We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing expericnce”

Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First Cooking School In Chiang MaiTubtim - Tuk and his family Run the Original and Only Cooking School in Chiang Mai that is by Completely Hands On !! That means that You Chop, Cook and Make all your Own Sauces. This is not a Demonstration or Jigsaw Puzzle COURSE ! The Cookbook Consists of Original Family Recipes handed down from Generation to Generation and Now to YOU. It is not a Copied Cookbook!! Tubtim-Tuk will Welcome You into his Family Home to Teach You the Secrets of Thai Cooking !!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing expericnce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We opted for the full day cooking course (1000Baht) and it was fantastic. The team pick you up from your hotel and take you to the cooking centre. For the full day course you choose 6 items (starter, soup, curry paste, curry, stir fry and dessert). They take you to the local market to buy the ingredients which is great and our instructor, Gale (who was amazing), explained about the ingredients and how they are used in Thai cooking. You spend the next few hours cooking each course and of course, eating it! At the end they give you a certificate and a book with the recipes you cooked and a whole load more.
I would definitely recommend it as it is really good fun and a great way to learn.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshJo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    35
    8
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not recommend it at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

There is at least 20 cooking classes in Chiang Mai which does not make it easy to choose.

We picked up randomly Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre as it was in the city.

It ended up being an unpleasant experience. They brought several large groups and we ended up being close to 30 people. The preparation, cooking, explanation was so rushed that he missed completely the purpose.

It is obvious that those people see cooking class as a source of easy money, but there is absolutely no passion about cooking and sharing with students. You just come, pay, cook, eat and go...

I would have preferred them telling us that they were fully booked rather than being packed in a small place with so many other people.

Give it a miss

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fdd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petal, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences we had in thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My 74 year old mother and 11 year old daughter went to the class with me, They went above and beyond making this a great experience. The food we cooked (with their instruction) was the best we had in thailand, We loved our own cooking. Ha Ha. I had considered another cooking school, but was so happy with the education, cook book, diploma (full day), and the ALL STAR STAFF. I will return to this school to cook some more next time, maybe for multiple days.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bayouranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to learn thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre is one of many cooking schools in Chiang Mai, and is a very solid school. They take care of you and make cooking into and enjoyable time, make sure you come with an empty tummy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeem p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day, would highly recommend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I did the full day course here and loved it! I was very impressed with how organised and well planned the day went with lots if ppl attending and each having chosen 6 different dishes. The market tour was a great way to start and each dish was cooked in stations. It was a great way to meet people as I was a solo traveller. The staff were great, with plenty if extra staff to help if needed. The food was all tasty, but I wouldn't recommend the sweet and sour as it was made with ketchup, which I don't like.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noosh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing