We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Baan Hanibah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Hanibah
Ranked #27 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This GH was been recommended by a friend, which has been proven to be a excellent suggestion and choice.

We have stayed at another GH before came to Baan Hanibah, which gave a strong comparison. Baan Hanibah is just amazing from the reception and booking, location, and accommodation.

We lived in the small house, which is quite a lanna style. Everyplace is just chic and clean.

A stunning yard makes you stay a lazy afternoon.

Also, GH manager is quite nice and introduced a lot of good place to eat! Also, when we left that day, he woke us up, or we will miss the plan!

Its just a perfect combination with all.

I will back to Chiangmai soon, and will defiantly stay there.

Room Tip: The small house is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Echoing some of the other reviewers, the place has a good location in the northeast corner of the old city...comfortable accommodations (bed, atmosphere, etc...)...and really happy people. We only stayed two nights, but they helped us with suggestions for eating nearby, booking activities, etc...

Will definitely recommend Baan Hanibah to any friends coming trough Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 months between 01 November 2012 and 11 April 2013 (did a SE Asia tour in that interval), and I can assure you I would not have done that if there were any irritating issues with this great little B&B. So I would like to echo the positives kindly provided by previous travelers and add just two comments that might help you decide to stay here.

First, and this is true for all reviews of all things, look at the ratio of Excellent and Very Good to the remainder. If that ratio is 10-1 or better, as is overwhelmingly so with Baan Hanibah, just ignore the negative reviews. I'm sure they are for the most part honest and well-meaning, but they are statistically insignificant. No place is perfect, and it is impossible to completely satisfy every customer no matter how hard you try.

Second, and on a much more personal level, for me after a while the defining characteristic of a place becomes the people you deal with every day. Yes, this B&B is a lovely teak structure with quality furnishings, etc., but after a while - as with that great view of the..., or the excitement of a new relationship - initially small things begin to assume great importance. For me, what became of great importance were the people of Baan Hanibah. Dr. Tee and Nai are incredibly caring about the environment they provide and about us, their guests. Believe me, they read every word of every review and will make changes to improve the experience. Jip, Mee and Oil work at the front desk and will do anything they can to help you. Toy and Som take care of the rooms, help with breakfast and will respond in kind to a friendly smile and a sawadee ka or kap whenever you encounter them. Some of these names will eventually change, but I am confident the owners will ensure the high quality of personnel continues.

Thank you for taking the time to read this far. I probably overdid it, but I thought this place and its people worth the effort. Your stay will probably be much shorter than mine, but please spend at least a little time getting to know and appreciate the folks who will have so much to do with your happy experience .

Room Tip: Room 8 for singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

good recommended for simple and small B&B, located in town, it's unique with old Thai-Lanna deco(Thai northern style)
staffs very nice and friendly. breakfast buffet with many choices of Thai and Western.
We had a good time in Baan Hanibah. definately to stay here again when we'll return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Personalised

We travelled as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 small children) and had to book 2 rooms or what they called the Family Room. It is on the ground floor and basically, 2 separate rooms with a shared bathroom. However, an entry door leads into those 2 rooms which gave you privacy and access. We used one room for our family needs and used the other room for sleeping only.

The rooms are very clean and spacious with a few bathroom amenities. The beds are comfortable but the air conditioner is placed at the foot of the bed and if turned on, blows directly into your face so we opened windows instead and slept fine.

Breakfast can be taken outside in a very pleasant courtyard and an adequate selection of foods. There is coffee and tea available upstairs in the reading area where you can read on the balcony in a quiet are.

Overall, the location is good with the markets nearby and scattered cafes and shops around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it more every day. The house is lovely, our room was spacious and bright, the breakfast was great and so nice to eat in the shaded garden, and the staff was great. They all seem to be university students. - and are bright, funny, polite and willing to help out with any number of questions. For anyone interested in staying here, it is best to note this is an old teak house, so it creaks and you can here folks walk around a bit. But everyone staying here seems respectful of the fact noise travels and it has not been a problem at all. If you are a light sleeper, perhaps ask for a room on the 2nd floor. Highly highly recommend it. Also a good restaurant with the unlikely name of Prego is at the top of the Soi to the right. Yummy.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms might be better for a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbannomad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

An affordable stay even a backpacker in budget, I am talking about a really nice, clean, tidy, well-located and has-character place.

I though the location was not 100% good, but when I get there, it is conveniently located just a 1 min walk from the north eastern old city wall, never get lost, but quiet enough to enjoy the ease.

The premise itself is well maintained, I just love the place. I love staying in the garden in the morning. You can stay in the balcony as well, or the library.

Helpful staff, well presented breakfast, comfortable bed, powerful shower ... if u focus me to be picky, i would say the TV is too small, but who needs a TV in Chiangmai???

Room Tip: if u want it super quiet, just ask for a room facing west. I stayed at a room facing the small road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 801 in Chiang Mai
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#30 of 801 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 801 in Chiang Mai
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#11 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#23 of 801 in Chiang Mai
484 reviews
2.7 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 801 in Chiang Mai
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hanibah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hanibah

Address: 6 Moonmuang Road | Soi 8 A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $44 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Hanibah 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the old town area and surrounded by the local community, the house provides you with a peaceful, relaxing environment, as well as a convenient location. Major tourist attractions - the Three Kings Monument, Museum, Temples , Warorot Market, Sunday Walking Street, Thapae Gate and many more - are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. At Baan Hanibah, we go to great lengths to enhance your stay with us and our 10 eclectic-styled rooms are equipped with the same service items found in luxurious hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Hanibah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hanibah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing