We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
Ranked #87 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Ignore the negativity surrounding location, there are plenty restaurants in the area and two shopping malls. If you want the tourist centre take a songathew for 20 baht. Clean rooms, helpful staff, fresh water each day and clean pool. Great!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Willjstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    67
    26
    15
    7
See reviews for
20
64
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I booked a top level room for my four week stay in Chiang Mai because they looked large and comfortable and affordable on a monthly rate and I needed somewhere quiet to work. Unfortunately, I didn't realise how far away the hotel is from the old town, and is just off a busy road with a few restaurants but no cafes or evening entertainment to relax. I freely admit it was my responsibility for the booking, but when I told the manage that I had made a mistake and asked it would be possible to have a refund of part of my stay she offered me 50% but then said she had to speak to the owner, who refused to make any refund at all. The manager was quite rude about my request. I was also put off by the almost continual noise from a jack-hammer on a construction site near the hotel.
You need to get a taxi or hire a bike to get in and out of the Old Town; there is nothing of any interest at all near the hotel; there is no lounge to relax in, the only place you can take a coffee is sat at a table in the restaurant.
I repeat, it was my mistake in registering here, and, on reflection, it probably wasn't wise to pay in advance, but the outright refusal of the owner to refund any money is a reflection of a very bad, mercenary management style. Even though I was on a limited budget, I left after three days because I couldn't face a month in such a boring place, when Chiang Mai has so much more to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503AndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormstown, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

When reading these reviews, one must keep in mind the level of hotel being discussed. In off the street the price here was 600 baht a night (around $20.00 USD). Sakulchai Place is located down a quiet soi off Huay Kaew Road, about 5 blocks from the N.W. corner of the walled city center. There are lots of very inexpensive restaurants top choose from and an amazing lovely lady across the street who has a PHd in laundry. The hotel is very clean and the staff of typical Thai smiling charm. The upkeep of the hotel is constant and there is a decent sized pool. The rooms at the back are darker and cooler and perhaps more quiet. The planes will wake you in the morning. The included breakfast is optional (60 Baht), but if staying more than a couple of days is very monotonous.

Room Tip: In the basement at the back of Central Kad Suan Kaew, there is VERY CHEAP local food vending area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampang
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

One year after my previous visit to this Hotel I took some friends there again and I am pleased to confirm that we still got the same good value. Friendly staff, clean rooms which are reasonably well maintained and have all facilities needed, including free wifi. Location is good but quiet as it is at the end of a short soi, maybe 100 m off the main street. We did not book in advance and got the last 3 rooms as we showed up already around lunch time (on a Friday), so I consider us lucky, as 2 other nearby hotels we checked before were already full.

Room Tip: I was moved to a deluxe room the second night which was the same size as the standard room, just nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiftycountriesplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is essentially a decent budget place that is out of the old town but still somewhat accessible by public transport.

First the pros. The room is very clean reasonably big and comfortable. The décor is tasteful and the place is located in a place that is near enough to some decent eating places and public transport but away from the noise. The free coffee in the room is actually one of the better ones I've tasted in any hotel.
Next the cons. The hotel does not provide room slippers and does not provide toothbrush and toothpaste. If you have a lot of heavy luggage, please take note that while there are lifts, they are located in an odd spot in between floors, so you will still have to climb up stairs. While the hotel provides a taxi service to the airport, the fee is unreasonably expensive at 200 baht.

I've read some reviews where people were complaining about transport connections. The problem is actually easy to solve. Just tell your songthaew or tuk tuk driver to drop you at Kad Suan Kaew. It's just a short walk opposite. The main road outside the hotel has songthaews and tuk tuks going past every minute so it is easy to go around Chiang Mai. Near the hotel, there are some places that have been recommended for food - namely Salsa, Lemongrass and Amazing Sandwich. As for attractions, the Museum of World Insects is a short 8 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quezon city
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

although we experienced a bit of a problem during our 1st day of stay because of some airconditioning system that malfunctioned but this was remedied and they assigned us to another room right away. We stayed for 5 days. I love that the room is clean, looks new and huge enough for 2 people. Its also a plus that there is a pool and a fitness gym. I like that the hotel is not too high so you can just opt to use the stairs instead. Although you have to walk from the main road to get to the hotel, its pretty much accessible and we don't mind having to walk a good 20 meters (estimate) everytime. At least you don't get to hear the noise of the vehicles from the road. I would surely book this again when I visit ChiangMai

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lei2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We recently spent 11 nights at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. It was clean, the bedrooms were a good size, the beds comfortable, the staff pleasant and eager to please, the breakfast was boring but freshly cooked eggs. The pool area was clean and well kept and we used it most days. The hotel is near the main road and there was never any problem finding a red "song theow" to take us wherever we wanted to go for 20 bahts (occasionally 30 bahts if it was further away). The laundry lady over the road was good value and very pleasant. We were really happy with the whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dome Residence
The Dome Residence
#125 of 375 in Chiang Mai
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 375 in Chiang Mai
657 reviews
2.2 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#48 of 717 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#65 of 717 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#152 of 717 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyur Otel
Pyur Otel
#82 of 806 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SakulchaiPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SakulchaiPlace Hotel

Property: SakulchaiPlace Hotel
Address: 10 Soi. Plubplung T.Changphuak | Muang District, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SakulchaiPlace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes off Huay Kaew Road in downtown Chiangmai, Sakulchai Place provides comfortable accommodations with easy access to tourist attractions, an on-site restaurant and massage services. Sakulchai Place is a 5-minute walk from Kaad Suan Kaew Mall and a 10-minute drive from the many cultural tourist attractions like temples. Rooms at Sakulchai Hotel are spacious and air-conditioned. They are equipped with a cable TV, fridge, minibar and coffee/tea maker. They come with private bathrooms with hot/cold shower. Services at Sakulchai Place include airport shuttle services, laundry, car rental and fax/photocopying. There is also a tour desk at the hotel. Klua Sakulchai Restaurant provides Thai and western dishes. Room service is also provided for the convenience of guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your SakulchaiPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing