We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #57 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but noisy”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Please let me say that we have stayed in many many places in Thailand and found this hotel tob be quite nice and comfortable.
We stayed in a deluxe room which was very pleasant.
The location is not in the best part of chiang Mia but you would not really know it when at the hotel. If you are looking for heaps of things at a hotel then this would not be the place to go.
We could not find any other hotel as we had an urgent trip required and the rainforest boutique was the only available place.
We were not expecting anything other than what we read so cannot complain about that.
The two issues were the noise, we were on the lower level and you could hear every door close, every footstep above, the toilet and plumbing from every room as they must all connect. We decided after the second night to stay out for as long as we could only to still have noise at 1 am
Then again at 7 am when people started moving about and the construction work started next door.
So I guess you get what you pay for and although that's fair enough, this post has been put on so that anyone else making a booking is aware and then I suppose you cant say you didn't know. Overall a nice cheap hotel in need of soundproofing.
Oh by the way the breakfast is good for one day or two.

Room Tip: Higher rooms , the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    358
    151
    53
    23
See reviews for
160
360
62
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our week at the rainforest on many levels.
We loved having screen doors to let the outdoors in but leave the mosquitos out. We also enjoyed the spacious suite with two bathrooms. The breakfasts were okay and got us ready for the day.
The pool was refreshing and the helpful folks across the street were there with rentals of all kinds.

Granted the rooms and hotel were a bit worn but it did not matter to us as everything was functioning just fine, and the staff is helpful.

We ended up moving closer to town after one week, as this hotel is situated a few miles away from the action of town, including restaurants, entertainment etc.

Tuk tuks are readily available so transportation to and from town is available.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brickhouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth stay at Rainforest and we would love keep coming back.
This is not luxury but you get SO much for the price. We always stay in family room with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which suites us perfect. The restaurant serves a fantastic breakfast buffet - and also their thai dishes are very tasty for dinner. Our kids love their shakes - especially the one with mango.
There are two smaller swimmingpools which are great and nice to cool off in.
The staff in both reception and restaurant are very friendly and helpsome.
Had a wonderful oil massage at the hotel.
Just opposite the hotel is mr mongun - the taxi driver - where you can make really good deals for daytrips.
One day we drove out to the Hun Tung Tao lake (30 min each way) and the driver waited for us there 2 hours, which we paid 700 baht for. Could ask for any stops on the way back. A very funny and local experience.
We love the little local neigborhood behind the hotel. Several small shops and you get familiar with the locals very fast if you just greet them with a few sentences in thai.
All in all a perfect value for the money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was a wonderful Hideaway in the city of Chiang Mai - very green, lots of water, well-appointed rooms. The staff was exceptional and incredibly helpful. I highly recommend this for travelers coming for just one night or for an extended stay. The breakfast is yummy, they have decent wifi, and a free airport shuttle. Beds are typical Asian style - stuffed and hard. Hallways can get noisy, but not too bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kncole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

A stone's throw from the train station this ideally located hotel was just what we needed after a long train journey from Bangkok. The room was very comfortable and the service was definitely worth writing home about. But the best part of our stay was the restaurant. The food was out of this world even by the exacting Thai standards. My wife who is a vegetarian found chicken pieces in her Stir-fried Bean Sprouts. When she brought this to the notice of the staff they immediately replaced it with a vegetarian dish. This is a hotel that really cares for its guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amitava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My pattern and I arrived at the hotel late into the night and were welcomed with a huge smile, the service was impeccable and though the room was basic it was comfortable, cool and always well stocked with plenty of water. I couldn't reccomend mr lucky enough, he is the Thai gentleman who runs hotel guests into town. He will offer his services in taking you to the areas of interest in Chiang Mai and going it this way and paying when there is much cheaper and less restrictive than booking through a your guide.
The pools and the food at the hotel are top notch, I couldn't recommend it enough and if your getting to Chiang Mai via the train then the location is excellent as it's only a 5 minute walk away. A taxi or tuk tuk to and from town will cost you 100 baht should you need it. Stay here guys it's great!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall orkney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute. There are 2 pools, a restaurant/bar and the room was big and clean. The staff were always on hand to help with bags and anything else you need. They booked 2 day trips for us and our early morning airport transfer. They also offer a free ride into the night bazaar every night which is good as this place is a little far from everything, but it only costs 100 baht (£2) to get back. The only problem we had was our safety deposit box was not working. We told them straight away and they immediately had a look but could not fix it until the next day. We asked again the next day and were told they could not fix it. This was a bit annoying as we were going elephant trekking and didn't really want to have to carry all personal belongings/money with us. Other than that, I cannot fault the place and I will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#45 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#47 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#52 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Property: Rainforest Boutique
Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing