they don't do that. I wandered outside and got a Tuk Tuk driver to take us... no problem. But it seemed like an easy enough task. Don't know why the staff member thought it was such a strange request. Would have been nice if they would have helped me arrange a cab or tour.

The bathroom was not great. The tub/shower combination was raised above floor level and was hard to get in and out of (we are both in our 20's and fit... it was just an awkward setup). And there was only a tiny wall blocking the spray, so water kind got everywhere.

The bed was somewhat hard, and the street noise (mainly from the restaurant attached to the hotel) was distracting to us. But that's because they put us right next to the street (even though I asked specifically to be at the back of the hotel).

Overall, we were happy with our stay. The room was nothing special, but it was all we needed. And the rate was fair. A slightly more proactive staff, better designed bathroom, and a quieter room would have been preferred. But the location and rate were great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderingweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#65 of 393 in Chiang Mai
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
2 mi away
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#67 of 393 in Chiang Mai
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#289 of 393 in Chiang Mai
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel M Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M Chiang Mai

Address: 2-6, Rachadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Tha Phae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Montri Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $50 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M Chiang Mai is standing behind the historic Tha Phae Gate, a signature of Chiang Mai. Tha Phae Gate is a trading post which was said by past locals to have given good luck and prosperity for those who lived behind it. A mid-sized business hotel in Chiang Mai’s ‘Old City’, Hotel M is dedicated to service above all else, and is founded on the idea of “Get more than you pay for.” Hotel M Chiang Mai is decorated in a modern contemporary style, complete with modern facilities and services; yet still staying true to tradition and a friendly atmosphere with handmade antiques rich in culture spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel M Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing