We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in the hearth of chiang mai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiangmai Kristi House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chiangmai Kristi House
Ranked #103 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
katmandu
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“in the hearth of chiang mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Kristi guest house is in the hearth of the walled city,a perfect place for budget travelers in search of a quiet place,clean and friendly.
the rooms are large,the bathtub in all the bathrooms is a blessing,the service is excellent and the prices for all the activities and transportations cheaper then outside,thanks to the kindeness of Salvatore and his wife.
and out of the door there is Luciano's restaurant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giovannac547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
26
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at Kristi House about 5 times over the past 10 years for a few weeks and have always been very satisfied with the conditions and the honesty of owners and staff. I must say that I think the address at the top of this Tripadvisor page is incorrect, Kristi House is on Ratchedamneon rd, Soi 5, within the walls of the old city.

The rooms are large, light and have 2 fans, TV, a refrigerator and cupboard to hang clothes as well as table and chair and a small balconey. The batrooms all have baths and the shower is above the bath. Your room is cleaned whenever you request it and there are pleasant balconeys on each floor with a view of the mountain Doi Sutep. The Sunday walking market is at the end of the soi [lane] and the area has many restaurants and cooking schools as well as many Buddhist wats. I find it quite easy to walk down to the large city market [I am 65] and it is quiet at night, well away from the sex trade/party bars.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size with 1,2, or 3 beds or possibly more in the larger rooms at the back of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lightfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and had a very comfortable stay. I highly recommend booking a room at the end of the hall, these rooms are MUCH bigger than the other rooms and go for the same rate. The bed was big and by Thai standards quite comfortable. Other bonuses for us were the fridge, cable tv, and fast wifi. Location was great, right in the heart of the old city with several local as well as western options for food. Close to book stores, markets, 7-11, reggae bars, cooking classes and other fun stuff.

Room Tip: Book a room with 05 at the end (205,305,etc), these are the larger rooms at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Me and some friends stayed at this guesthouse over Songkran (Thai New Years). Songkran is a huge waterfight and party. And as mast people we participated. On the 1st night the security complained and the owner in the morning almost kicked us out for another rooms noise. Our friends were not allowed in our room at all and at one stage she even tried to kick us out for making noise while we were watching a movie alone. On this special occasion the police happened to be in the building and searched our room. Later we found out from the people who she was kicking out that the police had apologized for doing this at 11pm and said she had Mob connections and they sort of had too. And at the end of our stay she charged us for an extra night because we hadn't kept all our little hand written scrap paper receipts to top it off.

The room itself was pretty good for the price. 300 per night over Songkran is pretty good, with loads of room, fridge, TV 2 fans and a bath. The bath/shower was lacking a holder for the shower head which I personally hate but it was ok. We were wet all day anyway.

Oh and she charges for toilet paper.

Stay here if you must, but be warned.

Room Tip: Stay at the back left on the 2nd floor. Good large room with more windows for ventilation that other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mykimike25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Down a small quiet soi but still in the middle of the action. Rooms are big and cheap with optional aircon for 100 baht extra. My biggest problem with this place is the shower is not mounted to the wall so you have to hold it in one hand while you're showering, also the water smells kind of nasty, I think they need to clean or replace their water tank.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

I've stayed here many times & it's not expensive, you get a big room....BUT the bathrooms are pretty disgusting. Smell of raw sewage abounds in the 2 rooms i rented last visit.It needs RotoRooter or something to not smell like a sewage treatment plant. Sheets are iffy. Floors are always spotless. I hate sheets w/ cig burns in them. Housekeepers work really hard. We love them. Lady running place is getting less friendly thru the years. Hose it down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HawaiianBodysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really happy with the place. Great location - is on a little side street so not noisy but easy to walk to places to eat and drink. Was probably about 15mins walk to the night market. The lady who was on the front desk whilst we there was always ready with a smile and to help us find places to go. The room was basic but a good size and had all that you could want - tv, ac, cupboard and a bathroom that actually works as well as a comfy bed. We also booked our slow boat trip to Luang Prabang from Krisit House (1 day mini van, 2 day slow boat) and found it was a reasonable price and were happy with the 1 nights accommodation included. Would definitely recommend Krisiti House to others who just want basic, clean accommodation in Chiang Mai for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#124 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#176 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#168 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#107 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poonpetch Hotel
Poonpetch Hotel
#175 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.1 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#142 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiangmai Kristi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiangmai Kristi House

Property: Chiangmai Kristi House
Address: 14/2 Rachadumnuen Soi 5 Tumbon Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chiangmai Kristi House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Chiangmai Kristi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiangmai Kristi House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing