We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #54 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week in November. We paid around $45 a night for a deluxe room, the room and bathroom were very nice, especially the large square bathtub.

This is the most expensive place we've stayed in Thailand and although the room and hotel were lovely the service was lacking. Our phone and safe in the room didn't work, we mentioned this to the staff but unfortunately they didn't get fixed. Service is also slow in the restaurant, and the food although good wasn't as good as we were hoping for.

Overall nice place to relax, quiet and feels secure. Mr lucky and his family provide transport and information on private trips,very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyengland1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    355
    151
    53
    22
See reviews for
158
357
62
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here after a friend had recommended this hotel. Quite happy we did, though some minor drawbacks for us maybe more important to others.

There was construction going on nearby, and for long hours. Maybe 8-8, but that didn't really effect our stay. Out of 6 full days, we spent just 1 relaxing in the hotel. There really is lots to do, so it was just a base for us. Another point was no proper windows. We stayed in a Rainforest Deluxe room, and lack of windows didn't bother us. We had ample space.

We can't understand those that have criticised breakfast, as this was excellent. Couldn't fault it. If you want to be picky, bacon was stringy and butter difficult to spread due to the fact it was kept on ice because of the hot climate. There was cereal, juices, salad, hot food, fruit, potatoes, bacon, eggs, Omelette to order and 1 or 2 other items + tea and coffee.

Another drawback is it is out of town, but this didn't cause us any problems. It was peaceful, and they run free transport to the night market at 8pm each night. Make your own way back by tuk-tuk. Don't pay more than 100baht. 2 quid - bargain, but they'll take more if your willing to give. So don't get in until you have agreed the price.

We ate and drank in the hotel on a number of occasions and thought the prices reasonable. Large Chang beer, 90baht, cocktails were around 150-180baht. Main Courses 150-250baht. Didn't think this too bad, as hotels go. Of course this is generally a lot cheaper Country than the UK.

Another nice touch was 2 bottles of water supplied each day free of charge.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get your desired standard of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowolderandwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4days 3nights. We stayed in the Super Deluxe room which had a tv area & separate bedroom & 2 bathrooms. Overall, it was a pleasant stay as they staff are extremely helpful although some parts of the hotel can be improved. Yes there is constructions going on in the nearby areas but if you are out exploring through the day, you can barely hear anything. Complimentary breakfast is better than most hotels ( within the same budget ) to be fair, you get your usual toast, bacon & eggs ( however you want it ) , some local delights etc. It's not elaborate but it's good for what it is. I don't see the fuss bout it being a bit out "there" as it's easy to get "tuk-tuk" or the bigger red cabs to take you back to the hotel, but remember to bring the hotel namecard with you cos the local cabs ( most of them can only read thai & don't understand English very well ) There are 2 pools ( unfortunately we did not get to use them ) . There are bits & bobs of things that can be repaired but it is compensated with their hospitality as they would try to do their best to accommodate all your needs. It's about 15mins walk to 7-11 if you should need something as the hotel doesn't have a small shop.Hotel provides free nightly taxi ride to the night bazaar. However , the taxi stand just in front if the hotel provides great prices if you want to go into town or to anywhere you want to visit. Mr.Lucky & his family was our choice for transport to wherever we wanted to go ( fraction of the prices that was offered in the hotel ). A trip to the Sunday Market is highly recommended & it only cost 100baht to go into town, it's not expensive at all. Costs us 400baht to get us to Tiger Kingdom & he even waited for us. Hotel would have their new wing up & running by Chinese New Year ( End Feb )
We are looking forward to coming back to this hotel. 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphys7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's billed as place to relax and enjoy a quiet atmosphere, but being surrounded by major construction projects, with electric saws, drills and hammering going on well into the night, kind of undermines the claim. Not saying that's the hotel's fault, but some previous reviewers seem to celebrate the place's location. 15 minutes to the Night Market? If you have a helicopter, maybe. Otherwise, its nowhere near the Old City tourist hub and is, in fact, on a dusty side-road of one of the city's biggest thoroughfares. The hotel does offer a free bus to the Night Market until 8pm, but if you plan on coming back you better think long and hard as hardly any of the tuk-tuk drivers here seem to have heard of the place - and don't forget, tuk-tuk fares at night are a lot more expensive than in the daytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed in the boutique wing, overlooking the pool. Huge rooms, beautifully decorated with a really large bathroom. There was even a massive bath tub.
The hotel grounds are well maintained, the pool is good and the restaurant serves a fantastic complimentary buffet for breakfast (in 4 months of traveling asia one of the best breakfasts we came across).
The staff are friendly and accommodating. As the hotel is out of Chiang Mai central (just a few km) the hotel arranges free transport into the night market every evening.
The best thing about this hotel though is the price. Very affordable to those on a budget. Will stay here again soon!

Room Tip: Without a doubt, book a boutique room
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquatic_Ape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say that the hotel has beautiful Thai decor, we stayed in a boutique room. Although no natural light came into the bedroom, I couldn't fault the decor. We had a huge bathtub in our room, which did take a while to fill but worth the wait, bubblebath is useless bring your own.The hotel has 2 swimming pools, both a bit small but done the job. Be aware there is a shortage of sun bed though, about 10 in total for the whole hotel. On the first night we ventured down to night Bazar in town, too which the hotel runs a free shuttle bus service at 8pm. However you must arrange your own transport back but a tuk-tuk costs about 10bht. A buffet breakfast is served between 6:30 & 10:00, the food is either traditional thai food. Or a more western option. Staff were helpful & had good knowledge of the trips they ran. A trip to the Elephant nature park is a must! Please note the hotel is expanding & building work is being carried out, so there will be noise during the day. However if you're out exploring the city this shouldn't be a problem. Would stay here again, the architecture & detail to rooms is breathtaking.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here three nights. Manager guides you to your room. AC works great. Room had a frig to keep water and beer cold. Hot shower and TV. Few key English channels if needed. In room had safe, kettle for tea/coffee. No hair dryer.
The restaurant serves a nice mixed Thai and western breakfast buffet. Made to order eggs, good coffee not instant. The tuk tuk and red pickup trucks are stationed outside the hotel. Easily accessible. The price is always a negotiation but other than night bazaar experct to pay anywhere from 120-150 baht for two people one way. Returning home too ranges from 100-120 for two people since it'p is quote 'quite far away'. We didn't mind this too much. Hotel provides a free shuttle to bizarre area nightly but not until 8pm. Two lovely pools, clean and very refreshing for a dip. Rooms were clean. Lobby bathrooms off restaurant also very nice and clean. Brand new wing opening up with moderns TVs. 22 more rooms so would expect this place to get busier. Hotel does offer booking services. We arranged a car service for two to our hotel in chiang rai. English speaking driver was a nice touch, free water, cost ~3500 baht. Bus is dirt cheap but we wanted to stop if we wanted to and be comfy. Cost included petrol for the three hour drive.

Room Tip: Good value and clean. Don't expect posh bedding or new paint. Just enjoy the service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hammocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 375 in Chiang Mai
657 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#41 of 375 in Chiang Mai
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 375 in Chiang Mai
584 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Property: Rainforest Boutique
Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing