We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis”
Review of Baan Hanibah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Hanibah
Ranked #26 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location, room, price, balcony to relax on, garden. Helpful staff. Would definitely recommend. A number of long term residents too. We bought take away Thai at the nearby market one evening and ate in the lovely garden. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    55
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
134
67
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Baan Hanibah 3 nights in December and it was just wonderful. The rooms are nice and clean, the bed very soft (maybee bit to small for a large men) and the garden very relaxed and quiet. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning! The staff is very kind and always willing to help. There is a balcony also if you don´t want to get out :-). The area around is perfect, it´s quiet, clean and safe. It is just a few minutes to walk to the centre and you can do everything without taxi.

So fazit: You will not find another nicer place for this money!! Try!!!

Please note: It is an old teakhouse what is clairaudient and you will not be very privat!! You can hear your neighbour everytime!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Located in a quiet street, just inside the old city at the north-east corner. It was a stylish two-storey traditional house with a nice garden in the front. Breakfast was simple but sufficient with lots of fresh fruits. Staff was friendly and helpful.

We had the family room. Rooms were crowded but okay. Bathroom was bid small. Overall, we had a nice stay.

One setback was the wooden structure of the house. It was not very sound proof. We received complaints several times during our four-night stay that we made too much noise walking and talking. Honest, we never talked on top of our voices. And despite our effort to walk quietly, the floor screaked and we received complaints!

Not sure I would want to encourage young groups to stay in this hotel, as I suppose there're many similar guesthouses with more concrete structure and equally good service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karensunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Absolutely perfect!

Welcome smile. Amazingly helpful staff. Friendly owners. Nicely-decorated room. Comfortable bed. Beautiful traditional house. Delicious breakfast. Oh did I mention fast wi-fi too?! I've stayed in various B&Bs in different parts of Thailand. And Baan Hanibah is indeed the best!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family of three visit Chiangmai on 22-24 December 2012, we decide to stay at Baan Hanibah, and they reserved a family suite which have two cozy rooms for us. It great and fantastic experience for us. Clean, safe, and friendly staffs. And the breakfast is great!!!!

Room Tip: They have two family suite, great for family have 3 to 5 members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylow62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We just spent two nights here and couldn't be happier. The inn is in a teak house on a small side lane in the old city. Very quiet, but close to everything. The staff is friendly and breakfast in the garden very peaceful great coffee, too. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurensvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We only were able to stay at Baan Hanibah for one night at the end of our North West Thailand exploration, but it was a great place to wind down for the evening. The rooms were very nice and we got a free upgrade to the family suite which was nice. Breakfast was nice out in the courtyard and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgagosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 736 in Chiang Mai
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arte House
Arte House
#15 of 736 in Chiang Mai
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 736 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#22 of 736 in Chiang Mai
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#29 of 736 in Chiang Mai
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hanibah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hanibah

Property: Baan Hanibah
Address: 6 Moonmuang Road | Soi 8 A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Hanibah 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the old town area and surrounded by the local community, the house provides you with a peaceful, relaxing environment, as well as a convenient location. Major tourist attractions - the Three Kings Monument, Museum, Temples , Warorot Market, Sunday Walking Street, Thapae Gate and many more - are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. At Baan Hanibah, we go to great lengths to enhance your stay with us and our 10 eclectic-styled rooms are equipped with the same service items found in luxurious hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baan Hanibah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hanibah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing