We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at right price”
Review of Lanna House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanna House
Ranked #478 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location at right price”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my third stay and I will be back. The staff at the reception was very helpful and went out of their way to assist me in some business matters. A room towards the back helps with the noise coming from the bar. The rooms I stayed in were simple and very clean. Yes, mosquitos are plentiful, but not only in this place. I got some spray down the road from 7/11. Wifi was always working well and at no extra charge. Credit card payment is accepted without an extra charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etuthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
5
24
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed on the 3rd floor of this hotel from Jan 27th-31st 2013, never again! The hotel breakfast facility has been dis-continued, we missed the convenience of it rather than the quality. Very large double bed, but almost impossible to sleep with the creaking sounds created by the plywood base beneath the mattress, complained to reception and was offered the next door room which was as bad if not worse than the original room, we didnt take it. The free Wi-fi was at best very aggravating and annoying, on/off continuously and dire when it was on! The late night music from the next door "Inter" bar was very noisy and didn't help the overall experience in this hotel. The whole frontage of the hotel is now a clothes mini-market, partially restricting the entrance and particularly when 2 or 3 motor bikes were parked directly in front of the doors. Apart from the tiny hotel-sized soap bars, shampoo etc is not supplied. Although the room is well cleaned daily, the towels were very old and after one use smelled. The stairs carpet especially on the upper levels were torn and threadbare. When leaving the room the lock on the door was a single flimsy yale-type and in my opinion wouldn't take much effort to overcome. All-in-all for a hotel charging 700-750Bt/night a lot more should be expected, there are many other hotels/guesthouses in the general area offering much better value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henwan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for several weeks when we first visited Chiang Mai and had a lovely experience here. Though it is a bit more expensive than other guest houses, the location was great - just across from Thapae Gate and the Sunday Walking Street - and the rooms were clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was modern and consistently had hot water, and the rooms were spacious enough for two people to share comfortably.

A vegetarian buffet breakfast was included with the price of a night's stay, and the food was delicious. My friend and I are freelancers and often worked in the cafe beneath Lanna House, which had good food and friendly service.

The Lanna House staff was pleasant, accommodating and helpful and were full of smiles every time we came home. The wifi was reliable, though it was annoying to need a new password each day.

The only downside was that, because of the live music at the bar next door, it can be a little loud at night when you're trying to sleep. Otherwise, Lanna House is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaseyH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed four nights at Lanna House in January 2013
The room was clean and a good size although a little dated
Paid 750 baht per night Wi Fii was good bathroom clean plenty of hot water etc Airconditioning was good, the bed a large double bed ,had a room at the back of the hotel so was qiuet at night.
the big plus for this hotel is the" location "
5 minutes to the old city
5 minutes to the Phare Gate
10 minutes to Hot Chilli restaurant (Recomended for dinner)
71/aKadklangwiang Ratchadamnurn road Chiang Mai
10 minutes to Raming Tea House (Recomended for lunch or breakfast)
158./162 Tapae road Chiang Mai
15 minutes night market
15 minutes to Chiang Mai day market (for locals0
20 minutes to river restuarants
15 minutes to bicycle hire (good for riding around old city)
3 minutes to Starbucks and Mcdonalds Ha! Ha! for those that need a western hit!
Hope this helps those seeking a good location in Chiang Mai











h

Room Tip: Room at the back of hotel is Quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rcj957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m'sia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Location is good, just opp tapae gate.
The bed is not comfortable to sleep, can feel the spring.
The wifi is very lousy, sometime working, sometime not working.
The bathroom is smelly.
Very noisy at night.
The price is fair enough.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice and clean accommodation. They clean rooms every day. Room has own safe, but we have not used it. We stayed at room nr. 5. Air con was a bit noisy in the night. At shower water drained slowly (as at most accommodations we experienced in Thailand). They provide you with free water on the room every day. Hotel includes breakfast - it is vegetarian and reasonable.Wi-fi was slow and did not work on our smartphones, but at the restaurant you can use pc with internet (which is a bit more expensive than in the city). We appreciated location - approx. 10 minutes walk to food stalls, less than 10 minutes walk to night market. All in all I liked the hotel. Some staff is helpfull some staff without interest, but if you keep asking they help you. It was value for money (we were there in low season).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days and nothing annoying. The hotel situated in a very good location of Tapae and the price that they charges for the room night (included light breakfast) not expensive at all. The room and bathroom big and clean enough and yes like the previous comment that they have no parking lot. If you need the quiet night please inform the reception that you want the room that not on the road side. We got the room on the road side and it's noise from the bar in night till 0100 hrs. but receptionist already informed us. They have free Wi Fi, just get a code from reception. In case that the hotel want to improve, i receommend them to do brighter hallway with no carpet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyJane2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#77 of 381 in Chiang Mai
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#153 of 381 in Chiang Mai
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
i Lanna House
i Lanna House
#22 of 826 in Chiang Mai
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Origin
Hotel de Origin
#138 of 736 in Chiang Mai
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
At Phra Sing
At Phra Sing
#126 of 736 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
#59 of 736 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna House

Property: Lanna House
Address: 267 Tha Pae Rd. | T.Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanna House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanna House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing