We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Hotel M Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Ranked #78 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Very noisy hotel, pretty poor breakfast and worst of all: first promissing to bring us to the busstation for free after our stay and when we checked out, we suddenly had to pay for that (so we took a songtauw instead).

Will never stay there again eventhough the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, General Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for having chosen Hotel M Chiang Mai for your accommodation during the past. With our deeply regret to hear from you that there was some unsatisfactory experience occurred with you during your stay. We do apologize for this happening. We actually have tried much to improve and expand our product lines and services to meet guest needs, but unfortunately it’s happen during your stay.
Once again, please accept my sincere apologize for the happening. I do hope for your kind understanding to the human error. We thank you for your positive comment and will more carefully to give the best services at all time in the future.
Sincerely Yours,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    156
    79
    19
    14
See reviews for
53
118
53
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is well accessible and the traffic is fine. The assigned room is big and clean. The staff in the hotel are friendly and polite and most importantly, they are ready to render their services when you need. One disadvantage is the street noise. If you are easy in sleeping then there is no problem about it. The price paid is still worthwhile and reasonable. Overall experience is good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C_TanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Location was amazing, close to everything you need! Rooms are quite small with even smaller bathrooms. Paid $50 in peak season, I think it's a little overpriced. If you can't sleep with street noise then don't stay here. Overall if was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_sister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here while backpacking as there was no availability in the place we wanted to stay. Every week or so we will stay somewhere half decent to break up the budget accommodation. This place is not worth the extra. The shower was a bit grotty and cold in the morning. The room service order wasn't correct and there is little information in the room to help your stay. There is a map that you have to pay for!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The location is excellent in which there's many restaurants, starbucks or chain stores nearby. The room is clean and with free wifi.

the only thing to complain is the breakfast is really so-so.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiuKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Hotel is in town, close to everything and everywhere. Room is clean, bathroom small but clean, good shower . Breakfast is very good, having several options for the traveller. Will come again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have just spent another 2 days at this hotel and now wish I had been able to stay longer. I would be happy to recommend Hotel M, I have stayed here on a number of ocassions. The location, right by Thapae gate is ideal for the famous Sunday night market, it is also just a short walk to the amazing daily Warorot market.
For 100 baht a tuk-tuk will get you to Airport Plaza but you will need most of the day as it's huge. Plenty of good restaurants there too...Ok, shopping aside, walking around town is easy from the Hotel and although the traffic can be heavy at peak times, it's much nicer than Bangkok (in my opinion).
Most of all, the staff are pleasent and helpful, from arrival to departure. Rooms are nice and the beds very comfortable.
I would say though, the breakfast could be better (cold fried eggs) but I wouldn't rate the hotel down for just one small problem. I live in Thailand (ex-pat/UK) and will be staying at this hotel again for sure. I have tried a few others but it has to be Hotel M for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcNSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 386 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#72 of 386 in Chiang Mai
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#36 of 386 in Chiang Mai
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#83 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#45 of 386 in Chiang Mai
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel M Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M Chiang Mai

Property: Hotel M Chiang Mai
Address: 2 - 6 Ratchadamnoen Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Montri Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M Chiang Mai is standing behind the historic Tha Phae Gate, a signature of Chiang Mai. Tha Phae Gate is a trading post which was said by past locals to have given good luck and prosperity for those who lived behind it. A mid-sized business hotel in Chiang Mai’s ‘Old City’, Hotel M is dedicated to service above all else, and is founded on the idea of “Get more than you pay for.” Hotel M Chiang Mai is decorated in a modern contemporary style, complete with modern facilities and services; yet still staying true to tradition and a friendly atmosphere with handmade antiques rich in culture spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel M Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing