We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck! Great budget find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #57 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck! Great budget find”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place isn't high class but for a budget find it's perfect!!
Good: - service is very good. I accidentally booked our dates a day early so when we arrived they seemed a bit confused but easily made the shift so that we simply changed our check in and check out without extra charge. Very nice!
- Nice little massage place for 300 bacht you can relax with a back, neck and head massage that's really nice
- Quick and efficient food
- Hotel restaurant has great range of food, reasonably priced that you can happily eat at the hotel
- Has two nice pools to swim and hang about in the sun
- have a free shuttle every night at 8pm for nightly bazaar.
- plenty of help and brochures to give you ideas of surroundings
- clean rooms with towels and working safe, a/c and tv

Bad: the location is about 15 mins from the airport ( we paid 120 bacht + 50 bacht airport fee)
- the internet is good mostly on the bottom floor and being on the top 5th floor, it can be intermittent and doesn't work well on my iphone.
- noise can carry through the doors and windows quite easily if people are walking by but not an overly noisy area.
- the hotel has a general worn appearance and could be touched up

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    362
    151
    53
    23
See reviews for
162
361
62
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

First time in Thailand. Travelled with my boyfriend.

Location - Stayed at this hotel while in Chiang Mai. I wanted a hotel with a pool so that's why I chose it. Though it was about a 15 minute ride into the centre, I did not mind at all. They have nightly free shuttle buses to the night bazaar which is really helpful. Just wait in the lobby at 8pm. They are good with time. From the airport it's about 15-20 minutes. Down an alley and in a area that's pretty quite. And when you get a tuk-tuk or red truck to drive you back to the hotel, never pay more than 150 baht for 2 ppl. Make sure you have the address of the hotel. Most drivers do know where it is.

Rooms and service - Rooms were exceptional. Honestly it's just a place to sleep while your travelling. You have a bathroom with a shower sink and toilet. It was quite comfortable and roomy. Wifi strength was okay. They clean your room everyday which is always nice.
The hotel staff were very helpful about anything we needed. They were wonderful.

Breakfast -The buffet breakfast was in the restaurant above the pool. It's an outdoor restaurant so bugs are there. Can't really help it if there's flies. Usual egg station, bacon as well. Some Thai food and also a bread and juice station.

Restaurant - Can't comment because we ate outside the hotel.

Pool - nice size to swim in. Nice lounge chairs. Perfect!!!!!

Beware - Mosquitos !!! Just bring some repellent. They one out at night. I didn't find any in our rooms. Mostly in the lobby.

Go on a Sunday !!!! The best night market I have been to. Cheap food ( 30 baht !!!! ) and awesome things to buy. Only on a Sunday though. Different from night bazaar. It's called the Sunday walking street night market.

Overall me and my boyfriend loved this hotel. If I ever go back I would return to this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Missme15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I recently spent five nights here! We booked for one originally and loved it so stayed five! The staff are exceptionally welcoming and friendly, nothing is a problem and they go out of their way to ensure you are happy! It is a great price and the breakfast is good. We ate at the restaurant for dinner a couple of times as loved the location. The spring rolls were delicious!
The pool area was absolutely gorgeous and a welcome retreat after a day in the sun trekking round.
The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that the mattress was rock hard which meant I didn't sleep very well. The air conditioning was also really strong which was a bit annoying in the night. Even though I didn't sleep that well I would still recommend and return in Chiang mai.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ltodd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is very nice for a budget hotel. The staff are really nice and helpful with all your needs. They offer a free shuttle bus as well for the night market which is excellent to get to the city. The rooms are tidy and spacious and a good selection of asian and western breakfast was available.
The only downside to this hotel is the location as it is not in the centre however it is a short tuk tuk ride away (which is also an experience to do)

I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting chiang mai as the service is excellent

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrissinaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilsland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The centre is a short ride away, and the free shuttle bus in the evening was a bonus. Quite a small resort, so don't expect to always get a sun lounger by the pool. Included breakfast was good, and all the meals I ordered were excellent. In the room, mattress was very firm (which suits me, but obviously not everyone). Air conditioning was pretty weak and the tap was in a really awkward position over the sink, but just minor inconveniences. I'd be happy to stay again, and given the excellent value, this gets an 'Excellent' from me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was good value. The staff gave very good service and even booked our elephant trip for us! There is a free shuttle bus to the night market daily. The breakfast was nice. The rooms were average though. We had a basic room on the first floor. It was clean and had all you needed but was basic compared to some places we stayed. But that said there is so much to see in chiang mai you probably wont want to spend much time in your room anyway!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyrCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Well the was our first trip to chiang mai and staying here at the rainforest boutique resort made it a very special trip. The staff were very attentive always smiling and eager to help. We stayed in the boutique rooms which were large and had authentic Thai decor,we had a slight hiccup with the air conditioning but once that was cleared up it was smooth sailing. 2 beautiful pools nice breakfast and a great taxi service at the front entrance our holiday here was trouble free. Just one thing I want to say to future guests, this is very comfortable has everything you need but its a smaller resort not a huge property so if you want allthe bells and whistles this is not the place for you, its homely and personal. Cheers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jhanel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
247 reviews
3.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#46 of 381 in Chiang Mai
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#48 of 381 in Chiang Mai
588 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Property: Rainforest Boutique
Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing