We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place with central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rendezvous Guest House
Ranked #216 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice place with central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Situated just off Sunday walking St near tha pae gate, great location on a quiet street. Rooms are nice with tvs and good showers. Breakfast is toast and fruit. Beds arent hugely comfy, that's the only thing. And one day they forgot to clean our room and they never changed the towels even though we were there 5 nights. Also stayed at Kavil, a few metres down same St. Also fine but without the tv and breakfast, but there are places nearby to eat and kavil is slightly cheaper.

Room Tip: There is one room they have with a glass door that is an extra room ... avoid staying in this one it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
58
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

550 baht per night for basic double with a/c and bathroom
400 with fan
location 50 metres from the sunday walking street, thanon ratchadamnoen

Highlights:
-price includes breakfast
-good free wifi
-peaceful
-decent restaurant
-efficient reception staff
-cheap and fast in-house laundry
-great peppermint cafe restaurant next door
-decent rooms
-can book lots of tours at reception
-unbeatable location

Negatives:
-inconsistent room cleaning: sometimes not until later afternoon, if at all
-fruit at breakfast not great quality
-shower can be very weak and no hot warer tap for sink
-beds very soft and quite uncomfortable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstar664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I would have liked to rate it 7/10 instead of 8/10 if there was an option to do so. The place is good value for the money charged, the rooms are done up well and the amenities are good. Its located in the old city and is perfect if you want to visit the Sunday market, which is quite a highlight in Chiang Mai, and also some of the sights in walled city.
The minus points were.... the breakfast was not so good... coffee/tea, a couple of toasts with butter and jam and a little fruit, some of which was not fresh. The structure of the building is such that there is a small privacy issue , as one can hear clearly what is being spoken in the corridor outside, (and i assume it would be the same if i were speaking in my room)
And the free wi-fi in the room did not work too well.
It offers many travel services and others like laundry etc. The attached restaurant seemed to have a fair choice, although I did not get a chance to try it out.

Room Tip: I had a room near the stairs, and there was quite some sound when people were going up and down, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazygurpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stumbled upon Rendezvous as refugees seeking alternative accommodation after a bad night at a nearby guesthouse. The lady manager let us view the room prior to reserving it, and for 550 baht we soon found ourselves installed in a spacious, cool and reasonably quiet room later that morning.

This review would be complete if we had had a later flight the next morning and been able to try the complimentary breakfast. We also had no opportunity to test the ambience of the cafe downstairs, but it looked both busy and relaxed when we checked in around 10AM.

The room was pleasantly cool despite not being air-conditioned, and the TV provided us with a bit of white noise and entertainment as we packed. Shower was good in terms of temperature (well-heated) and water pressure (excellent).

Location's great, with a pharmacy, money changers and lots of eating spots nearby. The Sunday night market is a mere 3-minute stroll away, and many other central attractions within reasonable walking distance.

There's a deposit for the room amenities (around 400 baht, I think) but we got it back with no problems even with our early morning checkout.

Also, the Peppermint Cafe next door is lovely, a great place to meet fellow travellers and to watch a bit of the world go by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lluviaypapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Beautiful, clean, relaxing... the perfect place to stay in Chiang Mae, on a little lane just off the main road. Quiet, with great service, perfect rooms, and breakfast included, its also next to one of the best international cafe/restaurants, The Peppermint Cafe. Feel completely at home here and will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadisova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I found this place by this page. And was a bit hard to find the tiny street, but the staff on the phone was very kind to help me find it. I loved the location because is a quiet, but central, part of Chiang Mai old city.
The room was big, with windows in both sides and well ventilated. Big double bed, with clean toilet, free fast wifi and breakfast. The staff was lovely at all times. Great price for $550 a clean big room with breakfast and wifi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 2 days at this guesthouse. We needed a place to stay only for sleeping and shower, as all day we were supposed to be in town visiting all the marvelous temples around.
so no need to get a marvelous room as we would never get any time to savour the luxe of a room.
Our main criteria was a nice mattress, as after a long day visiting temple, we needed to have a nice and comfy rest.
The rendezvous guest house was absolutely perfect for our requirements.
Then the last day, the owner proposed us after check out to keep our luggage in a big room closed by cadena and to put all the valuable goods in metal case that we should lock with our personal lockers, all this with no charge. so we enjoyed chiangmai to the very last minute with pleasure of not having our heavy big backpacks with us!
Sincerely, the room at 450bath per was a very very good deal!

Room Tip: room at the 1st floor is better and avoid luggages with weels : better backpack as no lift there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#176 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#46 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Guesthouse
Rendezvous Guesthouse
#401 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#69 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#194 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Guest House

Property: Rendezvous Guest House
Address: 153 ridonchai Road, | Changklan District, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing