We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once it was a good restaurant”
Review of Pasta Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pasta Cafe
Ranked #1,637 of 2,099 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Pasta Cafe offers Italian and International Cuisine in a friendly atmosphere and service. The restaurant is longstanding in the area of Nimman area, West side of Chiang Mai City. With new partners, as of September 2013, Pasta Cafe expects to reach a new and better standard of food and services to all regular and new customers.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Once it was a good restaurant”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was there during the grand opening. At that time they had well trained staff in the kitchen.
Food was good at that time.
In the meanwhile the food is just average but the prices are quite high.
The location is very nice but the average food does not really justify to go there anymore.
Better choose another place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveburkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Food, Cold Beer”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of my favorite places for lunch or dinner. The staff are efficient and and helpful. Have not had a bad meal here and usually stop by 1-2 time a week.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the rainbow trout”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been here maybe 10 times and have never had a disappointing meal. There are many other higher priced italian restaurants in Chiang Mai but if you want to pay a reasonable amount of money for some good food this would be your choice. I used to have the rainbow trout wrapped in bacon and stuffed with capers, rosemary etc. They took this off the menu, but i got very excited when it had returned on the specials board. I grew up near the ocean so crave good fish, with out a doubt this is the best fish dish in Chiang Mai when it is avaliable.

Please also note: i don't know what this picture is in this review but it is nnot of any part of Pasta Cafe that i have been in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Rather average”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pasta Cafe is situated in the trendy Nimmanhaemin Road area, but has the advantage of its own parking area. Service is available either inside an area conditioned area or outside on a covered terrace.

We have been here four or five times and each time I have really wanted to like it, but found a certain "X factor" missing; I cannot put my finger on it, but a combination of factors around in the food, service and ambiance. Others too feel this and several people I know refuse to eat there.

The menu comprises standard Italian fair, though at a slightly higher price than the average. The food is okay (nothing more), though the pizzas should be avoided, being thin, hard and lacking in toppings. Sweets are good and possibly the best of the offerings.

Service is adequate, no more, and if eating at lunchtime, you will be forced to go when it closes at 2.30, whether you are ready to leave or not; the staff are determined to close up and go home, and will not give a moment extra of their time to allow you to finish your visit in a relaxed manner. I have never abused the time by waiting unnecessarily long, but if service has been slow - as it can be - I have been there at 2.30 having arrived before 1.00, thus I feel entitled to leave in my own time without being overtly pressurised.

Chiang Mai abounds in Italian restaurants, many of which are (unlike Pasta Cafe I believe) run by Italians. There are many better restaurants out there, my favourite not being listed on TA. There is nothing particularly wrong with Pasta Cafe, but nothing particularly right either to make it stand out from the crowd, thus if looking for an Italian, I suggest that you try elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nice mix of Thai and Italian menus, with super owner and host Wee.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tucked away in narrow soi off the moat road this is a gem of a place serving an extensive array of both Italian and Thai food. Mine host Wee will meet and greet and ensure you are looked after by his lovely staff.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank aslimversgwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Pasta Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing