We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay ”
Review of Wiriya House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wiriya House
Ranked #153 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay ”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location, right in the centre of Chiang Mai.
We stayed here for 4 nights and had an absolutely wonderful time.
The hotel rooms are a bit dated and the mattress is a bit on the hard side, but there is a TV and fridge in each room. The shower had hot and cold water, and the room was cleaned daily, with fresh water being left in the fridge every morning.
The hotel does good breakfasts, and serves soft drinks and good priced beer. The swimming pool was lovely (despite its odd shape!). It was nice and quiet, in a lovely garden area, and was also cleaned every morning. We had the pool to ourselves when we stayed there, an added bonus!
The staff were lovely and friendly and the owner speaks excellent English.
Overall, we had a great time and for about 600 baht a night, I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a little bit of luxury on a small budget.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
10
39
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very simple but comfortable, in an excellent location and so reasonably priced that you can't fault it!
The rooms were basic but had A/C and were clean. The pool area was very nice and one of the ladies that was at reception everyday spoke very good English, was helpful and very funny! She helped us plan some trips and arranged everything for us. We actually stayed a lot longer than we intended!
All the main part of town/nightlife is a 5/10 minute walk away.
Very good value!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Verity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Put properly in perspective based on price, service and amenities, I think Wiriya is a great value for money. It's an ageing building and the rooms are basic but for about AUD $20/night with a lagoon-style pool, A/C, huge room with ensuite, fridge, sitting area, wardrobe and desk I think your expectations will surely be exceeded based on the cost. Located on a quiet street, Wiriya is still very close to all the popular cafés and attractions in the Old City. The hotel itself is spotless and attended to very well with daily service to the room and fresh water. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The restaurant doesn't seem to get used though I'm here in the low season. Excellent value and good for a any visit on a budget.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CunningCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my two adult kids. Great place for the price. I would stay here again! Great staff or owners. Do have to climb stairs. You might want to be on a lower floor. Very clean! Close to busy street to catch a cab. Close to everything. Short taxi ride to train station.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,059 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wiriya is tucked in around the residential areas a couple of corners from the southeast canal. It is family owned and the owner works there to relieve the main staff. There are two young staff who cannot speak English. They were the only ones at the front desk when I needed something and it made it very difficult to get what I needed. There are loyal guests though who stay and return regularly. I heard from one of the guests (couple) that they get a complimentary ride to and from airport if you stay two nights. Well, I stayed 5 nights and they told me 150 baht to airport. But perhaps they are favored as they are regulars and returnees.

The rooms are average looking with minimum decors. Doors are hollow and flimsy, showers are so cramped. Pool is in a very shaded area. Also, avoid breakfast or meals there as I don't think they are valued reasonable. Walk around the corner for a better meal instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Wiriya House during our stay in Chiang Mai and it served as a good place to sleep / shower. For the price we paid, this is a great option for budget-minded travelers looking for a convenient location. It is literally a 5 minute walk to get to the southeast portion of the Old City in Chiang Mai. The main area by the Thappae gate (eastern gate of the city) is maybe a 15 minute leisure walk away, so no need to waste money on tuk-tuks or cabs.
Rooms are basic (get the A/C rooms if you can't handle the heat well), but do the job and are in decent shape.

Room Tip: I would definitely request a room with A/C if you can't handle the heat too well. I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxima81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I come to Chiang Mai quite often. This is the best friendly / quiet / well located / clean guest house around. I hate to tell people because I like it quiet, but I write as I like to give them more business. Good Value and Friendly. Also blues pub across the road..Great Thai food.. Limited menu but authentic Thai Curry is 'to die for'.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#299 of 383 in Chiang Mai
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#134 of 383 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#135 of 383 in Chiang Mai
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#106 of 383 in Chiang Mai
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
#293 of 383 in Chiang Mai
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#241 of 383 in Chiang Mai
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiriya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiriya House

Property: Wiriya House
Address: 10/4 Rajchiangsaen Rd. Soi 1 Kor, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wiriya House 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wiriya House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing