We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baan Hanibah”
Review of Baan Hanibah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Hanibah
Ranked #22 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Baan Hanibah”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

After the cozy stayed at last December in Baan Hanibah, Chiang Mai, this November, my family and my brother-in-law family ( 4 adults and 3 kids) visit Chiang Mai again. at my advice, my brother-in-law agreed to stayed in Baan Hanibah. And of course, once again, we have a very nice and warm 6 days 5 nights stayed at two large family suites which each have two room. Compare to last year, they maintained their services at high standard, staffs are friendly and very helpful, rooms keep it very clean. I strongly recommended Baan Hanibah to anyone who would like to visit Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: If you go by large family, inform them earlier, to book the only tow family suites, you won't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylow62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    55
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
134
67
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I can't believe it's taken me so long to review this place. I went a few years ago in May and everyone there was so nice and the accommodations were perfect. I stayed in a room with two double beds and it was detached from the main house. The water was always hot, the room was always clean and the included breakfast was always delicious. I know there are super cheap Hostels you can stay at while in Chiang Mai, but I really wanted to stay somewhere nice and centrally located and this place was perfect. I dream of going back there all the time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Baan Hanibah for 6 days; we had a little suite upstairs with a separate bedroom each, and we paid the equivalent of $29 per night including an amazingly comprehensive breakfast - great value! The girls at reception were always friendly, helpful and smiling; the location was perfect, right in the heart of the city but quiet; beautiful tropical gardens; comfortable beds and cleanliness throughout. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannaAnna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was a time in the past we stayed at Baan Hanibah, but it's defintely worth to highlight this guesthouse after this long time.
At this time, we were on a trip from Java / Indonesia to Chiang Mai and at every airport, we used the free WiFi to communicate and settle the reservation for a free room with Baan Hanibah. The communication via mail was very friendly and therefore we decided to go there. They organized a pickup from the airport because we arrived very late. All was well prepared as written in the mails.
When we arrived at the guesthouse, we were really suprised about the location. We saw a pretty nice house built with teak wooden and very beautiful rooms. Many places can be reached by food, but we rent a Scooter and we could park it in a safe place within the guesthouse.
The price was very good and breakfast was included. The people were always very friendly and helpful and I can definitely recommend this guesthouse. The plan was to stay just three days, but we extended our stay to 8 days. Of course, we will stay again there at our next visit in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hell-snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I and my girlfriend stayed for two weeks at Baan Hanibah and what we can say that it was simply great! The staff is very friendly and always at your service. The location of the hotel is right at the inner corner but not overlooking the main road so you won't hear all the noise coming from the traffic. The breakfast is very tasty. They offer traditional Thai Rice Soup with Fish that is delicious! The bed is very comfortable to sleep in. We were very impressed by the quality of the house. It is very beatiful, very clean , there's a terrace where you can relax and have a drink. And most of all you feel yourself if you were at home!
If you are planning your visit to Chiang Mai Baan Hanibah will be the best place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilya_stepanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I spent a long time researching hotels for our stay in Chiang Mai before deciding on this B&B. Baan Hanibah is a great is a great location to base your. stay. The proprietors responded and confirmed our request by email, very quickly. The atmosphere is wonderful; the beds are great; the wireless is free and works well; there are small desks for working; free coffee and tea in the common area; there are about 50 channels on the TV; it is clean; breakfast is good; the staff are awesome; there is a desktop if you didn't bring a computer; I really can't think of anything I would change.

For a couple traveling with children I highly recommend Rooms 9 and 10. They are separated at one end of the house and have a large bed for two in one room and two large single beds in the other. The rooms open into a separate sitting area and desk, with a nice sink and mirror and an adjacent room with a toilet and large shower.

A couple of tips if you haven't been to Chiang Mai before, there are fixed price taxis for 125 baht that will take you from the airport into town. The taxis are full sized vehicles, and can be quite nice - ours was a very nice leather appointed SUV. There is an ATM at the airport, but a word of warning. All of the ATMs charge at least 150 baht and most 180 baht for withdrawing case - this is about 5 to 6 $US - quite a rip-off. In contrast there are no commissions at the many currency exchanges, although the airport ones give a poorer exchange rate than those in town. Thailand is one of the few places where it might actually make sense to exchange cash. As well, credit cards are less widely accepted than in most other places - Cash is King!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Curt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I just love these personal & cozy B&B's.

You can really tell when it's a family run business, with staff that is genuinely interested and have the drive, knowledege & understanding of what it takes to run a successful B&B/guesthouse/hotel. After spending 8 nights at Baan Hanibah, it comes as no surprise that they keep winning Tripadvisor awards year after year.

I stayed in the singel room on the bottom floor right next to the frontdesk and breakfast area. The room is not big, but it is more than enough for 1 person.

Pro's:

* The staff.

* The price.

* The bed was the best bed I've ever slept in, while in Thailand. If you don't like rock hard beds this one's for you.

* You get a 32" LCD TV (pretty rare for B&B/guesthouses) with a decent amount of channels. Most of them are Thai, but I think you got 3-4 english channels (SyFy Asia). I got more watchable channels in this B&B than I got at a supposedly 4 star appartment.

* Awesome AC

* The noise thing in my oppinion is a non-issue. I had no problems with loud noises whatsoever.


Con's:

* No refridgerator in the rooms. 1 shared guest fridge on the second floor.
* No restaurant in-house (not surprising this being a B&B)
* No pool ;)


All in all this was the highlight of my 5 week vacation in Thailand. The girls at the frontdesk were super helpfull.

I asked for directions, places to eat, where to get massages they always had an answer. They always greet you with a smile, and I looked forward to breakfast every day. Sitting outside in their little garden thingy in the morning having your breakfast was just heavenly.

Next time in Chiang Mai, I will definetly book a room at Baan Hanibah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#21 of 732 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#41 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hanibah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hanibah

Property: Baan Hanibah
Address: 6 Moonmuang Road | Soi 8 A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Hanibah 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the old town area and surrounded by the local community, the house provides you with a peaceful, relaxing environment, as well as a convenient location. Major tourist attractions - the Three Kings Monument, Museum, Temples , Warorot Market, Sunday Walking Street, Thapae Gate and many more - are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. At Baan Hanibah, we go to great lengths to enhance your stay with us and our 10 eclectic-styled rooms are equipped with the same service items found in luxurious hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Hanibah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hanibah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing