We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #56 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a retreat!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at this boutique hotel for 5 nights in the luxury room, what a value! Large room, spacious separated area for washing up and cupboard for clothing, out door bath tub (need to highlight that it is not sound proof on the outdoor bath tub)

Design of the room is based on wood, amazing homely feeling.

Overall design of the hotel is great, including a small swimming pool, restaurant, massage place.

One of the shortfall is probably the location of this hotel which is around few hundreds meters from the Chiang Mai railway station. Need to hire transport if you need to go the city center.

But if the main purpose of your trip is to have a good rest, place to relax, this is a recommended retreat place, not to mention the friendly staffs.

Room Tip: If you chose to stay at the luxury room, try to avoid room 111, as this room is nearest to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_Heng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    362
    151
    53
    23
See reviews for
162
361
62
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Rainforest Boutique for two nights in the basic room. Service at check in was friendly and brilliant and we were instantly made to feel at home. All of the staff we encountered spoke enough basic English to get by and were very helpful.

Our room overlooked the infinity pool lined with trees. The room included everything one normally expects and was serviced daily with fresh towels, etc. The bed was quite comfortable but there were a lot of separate light switches and some confusion as to which switch belonged to which light. Free wifi worked perfectly.

Breakfast buffet was very nice with a wide selection but I would have liked to see more vegetarian options. We dined in at the restaurant on the second night and were really happy with the quality of the food as well as the reasonable prices.

Pool area/courtyard was lovely with sunbeds and tables. A little small but we never found it to get too busy.

A little way out of town but easily accessible by tuk tuk. There was a family just outside the hotel who offered their transport services but we found them to be a little more expensive than on the street and less open to haggling, however they were pleasant and for the convenience we didn't really mind. There was a free minibus service to the night bazaar daily at 2000 which was a lovely touch and well used.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rainforest Boutique and would not hesitate to recommend it. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Analogue4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

First impression is already great: big clean lobby, luggage taken upon arrival. The rooms follow the same lines: comfortable, clean, with a safe/fridge/a/c and free drinking water. The bathroom was also great with a bath tub (pretty rare in Thailand). Staff is super friendly, particularly Sophie and very helpful (they let us use their PC free of charge for an hour to transfer photos). The swimming pool is great...I saw other people complaining about the water temperature.... Yes it's cold to gert in but is it really worth complaining!? Once you're in it's perfect! Location is great as it's quiet, sure, it's not in town, but you're only a 100 bhat drive away from everything and they offer a free shuttle service to the night bazaar. We are thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, quiet simply the best hotel we've had in Thailand.

Room Tip: We booked 2 rooms and had trouble getting the WiFi to work properly one one of them (low signal), ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OLaurenceO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were very polite, nice and helpful. Easy to get to the city as they always have tuk-tuks on standby outside the hotel. The breakfast was nice. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Definitely staying here if I visit Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shammy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Their website advertises the "9 step facial" for 600 Baht as :
"Foot Soak
Foot Scrub
9 Steps Facial Treatment
Complimentary Ginger Tea."
And it notes "It is sometimes called a "deep-cleansing facial" or or "deep-pore cleansing" facial because of extractions.
So that's what I thought I would get but there was no foot soak nor scrub no tea either. All I got was a facial WITHOUT extractions! She massages a little my shoulders and my head and put 4 different creams on and some peeling mask. I can't recommend their service at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel at the end of December and had a great experience. Rooms were nice - very clean, relatively comfortable beds (for Thailand), nice tiled bathroom, and complimentary water in the refrigerator daily was a nice touch.
The pool area was beautiful (pool was a little cold while we were there so we didn't use it) and it was a nice place to sit and enjoy a beer while awaiting the next adventure. Also there were lots of comfortable community spaces to use - both indoors and outdoors - which were great if waiting for the rest of your group.
Complimentary breakfast was great - lots of both Thai and non-Thai options to choose from, and the staff was very nice and did a great job keeping the food well stocked. It was offered in a very nice open air restaurant.
It was a bit outside of the city center, but that made it nice and quiet. Overall a fantastic stay, would visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leeannpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our room overlooked the pool area and was quite comfortable, the whole hotel looked in need of a bit of an upgrade, the location is on the outskirts of the main town and was near to the train station so you needed to get a tuk tuk or taxi to get to the markets, restaurants etc. the pool was lovely but too small for the amount of rooms there and there are only a few sunbeds in what is a small area next to the pool and restaurant. They are building another section next to the main hotel which will have a larger pool and area. There are some larger suites which we were told by another guest that they were amazing. We loved Chiang Mai and would go there again but due to the location we would not stay at Rainforest hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view or larger suite appear to be the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie2645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 381 in Chiang Mai
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#48 of 381 in Chiang Mai
588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Property: Rainforest Boutique
Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing