We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geared to Young Travellers”
Review of MO Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MO Rooms
Ranked #170 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Mo Rooms should be converted into an art gallery/bar, it's that cool. I stayed for a couple of nights with friends, and although nothing about it was awful, nothing about it was that great either. I got to see 3 of the rooms. They are definitely artsy but they aren't functional whatsoever. If you're in your 20's, book this place and you'll love it. For anyone who is slightly more mature, well, it's dangerous. The floors aren't even, there are odd steps in the rooms, the bed in one rooms is on a massive platform. My husband tripped half a dozen times. All rooms on the ground floor have a distinctive 'swimming pool' smell. The staff was nice, the location is fantastic. Although, I much preffered the area near the Yesterday Hotel which was lined with art galleries, bars and boutique shopping.

Room Tip: As far from the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissybatells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 165 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Unique and trendy hotel. The atmosphere is nice, and the breakfast that I had at the restaurant was delicious. The location is very central and convenient to the Night Bazaar and most attractions in Chiang Mai. The reason I am only giving an average rating is because it's a spendy stay, but for one night, worth the cost. Try booking through Agoda for a discount. Also, it's more of a honeymooner's or lover's type place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The design of the rooms are really funny and they created a lot with less. We had a nice stay, but everything is a little bit far away. The night was very noisy and the breakfast was really worst. No need to use it. It is a waste of breakfast time and a waste of food. You will find better food in the town.
If you like funny design and you can ignore noise and do you need no breakfast, than is a place which can be recommended.
If you can catch a nice offer just stay there, but keep in your mind, nightbazar is to walk for 20 minutes and later it could be noisy and in the morning is only a cheap and not really good breakfast waiting for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiebri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Chiang Mai is by far my favourite place in Thailand and this stay was made so perfect by this wonderful hotel? A very laid back atmosphere which pretty much sums up the city and a fantastic location. The pool is more there for decoration really, not sure i would swim in it but you have more fun sat at the bar, chatting to the residents and locals!

Room Tip: Rooms are very quirky and fun. We stayed in the monkey room and although fantastic, the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stripey_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

A very laid back and cozy restaurant close by the City Walls at Tha Pae Road. Quite cheap and delicious food. I had an excellent Tom Ka Gai and my wife had the Ceasar Salad. They also have 2 for 1 coctails. Very good Mojitio. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trondav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Mo Rooms delivers what it promised- great room, great location within walking distance to the restaurants along the river. Service is fantastic , coffee is good here. Great place to sit and watch the world goes by in late afternoon from the mini Garden of Eden right on the street level or on the balcony above the lobby.
Definitely go back again !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThailifeBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Mo Rooms was a great respite for us as we travelled from Myanmar to Chiang Mai. It's location right outside the thae pae gate was great cos it means we could walk to the Sunday walking street and the nigh bazaar. Excellent silver shops right across the street and bookshop lane round a turn. Taste from Heaven is on the same side of the street for very good vegetarian food.

Rooms are so interesting with only 12 rooms themed according to the Chinese horoscope. It seems that every design detail has been looked into at this boutique hotel. Breakfast was excellent with really good coffee (again, we came over from Myanmar, so we don't take freshly brewed coffee for granted).

Staff was exceedingly helpful too.

If I have to find something to complain about, it would be the mozzies at the pool area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HweeMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#129 of 392 in Chiang Mai
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#103 of 392 in Chiang Mai
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 392 in Chiang Mai
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette
0.2 mi away
Ban Chang Tong
Ban Chang Tong
#60 of 933 in Chiang Mai
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rachamankha
Rachamankha
#8 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MO Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MO Rooms

Address: 263/1-2 Tapae Road | Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $69 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MO Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MO rooms: Each of the TWELVE rooms is an individual artist’s interpretation of THEIR Chinese Zodiac (Sheng Xiao or Birth Animal). The construction MO’s exterior structure was a collaborative project which saw designers, architects and astrologers piling different sizes of the box-shaped rooms on top of each other in accordance with Feng Shui ASTROLOGY. Artists APPLIED the identity of Birth Animal, influencing the entire BUILDING process from the initial concept TO the unique style of furniture and interior to fit with each zodiac. THE orientation and design of doors, windows, beds and toilets AS WELL AS the interpretation of the FIVE body elements (Fire, Wind, Water, Earth and Metal) ARE ALL CONSTRUCTED to provide balance for MO guests.mo design team seeks new possibilities of spatial organization via the blending of past and present ideologies into a livable sculpture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MO Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mo Rooms Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing