We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable hotel”
Review of Wiriya House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wiriya House
Ranked #144 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Okay, the building is really outdated but the rooms are clean and your towels are changed everyday. As the price is reasonable we could live with the fact that the building and furniture is outdated. We fell in love with the pool. Location is good, not noisy, close enough to the city centre and the night market.

We were really surprised by the friendly staff. One of the ladies helped us a lot and gave great tips. Also for a tailor for womens garments who gives you the price locals pay.

Tips:
Visit the day market which is close to the hotel.
Another tip is to visit a great restaurant (also all day breakfast). Walk out of the hotel to the right and turn right once again. 50m before the main road on your right hand site is charming guesthouse/restaurant which offers great salads and other food in a nice garden.
We rented a scooter to visit the attractions in the vincinity of Chiang Mai on our own. The hotel offers a scooter for 200 baht per day.
Sunday night market is great! Must do!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
10
38
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Wiriya House is located down a quiet lane not far from Chiang Mai gate & along with reasonable priced rooms (we payed 450bt per night for a fan room with tv,fridge,hot shower which was cleaned daily) it was the quiet location we liked. There is a lovely pool in a small garden area which was great for relaxing by as a lot of the places with swimming pools that we looked at were on a main road.
Unfortunately, 3 days into our stay they commenced some major refurbishing on the floor below us which started at 7.30am & continued until 5pm. The banging was so bad it drove us out of our room & it was worse outside by the pool. In fairness the owner had warned us there would be "a small amount of noise" but she assured us it would last 2 days but when we returned 1 week later after trekking it was worse than before so we checked out.
Upon settling our bill we found we had been charged 160 bt for a taxi to the train station although we had asked one member of staff to book us a meter taxi, NOT the 160 bt one they offered which we felt was expensive, & asked a second to confirm this had been done. This was possibly due to the night staff who spoke little english, were of little help (we were told there was free wifi.Not so) & were more interested in watching tv than doing anything else.

Room Tip: Get one on the lower floor, at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyGreenteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang mai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I will never stay here again. Roosters next door wake you at 4 a.m. Doors banging loudly late at night when young crazies bring their bargirls in after a night of partying. The neighborhood is full of rats. The rooms are not really clean and the owner pays and treats her staff like dirt. All she cares about is money. I even saw a big cockroach in my room. Their swimming pool is also not very clean. What they advertise as a suite is not a suite at all, just a slightly better bathroom.Take my advice and check out the Smith Residence, only about 2 blocks away. I looked at rooms there and will stay there next time. Very large and very clean rooms for just slightly more money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Its located slightly out of city two streets outside of City wall in quiet leafy residential suberb, however there are local shops about. Good if you want to get away from the tourist areas, but still close enough to walk into town and the nightmarkets. Couple of nice temples nearby. Recommended for families. Hostel is quiet, and lots of bird singing etc. Owner friendly and helpful. Night receptionist does nt speak the best of English. Taxi drivers might not know location- however it is signposted from main road.
Rooms are basic, but clean, and large. Good as a cheap option. Swimming pool is nice- but does nt get sun in afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Made reservations online. Website advertised a complimentary airport pick up and since we were coming in late, we hoped for the ease of that so emailed the request along with reservation. Never got a response regarding that and no one was there to pick us up at airport upon arrival. Later told that you have to book 2 nights to get that deal. Took taxi which had a difficult time finding the place b/c it's in some back, dark, residential alleys. Arrived and was not impressed with rooms, location, cost of internet, etc. Decided to go ahead and leave for a different hotel (never had payed for room yet). That's when it got really awkward. Since we didn't know the area at all and whether or not we could walk to another guest house, we asked to have a taxi called. The young man and woman didn't speak English that well but enough to understand what we wanted. They were pretty much refusing to call a ride for us and telling us we had to walk and physically tried to move us away from place. Very confusing for awhile. Then another woman arrived who seemed to be an owner. Finally, they called a ride for us to head to Your House Guesthouse. I understand they didn't want to loose the business but it was all around a very strange experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I had previously stayed in Wiriya House and so emailed the hotel, asking for a rate for a longer stay (around five nights, and then two). The website rate was 750 baht, I got a room for 500B, not including breakfast - which I ate at a variety of places, not normally in the hotel. For the money I got a large and reasonably comfortable room, with ensuite (including hot water), and air-con (which worked just OK - I mostly used a fan). Ambience is basic, if I can put it that way, but it was fine for my purposes. Location is just outside the moat in a residential area. I didn't have any trouble walking to places such as the NIght Market.
The hotel picked me up at the airport for no charge, the staff were friendly enough (and for the most part spoke passable English), and my laundry was done at rates as cheap as I could have got taking it to commerial laundromats.
The clientele was mostly western with a smattering of Thai. Wiriya House is probably not a destination in its own right (think Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai), but does provide OK affordable accommodation in a quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dundas3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#296 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#123 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#170 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#105 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#176 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#111 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiriya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiriya House

Property: Wiriya House
Address: 10/4 Rajchiangsaen Rd. Soi 1 Kor, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wiriya House 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wiriya House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing