We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy time for our group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #52 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Rainforest Boutique suited our group of three couples very well on our recent stay. The rooms were the luxury/deluxe rooms and were conveniently next door to each other. We found a library nook where we could meet together and do some planning for our visits to a children's home.
The impressive room size included a huge bed, a dressing area, outside bathroom and a wonderful outdoor bath. The doors to the outside area did not close well and this was tricky as we were trying to keep the mozzies out. I put the doors down to being old fittings that have warped with time.
There was an unpleasant odour in our room but the others seemed fine. I really didn't have time to mention it to staff and not bothered too much as it is often the way with hotels in Thailand that they are a bit smelly.
Breakfast was fine - fruits very nice but give the pancakes a miss as they were very doughy.
Staff were generally helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with an outdoor bath - your own private swimming bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambsySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 955 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in feb 2012 and enjoyed the hotel .
This year , January 2013 , we found our room dirty on arrival. After complaining the room was given a light sweep . The floor mat was old and stained and the slippers provided were old smelly and stained. We asked for them all to be removed . The room was cleaned to a minimum standard each day and on our third day was not cleaned at all .
The chef at breakfast , a Thai lady , should not have a job where she has to meet the guests . She was surly and most be the only Thai person I have ever met who does not smile.

Very very disappointing . Brian Phillips

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent new year at the Rainforest Hotel. I was a little disappointed as I had booked the deluxe room which did not live up to my expectations. My husband said maybe my expectations were too high for the cost in Chiang Mai? We took overnight coach from Bangkok and had booked a tuk tuk with the hotel to collect us at 0530 am. It did not arrive even though we had had confirmation via email. After waiting for 40 mins we took ourselves to the hotel. Staff did not speak very good English. They kindly allowed us to check in by 10.00 am which was great. Room was clean but in my opinion very basic. They were helpful assisting us with tours which were good. Room was cleaned well. Fairly noisy hotel and there is a club to the back of the hotel and out of our 4 nights there 2 were fairly noisy with very loud music. Maybe only because it was the new year? Service was good, food was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red6866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is very handy for the station, we could walked it.

We loved the restaurant overlooking the pool and had nice breakfasts over the 3 days that we were there.

We used the free wi-fi in the reception area and i regularly walked right out of the hotel to the little shop where i got water and essentials.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked via TA.excellent rep fully deserved.
Lovely rooms in a tranquil setting with top notch service.
Free pick up to from/to nearby rail station too.
Excellent breakfast inc fluffy omelette snd fresh ground coffee.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

stayed one week in this hotel with my grown son and daughter in law.;
hotel is clean, and provides everything we needed at a reasonable price. Pool is refreshing. Breakfast is great. I ate Thai but the american food is good with an omelette (sp) station. The front desk was helpful efficient and handled our room transfer easily. It is a little distance from the main attractions but the taxi trucks are frequent if you walk up to the main street and they negotiate. We took the truck from the hotel as well and it was negotiable as well. I would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a very good hotel. It's not totally perfect (see below) but it's generally excellent.

We arrived by train from Bangkok. The train was two and a half hours late and after 15 hours we were extremely hungry and tired. Unfortunately the restaurant had shut so there was no room service. However, the reception staff first offered their bicycle and then actually came on the moped to give me a lift to find food. That's what I call creative thinking: so kind of them.

The hotel is very good, with an outstanding breakfast. Rooms are very good: spacious and pretty clean. I had some wifi issues on the second floor but it's lightning quick downstairs. The pool is lovely if rather cold at first (bit of a shock after Ko Chang!).

The only other issue I guess is that it's a 30 minute walk from the centre of Chiang Mai, 5 minutes on the tuk tuk. That's fine but the centre of Chiang Mai has a lovely vibe. On the other hand the hotel's great for the train station!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RicardoHos1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#91 of 395 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#50 of 395 in Chiang Mai
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $31 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing