We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Klang Wiang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Klang Wiang
Ranked #5 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week in Chiang Mai. We stayed in two properties - both very nice - the Kodchasri Thani and Baan Klang Wiang. Baan Klang Wiang was by far our favorite hotel and perhaps one of the nicest boutique hotel experiences we've had anywhere between my very well traveled partner and myself. It certainly ranks in terms of exquisite accommodations, service, charm, cleanliness and quality and compares well with any boutique hotel in Europe or the Americas. We had room #8 which is the only suite in the hotel (upstairs, far corner). Simply beautiful and tastefully appointed 2 room suite with marvelous bathroom. Bedroom featured a 4 poster king size bed and living room had comfortable couch, chairs, television, sitting area, refrigerator. Nice amenities, toiletries, robes. Generous and well done breakfast is ordered the prior day and completely accommodating of varied tastes and choices from full Asian set to American eggs and bacon. No food served other than breakfast though and no bar. Not an issue for us but that may be of issue for others. Service was kind, always present and thoughtful. Truly a delightful tone, style, and comfort to the property. Well situated tucked away in a quiet residential street across from an older, typical Wat but only a quick stroll away from the Chiang Mai Gate street market where food of every kind is sold from various street vendors and there is much to see. Easy to catch a tuk tuk to the Night Bazaar or the various riverside restaurants. Strolling to anywhere within the Old City is easy and relatively quick. Well known restaurant for traditional Northern Thai (better for lunch than dinner IMO) is within easy 10 min stroll (Huen Phen) as is Wat Chedi Luang. Would recommend staying here without any reservations for anyone visiting Chiang Mai....plan to be back again next fall and specifically staying here!

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms on site. We only saw our room - #8 - the suite. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    64
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
183
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in Chiang Mai for three days and stayed at this hotel for all three nights. It was an absolutely lovely hotel with exquisite decor. Rooms were clean and beautifully furnished (simple but elegant). The bed was really comfortable and there was a nice sitting area with sofa near the window overlooking a garden. The bathroom was modern.

The hotel has an inside courtyard with couches, pillows, and lots of plants - it is a very peaceful, quiet, serene setting. This courtyard is also where breakfast was served. We loved the American breakfasts (great pastries!) but the Asian and Thai breakfasts are a little unusual if you are not used to them. There is also a pool in the courtyard - beautiful, but the water was freezing!

The staff was really lovely and very accommodative. They helped us plan all of our tours and were really helpful (although sometimes their English was a bit hard to understand). Also, really nice security guard/door man helped us with our bags upon arrival and greeted us each day.

We picked the hotel for the location - right in the heart of the city. Easy to walk all over the Old City (as everything is within a 2 mile radius. Although the city can be a little tricky to navigate, this hotel actually had helpful signs on some of the major roads to help you find your way back home. We really enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Really nothing to complain about. Lovely staff and very decorative setting. Large clean rooms and bathroom. Located opposite a wonderful terra cotta garden-you must see this!
Pool was too cold for a dip but a comfy stay non the less.
Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank throughsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my friend. We didn't want to leave! The hotel itself is beautiful. The entire lobby/courtyard is an impeccably decorated, serene environment. The service was wonderful and always with a smile. The room was incredibly comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything we needed, even a small refrigerator with drinking water and other items. It's a small hotel and all rooms overlook the courtyard. There is a small pool if you'd like to take a dip. Great location for walking anywhere in the old city. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if I returned to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillPNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Super small hotel with rooms on two floors surrounding a pretty little garden, breakfast terrace and swimming pool. Some staff spoke good English so organising tours, taxis etc were no problem. Good position for Old Town and the Walking Streets. No restaurant but plenty in area of all sorts. No alcohol but more than happy to provide glasses for carry in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank meanderstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I made my reservations for a flight to Chiang Mai about three months ago, and attempted to make a reservation at this hotel at least 3-4 times through their web site at about the same time. I kept getting a response that the reservation was pending, but not confirmed until I heard from them. Despite emailing them numerous times, I could not get a response. When I was three days away from arriving in Chiang Mai I finally emailed them and asked if they had made a reservation or if I should look elsewhere. They emailed back a chirpy response that the hotel was fully booked, but maybe next time. This is a really poor business practice and left me to look for a hotel at very short notice when many of the more desirable hotels are already booked. No, there won't be a next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Baan Klang Wiang. Definately, my best choice!
Before my flight, I wrote a letter to them according to their website, and they suggest the room number 5# which is a king size bed room on the second floor.
Its location is at the southern gate of the old city. I suggest you google map it and show it to the taxi driver.
The breakfast is prebooked a day before, gorgeous!
The decoration is pleasant, furniture is of old Thai fashion. I just love it.

Unfortunately, I wrote a letter to inquire about a special honeymoon setting, they did not reply and didn't decorate the bed for us.

Room Tip: my room is number 5, with a king size bed and on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Wiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Wiang

Property: Baan Klang Wiang
Address: 45 Ratchamanka Soi 6, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Klang Wiang 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Baan Klang Wiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Klang Wiang Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing