We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Klang Wiang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Klang Wiang
Ranked #3 of 359 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Super small hotel with rooms on two floors surrounding a pretty little garden, breakfast terrace and swimming pool. Some staff spoke good English so organising tours, taxis etc were no problem. Good position for Old Town and the Walking Streets. No restaurant but plenty in area of all sorts. No alcohol but more than happy to provide glasses for carry in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank meanderstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    54
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
160
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I made my reservations for a flight to Chiang Mai about three months ago, and attempted to make a reservation at this hotel at least 3-4 times through their web site at about the same time. I kept getting a response that the reservation was pending, but not confirmed until I heard from them. Despite emailing them numerous times, I could not get a response. When I was three days away from arriving in Chiang Mai I finally emailed them and asked if they had made a reservation or if I should look elsewhere. They emailed back a chirpy response that the hotel was fully booked, but maybe next time. This is a really poor business practice and left me to look for a hotel at very short notice when many of the more desirable hotels are already booked. No, there won't be a next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Baan Klang Wiang. Definately, my best choice!
Before my flight, I wrote a letter to them according to their website, and they suggest the room number 5# which is a king size bed room on the second floor.
Its location is at the southern gate of the old city. I suggest you google map it and show it to the taxi driver.
The breakfast is prebooked a day before, gorgeous!
The decoration is pleasant, furniture is of old Thai fashion. I just love it.

Unfortunately, I wrote a letter to inquire about a special honeymoon setting, they did not reply and didn't decorate the bed for us.

Room Tip: my room is number 5, with a king size bed and on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed five nights at this hotel and was extremely pleased with the services we received. Staff went out of their way to tend to every need and want of the customers. One of the manager even drove us to the nearby bank when we were low in Bahts. She's a jack of all trade and always smiles. Any other staff was also like that! We highly recommend this small 10 room place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PooKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this boutique hotel. It was quiet, clean and the staff were lovely and very keen to ensure our stay was pleasurable. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The outside area around the pool was inviting and the garden was really well kept. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel was really well located, close to the Chiang Mai Gate and both the Saturday and Sunday night markets. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nibor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went to this hotel during our honeymoon in Thailand.. we were the only one customer in the hotel, it was very quiet.. Staff is very helpfull, welcoming and was always here for us.. Rooms are huge and very clean.
Restaurant is perfect too, moreover they keep our bagages for 1 week for free whereas we go the mountain..
It is the place you have to go in Chiang Mai

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After the hustle and bustle of Bangkok this hotel was a beautiful serene experience the staff were very polite and helpful, the room was superb with the most comfortable bed breakfast was a pleasure all in all i would recommend it to anyone looking to relaxe the night market was a 20 minute stroll away plenty of tuk tuks available if you need them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bualoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 359 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 359 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 359 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 359 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Wiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Wiang

Property: Baan Klang Wiang
Address: 45 Ratchamanka Soi 6, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Klang Wiang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baan Klang Wiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Klang Wiang Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing