We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good value overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Guest House
Ranked #253 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pretty good value overall”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here recently, and yes the rooms are a little dated, but for the price, location and refreshing pool they have, its pretty good value.

Personally I prefer the upper rooms since its quieter from both hallway noise (very few people stay up here) and street noise, although there is no elevator so its good exercise going up to your room.

I found the staff here pleasant and not pushy at all regarding their "tours", which is one reason I moved here from another guest house that would "push" their tours to you every time you visited the front desk.

Free wifi in the lobby is handy and the restaurant has pretty good food at fair prices. There may be a few nicer places to stay but there are many worse places than this for the price.

I plan to return here when I come back to CMai again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    66
    50
    27
    29
See reviews for
11
84
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Here are the good points and bad points in my opinion:

Good points-
Cheap
Good size, clean swimming pool
Free wifi in reception area
Good food
Location is good, 2 minute in Tuk Tuk from Night Bazaar
Laundry service is good and cheap
Friendly staff

Bad points-
Dirty rooms (cockroaches seen in room)
Really bad dated decor throughout

Overall if your looking for somewhere central and cheap this is a good base.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JackCarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Located just outside the city center moat, the seven story Royal Guest House offers rooms at different prices with different amenities. Least expensive is on top floor with fan and sans toilet paper. Our third floor air con room is dreary and the air con noisy. Wifi Internet works in the room. Small pool here. Café in the lobby. A lot of bang for your baht.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

place is nice but aged. staff is nice. rates are average. cost 500 B for single room. had to pay extra for single supplement.
very basic. would stay again but there are so many other accomodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheaphead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've stayed at a few cheap places in chiang mai, and this one has the best vibe about it. Sure the place is old, but the more positives than positives. no wifi about the 3rd floor, and the lower floors probably cost more than they are worth, but u can just stay on the 6th floor and take your laptop downstairs and sit by the pool. there's also a bar and restaurant downstairs. the food is slightly above average. its nice a quiet, i like it.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice and big, the more stairs you climb, the cheaper. nice view up on 6th floor. cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveThailand_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Really nice entrance place with restaurant and swimming pool, free wifi.
Big rooms but very dirty and with huge cockroaches.
Convenient location.
Luggage-storage room for hotel guests for free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Arrived in The royal Guesthouse few days before Sonkhran. Stayed for seven night with a small rebate. The place is old and not very clean but the architecture is great and they have a nice sunny pool. This is the reason why I choose this guesthouse... The place is crowded with nice backpacker and you can expected nice meeting in the restaurant near the reception. Of course the dishes are expensive, the rooms are expensive for what you get but if you consider this place for sleeping ans have some nice rest in the pool, its a good place near everything! Talking with tourists about the city, I realised that I was paying a high price (but it's high season and don't expect good deal, Songkhran is the moment of the year in Thailand!) Overall a good place, they didn't change our sheets bed every day but the service was ok, will go again for the pool ! (always a must when its 38 degrees downtown ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveReady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#301 of 386 in Chiang Mai
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#134 of 386 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#190 of 386 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#235 of 386 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baan Gong Kham (Boutique Lanna Resort)
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#155 of 386 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Guest House

Property: The Royal Guest House
Address: Kothchasarn Rd. Soi 4 T.ChangKarn | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal guesthouse Chiangmai is only five minutes away from Thapae gate. It has over 70 rooms (air-conditioned and fan). A swimming pool and wifi are available for free. We have a restaurant and bar than serve all-day American breakfast as well as local dishes. Tour booking can be made at the lobby (e.g., one day trekking, elephant riding, bungee jumping). Motorbikes and cars rental is also provided. Although there is no elevator, you will find better views on the higher floors overlooking Doi Suthep temple. Friendly and helpful staff are here to make sure you enjoy your stay 24/7. One guest summarized our strengths as "good Price, Place (location), and Pool". We agree and call it "3Ps". Follow us on our FB page: Chiangmai Royal guesthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing