We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai?!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel
Ranked #210 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai?!?”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The owner and his staff are excellent! They speak better English than me and when it comes to needing help to find a wat, restaurant, wine, whatever, they are there to help! Rooms are of good size, bathrooms with hot water for showers, and bed is not to hard not to soft. But if you have a problem, just talk with Sam or any of his helpful staff, and they will make it right. Do not forget to sign their 'wall' before you leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
24
99
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here in Jan / Feb 2012. We stayed for two nights, then went on a trip around Mae Hon Song, and were back for an additional eight nights.

We prefer to stay in the old city and like wandering around soaking up the local atomsphere. The staff were friendly, knowledge, and speak good English. Sam the owner is a lovely person.

The rooms were clean, large, and most importantly the beds were firm but not rock hard, a good nights sleep was ensured. Breakfast, which is an American style breakfast, got you started for the day. It is serverd in a little standalone cabin. You either sit inside or out in the garden under the trees. Just lovely! Coffee, tea and fruit are available all day long for free.

There was free wifi in the rooms; good signal and fast, which was nice. You are in walking distance to a variety of restaurants, coffee shops, 7-11, and massage places Prefectly placed.

The only slight downside was the water pressure in the shower; not great.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would have no hestitation in recommending the Sawasdee Guest House.

Thanks for a great stay Sam!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KezzaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is much better than a guesthouse, and more comfortable than your average 'plastic' hotel.
The staff are knowledgable and welcoming, the rooms are much bigger than the average hotel room - and cheaper than most.
The coffee shop is set in a nice little garden area and serves a nice breakfast, as well as being open most of the day.
'Rustic' is the word that comes to mind. The whole hotel is designed in an Italian artistic style, and furniture matches.
We had a lovely time and would definitely recommend it.
It is in an unusually quiet location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have stayed here once in 2010. My whole family was there this time. The service was wonderful and everyone there welcomed my family and my grandkids with open arms. The breakfast was wonderful it is more than continental breakfast (eggs and 2 meats) PLUS 2 kind of fruits daily. It has some perks that some hotel might not have, free breakfast, free bike rental, free internet access, free coffee all day, good location, and above all pleasant and CARING staff.
Overall, all of us enjoyed our stay and I highly recommended SAWASDEE GUEST HOUSE without reservation

Room Tip: worth your money, believe me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aewsook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The staff is outstanding! Very friendly and helpful. Their English is excellent. The location is pretty good, being very close to many shops. The beds and pillows were great! The free breakfast was pretty good offering either sausage and eggs or yogurt and fruit with granola. Free bottled water for your room which was basically unlimited.
The cons: only offered instant coffee, the shower smelled a bit musty and had some black mold. The water pressure was low and the water was Luke warm at best.
That being said, it was not bad enough for us to complain and the staff made up for it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Sawssdee guesthouse is the loveliest place we've stayed at in Chiang Mai.

On arrival it's clear that the owner personally puts a lot of care and attention into making the place homely and comfortable for guests. Lots of nice touches and a real European feel in the hallways and in the rooms with their French doors and shutters to the balcony.

The owner checked us in personally and really made us feel welcome straight away - he's clearly a lovely, hearty guy. The other two staff members we met (the lady on reception and the lady who made us breakfast - were also very lovely.

The walls in the main hallway are filled with scribbles of well deserved praise and thanks from guests who have neen equally enchanted by their stay. It's clear that they touch the heart of everyone who comes.

A great place to stay and compared to other not so nice and more expensive hotels we've stayed at in Chiang Mai, it's terrific value for money.

Breakfast is lovingly served in the quirky little side cafe that adjoins the hotel and the owner has even extended the time to 11am because, he says, some guests like to get up later. We'll definitely be back here. 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights initially and ended up extending our stay for a couple of extra nights since Chiang Mai and the hotel itself were both fantastic. It is perfectly situated in the north east corner of the old town, within walking distance of many of the main sights, but tucked away in a nice quiet side street away from all the hustle and bustle.

The hotel staff were brilliant – really genuine, friendly, relaxed and welcoming. They went above and beyond the call of duty to help us. They spoke excellent English and had lots of helpful tips and advice about what to see and do. They helped us book accommodation in one of the national parks by phoning the central government office in Bangkok for us (a very bureaucratic process, even securing us a discount!) and organised the car hire for us.

We had a room at the back, which was quiet and very spacious and surprisingly cool (very efficient air-conditioning). The hotel is decorated in a really nice rustic style, and each room has a beautiful individual mural painted on the wall The bed was really comfortable – firm but not too hard (unlike many in Thailand!) – the best nights’ sleep we had in 4 weeks of travelling round Thailand. We were very sorry to leave, would definitely stay here again and have absolutely no hesitation at all in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sila Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
La Pillow Hotel
La Pillow Hotel
#165 of 717 in Chiang Mai
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
de Rachamanka
de Rachamanka
#92 of 717 in Chiang Mai
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ten Boutique House
Ten Boutique House
#79 of 717 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Naview @Prasingh
Le Naview @Prasingh
#16 of 806 in Chiang Mai
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 717 in Chiang Mai
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel

Property: Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel
Address: 5 Praplokklao Soi 13 | T.Sripoom, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Sawasdee Chiangmai House)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are clean and well furnished with teakwood furniture, air conditioner, refrigerator, bathroom with hot and cold water, The Deluxe room has its own private balcony. To ensure a soothing and pleasant stay the big rooms are quite spacious at 32 square meters.Sabaidee Chiangmai Hotel is a cozy boutique guesthouse which decorated in the old Lanna style with hand painted wall mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Chiangmai House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing