We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rendezvous Guest House
Ranked #211 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Surrounded by fragrant flowers and bougainvillea down a quiet lane, this is a really special place to stay, great value and a super location inside the Old City moat walls near the Thapae Gate in Chiang Mai. It is only 60 metres down the Soi from the Sunday Walking Market Street. The correct address is: 3/1 Rajchadamneon Rd. Soi 5. The owners are a Thai couple who have been in the business for 30 years and they are wonderful hosts with a very friendly staff.

The hanging orchid garden in the front is an inviting space to sit and greet the morning in. A complimentary breakfast (with heavenly fresh ground coffee) was included in my daily rent. Real espresso coffee is offered for much less than Starbucks or Black Canyon!! The restaurant food selections are on an extensive Thai and western menu. The menu choices are delicious and very reasonably priced. I think their Khow Soi is as good or better than the local Thai places. The steaks and the Italian food there are well portioned and yummy.

My friends and I have booked several of their tours thru the years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very nice, well maintained and are cleaned daily. Better towels than any other guesthouse I have been to in this price range. Fast wifi and your choice of either fan or AC rooms. Hot water shower and toilet / sink bathrooms in all rooms. Really comfortable king size or 2 twin bedded rooms are available and many include a balcony. The bed lighting is soft, the decor is quite nice and there are handy bedside tables for your stuff.

I suggest you request a south facing room - if available, you will be treated to a sumptuous view of the 2 Thai wats next door as well as the soft and lyrical chanting of the monks every afternoon.

I stayed there last year for several months while studying Thai language at AUA (only 150 metres away). If you want to kick back and watch TV news or movies there is also the 24 hour 100 cable channel system with channels in English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Chinese and of course Thai.

I always consider the Rendezvous my home away from home. I have booked through the email address from their website. The owners speak good english, german and some french and can also be reached by phone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoeLek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2009

Rendezvous is a pleasant guesthouse located in the Old City down a safe, quiet soi just 3 or 4 minutes walking distance from the Tha Pae Gate. The rooms aren't fancy but they're incredibly immaculate - not a speck of dirt to be found. Mini fridge, TV with English movie channels, and bedside lamps (not just the harsh, overhead fluorescent lighting with which so many guesthouses are solely equipped)

Very polite staff. Owner speaks English well. Lovely restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner with ample seating both indoors and out. Delicious continental breakfast included - excellent toast with butter and jam, freshly squeezed orange juice, choice of REAL, not instant, coffee or tea.

Only downside: unless they recently changed their policy, they do not take advanced reservations so it's a bit of a gamble showing up and hoping for a vacancy. Also, two Thailand guidebooks said every guestroom at Rendezvous has a safety deposit box but that is in fact false. They do have a padlocked area opposite the reception desk with small, individual lockers where you can lock belongings up using your own padlock.

Overall, Rendezvous is a great value for your money. They didn't charge me anything extra for checking in incredibly early my first day (5:30 a.m.). After I checked out on the last day, they let me store my bag in a padlocked area until I left Chiang Mai in the evening. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: O calate i prezzi o migliorate la struttura
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank romym337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank MacLovinLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mamamnema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#67 of 777 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Classic House
Rendezvous Classic House
#191 of 777 in Chiang Mai
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 777 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#12 of 891 in Chiang Mai
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sasima House
Sasima House
#150 of 891 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Guest House

Address: 153 ridonchai Road, | Changklan District, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing