We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Baan Hanibah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Hanibah
Ranked #24 of 784 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We have been here several times. And unfortunately it has become too bad to further recommend it. It is sad to say but staying in a woodden thaihouse with noisy chinese families just doesnt work! The walls are too thin. stomping on the floor. Tv on all night. Loud talking etc. The staff is excellent! The garden so beautiful. This gem has lost its brillance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mifralbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baanhanibah, Owner at Baan Hanibah, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude to your comment, for stating the issue that we also quite concern, and trying our hardest to bring back our “brilliance” as you have once kindly granted to us.
Our policy is to welcome guests around the world without discrimination, since it is impossible and unacceptable to generalize guests’ behavior from their origin and decide to host or not to host them. It is thus quite a challenge to deal with cultural diversity, especially when it comes to issue that causes staying discomfort for all. We have noticed the noise problem from guests from a particular country, which we prepare both a formal letter asking for several co-operations in their language, and directly asking them in person at the check-in about quietness at night. Some times it works, sometimes it does not completely successful – that was unfortunately during your stay and we are truly sorry about that. Your feedback allowed us to assess the outcome and apply further measures to keep the B&B’s environment as peaceful as it used to be.
On the other hand, we would like to thank you for appreciating our other efforts on services that we could fully control, such as staffs and the surroundings. Although we would be very happy to know how much you would value them, it is understandable that overall impression is everything. We are deeply sorry to hear that staying with us was disappointing, but we still hope and will be very glad to see you again when the situation is improved.

Faithfully yours,
Nai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for only two nights - would have stayed longer but they were (understandably) booked out. It's in a handy corner of the old town, surrounded by easy restaurants and bars. The family who run it are warm and interesting to talk to (e.g. about today's election!). The building is made from Teak and is in the old style which add a lot to your experience. It's clean, attractively furnished with added extras like the open balcony, garden, free coffee and tea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family of four, including two teenagers, stayed at Baan Hanibah for 5 nights. We loved it! The old Lanna house is a haven in the city and such a pleasure to return to after long days of exploring the city and surrounds. The breakfast was great, the rooms clean and the staff very helpful. After a day spent with the elephants we returned home to find clean towels shaped as elephants on our bed!! We felt very special.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneJim6797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

situated in the north-east corner of the old city, a very quiet B&B. Very friendly staff and owners.
The house is started as an old Lanna house, but it is renovated. There are many different rooms, most of the constructing material is wood.
Breakfast buffet and wifi included. Around the guesthouse are many restaurants and even the night market is not far away. If you like to walk, you can vist every place inside the walls by food.
A place to go back the next time

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouenStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

After the cozy stayed at last December in Baan Hanibah, Chiang Mai, this November, my family and my brother-in-law family ( 4 adults and 3 kids) visit Chiang Mai again. at my advice, my brother-in-law agreed to stayed in Baan Hanibah. And of course, once again, we have a very nice and warm 6 days 5 nights stayed at two large family suites which each have two room. Compare to last year, they maintained their services at high standard, staffs are friendly and very helpful, rooms keep it very clean. I strongly recommended Baan Hanibah to anyone who would like to visit Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: If you go by large family, inform them earlier, to book the only tow family suites, you won't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylow62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I can't believe it's taken me so long to review this place. I went a few years ago in May and everyone there was so nice and the accommodations were perfect. I stayed in a room with two double beds and it was detached from the main house. The water was always hot, the room was always clean and the included breakfast was always delicious. I know there are super cheap Hostels you can stay at while in Chiang Mai, but I really wanted to stay somewhere nice and centrally located and this place was perfect. I dream of going back there all the time.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Baan Hanibah for 6 days; we had a little suite upstairs with a separate bedroom each, and we paid the equivalent of $29 per night including an amazingly comprehensive breakfast - great value! The girls at reception were always friendly, helpful and smiling; the location was perfect, right in the heart of the city but quiet; beautiful tropical gardens; comfortable beds and cleanliness throughout. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannaAnna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 784 in Chiang Mai
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 784 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arte House
Arte House
#16 of 784 in Chiang Mai
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#7 of 784 in Chiang Mai
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#6 of 784 in Chiang Mai
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#20 of 784 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hanibah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hanibah

Address: 6 Moonmuang Road | Soi 8 A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 784 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $45 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Hanibah 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the old town area and surrounded by the local community, the house provides you with a peaceful, relaxing environment, as well as a convenient location. Major tourist attractions - the Three Kings Monument, Museum, Temples , Warorot Market, Sunday Walking Street, Thapae Gate and many more - are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. At Baan Hanibah, we go to great lengths to enhance your stay with us and our 10 eclectic-styled rooms are equipped with the same service items found in luxurious hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Hanibah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hanibah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing