We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiangmai Smith Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff friendly and willing to go out of their way to accommodate. There's a pool, fitness room, small shop open till late at night, restaurant, it's really a good value all around. I spent several months here and was very happy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mavec41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Chiangmai Smith Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at Smith Residence one month. The room, double bed, fridge, aircon (no need), TV with many Western chanels was large and clean. Staff speaks English and is quite efficient.
It is perhaps not the most Thai feeling place but you can't beat the price for long stay. Less than 270 baht per day all included (water, electricity, internet).
Less than 100 meters from the Chiang Mai Gate (South Gate), you'll find lot of food stalls at the Gate.
Each Saturday evening, there is a huge night market starting from this door. Don't miss it.
Rent a bike at NK Family, an intenret/bike rent shop 50 metres from Smith.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmfbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I are staying here since July 2010 and were very happy to arrive to Smith Residence after a long day of searching... This place is by far the best value for money in its category. We saw many other places and they were either much more expensive or much less stylish, convenient and luxurious.

Rooms are beatifully designed and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, excellent wireless internet connection, reasonable price - the perfect place for long stay!

I don't even have an excuse for not excercising here, since there's a small gym (and also a small pool) on the roof... ;-)

In one word - recommended!! In 2 words - VERY recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roteml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Others have commented already on the various details and I can only confirm them - no use to repeat them. This place is close to the old city, well managed, and clean.

It is good value - most similar places are more expensive, and the ones that are not are not online and require a lot of walking around and looking for them, and the price difference is relatively small.

Just finished a two-month stay here and will definitely come back on future visits to Chiang Mai.

My only minor "complaint" would be that if you have a noisy neighbour you can hear them through the wall if they speak loudly on the phone in the middle of the night (which happened a few times). But other than that this place is excellent in every respect within its class (it is a lodge-style place, not a hotel with room service etc.). As they have a policy of not tolerating party-like behaviour/excessive noise, the people who stay here range from families with children to more mature couples and singles (with or without their Thai girlfriends). The party-crowd does not stay here.

Wireless internet is available at 400 baht/month in the rooms and is generally reliable (had one or two short outages in two months). There are two computers downstairs which I believe are free to use.

The restaurant serves Thai and western meals starting at around 50 baht.

The shop sells beer and basic necessities.

The laundry lady does the laundry overnight, and at a good price, and she does it well.

Excellent place and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I've been staying at Smith Residence for 6 months now (from July 2010) with my girlfriend and this is by far the best place to stay in Chiang Mai.
Before we came here we went to see about 15 other places and when we got here we fell in love at first sight.
There was absolutely no doubt in our mind that this is the place we want to stay in and every other place immediately looked like a bad deal in comparison to this one.

This place practically has it all:
Well maintained and very well decorated beautiful rooms,
Great location with everything you need close by,
Top level services (gym, pool, laundry, mini-market, restaurant with option to order to the room...),
Lovely hospitality from lovely and caring staff members and owner,
Super nice neighbors (some people live here for years).

What else does one need?
Even the price is good! :-)

No wonder the place can easily get fully booked even though they have A LOT of rooms...
We're actually leaving soon for one month and then coming back and we are going to keep paying for our room so we won't have to risk not being able to book it when we come back...
It's THAT good :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nachumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Great location right outside the south moat. I just stayed here for 1 month while looking for a condo. Staff very helpful, great English, 2 years old so it's well maintained. Friendly atmosphere, little store downstairs, restaurant and laundry service too. Tiny pool on roof, but sufficient to get wet & cool off. I'd definitely stay there again. Many conveniences nearby, travel agents, italian food, bakeries, food markets. Very clean. Good for meeting other travellers.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank Further101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I have been in Smith Residence since it started 4 years ago .I feel myself at home and the management and staff is like family .The hotel is excellent to stay for a longer time .

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jospvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 387 in Chiang Mai
557 reviews
1.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 387 in Chiang Mai
679 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
#127 of 888 in Chiang Mai
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Residence Chiangmai
Vanilla Residence Chiangmai
#109 of 888 in Chiang Mai
34 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kaysorn Residence
Kaysorn Residence
#45 of 888 in Chiang Mai
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiangmai Smith Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiangmai Smith Residence

Address: 37-39 Nantharam Road | Tambon Haiya, Amphue Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 888 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $17 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chiangmai Smith Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
new URL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chiangmai Smith Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiangmai Smith Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing