We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two words... BED BUGS!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rendezvous Guest House
Ranked #217 of 734 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two words... BED BUGS!!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed in mid-May and our room was infested with bed bugs. The staff was not overly helpful or accommodating under the circumstances. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
58
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel location is good and I have to say it's fairly quiet. Rooms were clean although the bathroom could have been cleaner. It was ok to stay for a couple of nights as we were never spending a long time in our room. The breakfast included is ok but strictly limited to what was written on the menu. I was asked extra to swap coffee for a glass of orange juice which kind of surprised me... Staff were polite but should probably care a little bit more about people staying in as it's supposed to be a "guesthouse" and not just a hotel. Stay there if you have a nothing else but with a bit of time I'm sure you can find better for value!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_leam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Rendezvous Guesthouse is an oasis among the many guesthouses in the walled city. We have made it our home away from home when in Asia. It is a short walk from the Tha Phae gate. It is mere meters from the wonderful Sunday Market, which spreads for blocks around the area. A short distance to each side are budget eateries, one also has a cooking school.
The proprietors are Preecha and Juliwaan; they are kind and helpful and in a great location. We could walk to the night market, the river, the Warorot Market and all the action outside the gate. For frugal travelers of any age it is AAAA..
While good on the budget, the rooms offer bed reading lights, frig, fan, a/c, makeup table and en suite with hot water showers. There are large beds with a blanket, albeit a thin one. You may padlock your room and store luggage or valuables in a locked area off the lobby—even when you depart for other travel. Included is a delicious and satisfying breakfast. A few doors away in either direction are two laundry services, which were very affordable.
We first stayed in 2001 and have returned many times. We will return in January and look forward to reuniting with Preecha and Juliwaan.
The Rendezvous is high on our list. It offers a quiet home or an international forum where you may dine or just have coffee and a beer at the sidewalk tables with other travelers.

Room Tip: the front rooms have tiny balconies overlooking tt
See more room tips
Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardS1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Overpriced, run down and the place around the corner for 500 BHT is much nicer we moved there as well.
Also a coin purse was stolen from my room.
The hotel can also be noisy at night because of other guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louloubalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This guesthouse was one of the worst we stayed in. My advice would be to move on there are plenty of places to stay in Chiang Mai of a much better standard. We stayed in one called Baan Nam Sai which was tons nicer, cleaner and safer.
The room did not feel safe at all. The main door into the room had wobbly locks and handles. The door that opened onto a balcony was so flimsy that my husband could put his hands behind the door and if he tried he could pull it off its hinges. I know its quite cheap about (600THB), but the place we moved to next was only a 2 minute walk around the corner and was immaculately clean, quite plush and very safe for 500THB.
The room was also dirty, the wall so embedded with grim that there was a line of filth along one wall. Look at the pics for your self.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwinsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We had heard about the Rendevous Guesthouse from a woman who had stayed there the previous spring. She was so right about the cleanliness, good food and service. The rooms were a bit small, but we weren't there to spend time in our room. We had a room w/fan (didn't need AC) that included breakfast for $16/day. A great deal! We loved the central location in the Old City. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Chiang Mai. I would recommend booking a room in advance. They had no vacancies the entire time we were there and had to turn several travelers away.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MinnTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Bear in mind we'd been staying in maximum 500B a room/per night places throughout Thailand...this was one of the nicest budget guesthouses we stayed in.

You can choose either fan or AC, we found the former was adequate but AC was only 100B more. The rooms have good size beds, TV's, fridge, wardrobe, makeup area and ensuite with hot water (luxury!!). They also provide mosquito guards on the windows. The pillows were abit uncomfortable but we still slept!!

Included in the price of the room was breakfast; either muesli & yoghurt, fried eggs & bread with jam or a toasted ham sandwich, all came with fresh fruit & tea or coffee. Eating other meals at the guesthouse is a bit pricey but next door on the right as you come out of the guesthouse is a lovely little cafe that does amazing curries, fruit shakes and baguettes, on the left is a slightly more budget place to eat but it's still tasty. There is a laundrette on the same little street as the guesthouse that does 1kg for 25B...bargain!

It's a great base to explore Chiang Mai and it seemed secure, they provide safes (which are actually locked away under the stairs near reception), you just need to bring your own padlock. Staff were friendly & the room was clean. I would definitely recommend this place, we stayed 5 nights and would return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neitherheren0rthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#115 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#167 of 734 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#52 of 734 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Guesthouse
Rendezvous Guesthouse
#409 of 734 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 734 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sasima House
Sasima House
#172 of 822 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Guest House

Property: Rendezvous Guest House
Address: 153 ridonchai Road, | Changklan District, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 734 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing