We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Hanibah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Hanibah
Ranked #22 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Affordable Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

An affordable stay even a backpacker in budget, I am talking about a really nice, clean, tidy, well-located and has-character place.

I though the location was not 100% good, but when I get there, it is conveniently located just a 1 min walk from the north eastern old city wall, never get lost, but quiet enough to enjoy the ease.

The premise itself is well maintained, I just love the place. I love staying in the garden in the morning. You can stay in the balcony as well, or the library.

Helpful staff, well presented breakfast, comfortable bed, powerful shower ... if u focus me to be picky, i would say the TV is too small, but who needs a TV in Chiangmai???

Room Tip: if u want it super quiet, just ask for a room facing west. I stayed at a room facing the small road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    54
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
134
65
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Baan Hanibah is a 2 storey teak bungalow located at soi 8, moonmuang road, Chiang Mai old town. It's easy to find & very near to Taphae gate which is convenience for you to visit the famous sunday night market. Besides, you can try variety of local foods nearby taphae gate. It's delicious!

I personally love the bungalow because of comfortable room setting. It's clean and cozy. But you have to be quiet at night due to the traditional teak house with no soundproof.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feifei80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

it's a very good place in Chiang Mai, recommended by friends who stayed here before, turned out to be so true that worth staying for several days even more! beautiful yard with trees, birds, even squirrels, can have a nice breakfast before going out. the location is perfect, walking distance to Tha Phae Gate, lots of food around. would like to stay again if next time to Chiang Mai and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Oh yes, we too enjoyed staying at Baan Hanibah. We were there for 5 nights and in fact we felt more fond of it day by day.

The house is a beautiful old building which is very well-maintained by the owner, and the rooms are very clean and quite spacious. We found it very useful to use the fridge and tea/coffee-making facilities on the landing just outside our room, and also the computer available there.

The staff all seem very young but are well-trained and do their job very well whilst being very friendly and helpful. They were ready to serve fresh and excellent coffee and tea and eggs to order every morning, alongside the help-yourself cold breakfast items which provided a very good start to the day.

There were lots of eating places in the vicinity plus a few inexpensive laundries which made this a convenient location, and we would be pleased to recommend Baan Hanibah as a very good-value place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This beautiful Thai house is so peaceful, yet it is walkable to town.
Lovely breakfast under the trees.
Super staff who spoke good English and were very helpful.
Rooms clean and tastefully decorated.
We can fully recommend this house to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Baan Hanibah for 5 days in January and it was fantastic! What a great, relaxing place in the middle of Chiang Mai. The house is all made of wood in the typical Lanna-Style what gives it a very homey touch. Our room was big, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom perfect. The communal areas are lovely, especially the terrace. The house is surrounded by a lot of plants and a little pond. The location itself is ideal; it's very quiet and everything is reached within a short time by Tuk Tuk or foot. The staff is amazing, so friendly, welcoming and helpful. To mention is the buffet-style breakfast that is extraordinary: Bread, cake, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, eggs or fresh sandwiches. On our next visit to Chiang Mai, we'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location, room, price, balcony to relax on, garden. Helpful staff. Would definitely recommend. A number of long term residents too. We bought take away Thai at the nearby market one evening and ate in the lovely garden. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#15 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#21 of 711 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#2 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arte House
Arte House
#12 of 711 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hanibah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hanibah

Property: Baan Hanibah
Address: 6 Moonmuang Road | Soi 8 A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Hanibah 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the old town area and surrounded by the local community, the house provides you with a peaceful, relaxing environment, as well as a convenient location. Major tourist attractions - the Three Kings Monument, Museum, Temples , Warorot Market, Sunday Walking Street, Thapae Gate and many more - are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. At Baan Hanibah, we go to great lengths to enhance your stay with us and our 10 eclectic-styled rooms are equipped with the same service items found in luxurious hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Baan Hanibah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hanibah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing