We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Ranked #9 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed here”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Originally we arranged to stay here for 2 nights but ended up staying for 5 as it was so lovely! It felt like a bit of luxury on our travels of South East Asia, so great to have a swimming pool to cool off after wandering around Chiang Mai. Daphne & Tu are really friendly & helpful. The only issue it that it's so far from the centre of Chiang Mai, however in a way that's nice as it feels calm & much more relaxing than being in the centre! They had flyers for Baan Chang elephant park - Daphne booked us a 2 day trip (she doesn't take any commission at all for organising anything for you) and it was such an amazing experience, I'd definitely recommend going there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffietje, Owner at Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay with us and writing a review!! We wish you lots of travels and luck :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    57
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
110
128
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed 7 nights at Liam's in July - August with our little boy who turned 1 during our stay there....it was the perfect place to celebrate his first birthday! the most childfriendly place we stayed during our holiday...thanks to Daphne and her staff, the good babycot, highchair (finally a chance to have a peaceful meal), abundance of toys, the custommade birthday cake and ofcourse the pool...
the location - out of the city centre - turned out to be a plus....after a day in the city it was nice to come 'home' in a tranquil place...

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ilke c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffietje, Owner at Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We were delighted to celebrate the first brithday together. Hopefully we'll meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

we have been here for 6 nights and we had a great time !! the children loved the breakfast, with pancakes ,egg,or frence toast!!
Daphne was very helpfull and also the other people who worked there,the rooms are very nice and complete!
and very clean!
the children wanted to stay here and so did we!!
a very nice quiet place ,close to the centre of Chang Mai!
wenn you go to Chang Mai ,;GO to this Place!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for 5 night. Hotel is outside Chiang Mai centre in a quite suburb. Tuktuk or taxi required to get into the centre. Service from Daphne and her team was realy excellent : starting in the morning demanding if you would like pancakes or french bread. We made a beautiful daytrip with bamboo rafting and elephant riding, picked up a the guesthouse and brought back to the guesthouse. Also the restaurant recommendations (Pak Dang, ....) were excellent. Guesthouse rooms very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipSchoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a little late as our trip was last February. Just wanted to say that we had a wonderful time at this guesthouse. Daphne, the owner was a fantastic hostess as were her parents. She arranged cooking classes, her parents managed to get a birthday cake for us and even let us tag along on a day excursion.Above and beyond. You are a little bit out of the main area but after going to the downtown area I'm sure we had much better sleeps at night. Downtown Chaing Mai is only a quick Tuk Tuk ride away. Daphne will arrange this. We went daily as it is only cost $100 to $120 baht, The guesthouse is very laid back, has a great little restaurant and has clean rooms. There is a nice little pool to cool off in and well you can't beat the hospitality. We felt like friends by the time we left.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VelvetCowichanBay_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Liam's place is a basic but very homely guesthouse outside the tourist area of Chiang Mai. It is very good for families with young children as there are big family bedrooms with bunk beds and cots (if you need one) The place is basic but Daphnee and her staff are very welcoming. The place is laid back so you feel relaxed. The kids can play outside and swim in the pool which is always good to have break from visiting and shopping! It is quite easy to find a taxi to tuk tuk to commute to town..and it takes around 15 min for a reasonable price. I definitely recommend Liam's place for families with young children... but maybe not for older ones.. as it is away from town and located in a quietish area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valprovence1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

my sister rena and i arrived at liams to be greeted by daphne, rabbits, and lovely,doggies, it was brilliant being there, home from home feeling,we were there in febuary, only to stay a day or so, but loved it so much there, we stayed much longer, daphne was great and very welcoming, had lots in commen, will definatly go back, stasi from brighton, lots of space there, and bikes to go for a spin. grat to relax,by pool,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stasia604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,061 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#57 of 381 in Chiang Mai
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 736 in Chiang Mai
705 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#7 of 736 in Chiang Mai
220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai

Property: Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Address: 87/45 Moo 7 Tambon Faham, | Moo Baan Samakon, A. Muang,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small guesthouse in a local Thai area, not too far from the hustle and bustle from the old city centre but perfect for those who prefer a quiet surrounding and homey feeling, it's time to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing