We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other than the beds, everything was great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #51 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Other than the beds, everything was great.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a family-style room for the 3 of us and the beds were miserable - It was like sleeping on a piece of plywood with a sheet on top. Other than that, I absolutely loved this place. I thought the simple Lanna style decor was relatively elegant and the rooms were clean and spacious. The hallways could use some updating, but it's a hallway - had no affect on my opinion. Overall, the property had a real nice charm to it with a lot of gardening and a small waterfall coming out of the raised (deck) pool. The vegetation/gardening spread throughout the complex gave it a nice ambiance (especially with the lighting at night) and the pool, although on the smaller side, was real nice. The staff was welcoming and friendly (some minimal English was nice) at both the front desk and restaurant. The food was decent, but having been sick and not being able to keep any food down the day before, I didn't exactly 'wander far' from simpler dishes.

The location was nice because it was on a more secluded side street, but it was a 100 baht tuk-tuk into the old quarter. It is walkable as well, but we kept to the quicker tuk-tuk option.

Overall, even with rock-hard beds, I would absolutely stay here again. Fantastic value for a fairly nice place.

http://blog.onefortheroadphoto.com/2013/01/10/chiang-mai-could-have-been-worse/

Room Tip: I'd request a room on a higher level and something not facing the pool. I could hear some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcaffrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    372
    157
    56
    23
See reviews for
173
372
65
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hmm. The Deluxe room, which I was upgraded to for free, was not bad. Not great. It was clean and functional, but with a queen bed, there was not much extra room. The bed took up almost the entire space. The decor was nothing special. Not much love.

The restaurant is convenient but the food is just average and it's pretty pricey by Thai standards. Also, laundry service is about 3 times what I've paid everywhere else.

The location is not very ideal. There is not much in reasonable walking distance. Also, many tuk tuk drivers do not know where the place is. So, be SURE to get a card from the front desk to hand to a driver. Otherwise, you may have a hard time getting home.

The Wi-fi came in pretty well in the lobby and well enough in my room to stream movies. My room was #315.

Wi-fi (speedtest.net) 14mbps down / 1mbps up. In the lobby. I did not test it in my room but I would say it was around 3mbps down and .5mbps up.

All-in-all, it's a fine place. The staff was kind and polite. Would I stay there again if I came back to Chiang Mai? Nope. Too far from what you're here for and too expensive for incidentals and food. For laundry service, they charge by the item. So, what costs 50 Baht per kilo everywhere else is out the door. My normal rate for the amount I gave them would be around 150 baht. They charged me double that based on a per sock charge and so on. Dumb.

Chiang Mai is a BIG city with 1.5 million people. It's not even close to a small village or a quaint little town. It's a full force metropolis, JAM PACKED with people. Keep that in mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardPryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We staid here 3 nights. My wife liked the pictures and we wanted to stay outside of town in hopes of a little more quiet at night. 100 bat gets you into the town center. This hotel is a terrific value! Room had large cement tub, separate area for sleeping, bathroom, and shower. There are multiple areas to sit quietly and read under trees in little nooks set apart from the rest of the hotel. The pool and fountain are nice. The eating area is large but the breakfast is just OK. Also, staff are WONDERFUL!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the older part of the hotel on ground level. Large room with safe and beautiful old doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanFortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed one night only passing through. Budget friendly Hotel conveniently situated for Chiang Mai railway station. Helpful staff.

Small room needing major updating. Poor breakfast choice and had concerns about the hygiene regime in place within the restaurant

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first you might like to look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in march for 3 nights! We were put in a luxury room (£26 I think). It was totally worth it!!!! The place was a delight to stay out and struggled to top it on the rest of our travels. The staff are soooo helpful - I lost my iPhone in a tuk tuk but the hotel had reception the bell boy even taxis outside phoning around and they got it back for me!!!!
The hotel and the staff associated with it go out of their way to make you feel at home and we highly recommend you stay here.
It's not that far out the way!!! 80-100 baht then you're in the thick of it! 5-10 minutes max

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4dams85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice quite hotel just out of town only 100bart to town rooms ok free water every day bowl of fruit to welcome you pool a little small restaurant well priced and nice food people very helpfull the only thing was the mossies keep well covered with spay or the mossies get yer would go back again

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Unclekimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

its a bit out of the city center , but its quiet and lovely place to stay . the staff are friendly and nice , room is clean and functional ,breakfast is tasty with many choices. i will definetly come back when i am in chiangmai again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 386 in Chiang Mai
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Property: Rainforest Boutique
Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing