We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sketchy”
Review of Wiriya House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wiriya House
Ranked #151 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Made reservations online. Website advertised a complimentary airport pick up and since we were coming in late, we hoped for the ease of that so emailed the request along with reservation. Never got a response regarding that and no one was there to pick us up at airport upon arrival. Later told that you have to book 2 nights to get that deal. Took taxi which had a difficult time finding the place b/c it's in some back, dark, residential alleys. Arrived and was not impressed with rooms, location, cost of internet, etc. Decided to go ahead and leave for a different hotel (never had payed for room yet). That's when it got really awkward. Since we didn't know the area at all and whether or not we could walk to another guest house, we asked to have a taxi called. The young man and woman didn't speak English that well but enough to understand what we wanted. They were pretty much refusing to call a ride for us and telling us we had to walk and physically tried to move us away from place. Very confusing for awhile. Then another woman arrived who seemed to be an owner. Finally, they called a ride for us to head to Your House Guesthouse. I understand they didn't want to loose the business but it was all around a very strange experience!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 88 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2009

I had previously stayed in Wiriya House and so emailed the hotel, asking for a rate for a longer stay (around five nights, and then two). The website rate was 750 baht, I got a room for 500B, not including breakfast - which I ate at a variety of places, not normally in the hotel. For the money I got a large and reasonably comfortable room, with ensuite (including hot water), and air-con (which worked just OK - I mostly used a fan). Ambience is basic, if I can put it that way, but it was fine for my purposes. Location is just outside the moat in a residential area. I didn't have any trouble walking to places such as the NIght Market.
The hotel picked me up at the airport for no charge, the staff were friendly enough (and for the most part spoke passable English), and my laundry was done at rates as cheap as I could have got taking it to commerial laundromats.
The clientele was mostly western with a smattering of Thai. Wiriya House is probably not a destination in its own right (think Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai), but does provide OK affordable accommodation in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dundas3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank PY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edouard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Александр Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#316 of 395 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#131 of 395 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#114 of 395 in Chiang Mai
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#255 of 395 in Chiang Mai
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Ngern Village
Baan Ngern Village
#191 of 395 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#270 of 395 in Chiang Mai
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiriya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiriya House

Address: 10/4 Rajchiangsaen Rd. Soi 1 Kor, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $19 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wiriya House 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wiriya House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing