We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wiriya House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Viangdara Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BED Chiangmai Gate(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B.M.P. Residence(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Baan Ngern Village(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winner Inn Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
22
30
23
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
30
23
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conodd shapegreat budget hotelbasic accommodationold cityquiet streetfresh towelsstayed here for nightsnight bazaarfridgetvpoolrateswifilaundrychiangthai
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 91 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I will never stay here again. Roosters next door wake you at 4 a.m. Doors banging loudly late at night when young crazies bring their bargirls in after a night of partying. The neighborhood is full of rats. The rooms are not really clean and the owner pays and treats her staff like dirt. All she cares about is money. I even saw a big cockroach in my room. Their swimming pool is also not very clean. What they advertise as a suite is not a suite at all, just a slightly better bathroom.Take my advice and check out the Smith Residence, only about 2 blocks away. I looked at rooms there and will stay there next time. Very large and very clean rooms for just slightly more money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Its located slightly out of city two streets outside of City wall in quiet leafy residential suberb, however there are local shops about. Good if you want to get away from the tourist areas, but still close enough to walk into town and the nightmarkets. Couple of nice temples nearby. Recommended for families. Hostel is quiet, and lots of bird singing etc. Owner friendly and helpful. Night receptionist does nt speak the best of English. Taxi drivers might not know location- however it is signposted from main road.
Rooms are basic, but clean, and large. Good as a cheap option. Swimming pool is nice- but does nt get sun in afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Made reservations online. Website advertised a complimentary airport pick up and since we were coming in late, we hoped for the ease of that so emailed the request along with reservation. Never got a response regarding that and no one was there to pick us up at airport upon arrival. Later told that you have to book 2 nights to get that deal. Took taxi which had a difficult time finding the place b/c it's in some back, dark, residential alleys. Arrived and was not impressed with rooms, location, cost of internet, etc. Decided to go ahead and leave for a different hotel (never had payed for room yet). That's when it got really awkward. Since we didn't know the area at all and whether or not we could walk to another guest house, we asked to have a taxi called. The young man and woman didn't speak English that well but enough to understand what we wanted. They were pretty much refusing to call a ride for us and telling us we had to walk and physically tried to move us away from place. Very confusing for awhile. Then another woman arrived who seemed to be an owner. Finally, they called a ride for us to head to Your House Guesthouse. I understand they didn't want to loose the business but it was all around a very strange experience!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I had previously stayed in Wiriya House and so emailed the hotel, asking for a rate for a longer stay (around five nights, and then two). The website rate was 750 baht, I got a room for 500B, not including breakfast - which I ate at a variety of places, not normally in the hotel. For the money I got a large and reasonably comfortable room, with ensuite (including hot water), and air-con (which worked just OK - I mostly used a fan). Ambience is basic, if I can put it that way, but it was fine for my purposes. Location is just outside the moat in a residential area. I didn't have any trouble walking to places such as the NIght Market.
The hotel picked me up at the airport for no charge, the staff were friendly enough (and for the most part spoke passable English), and my laundry was done at rates as cheap as I could have got taking it to commerial laundromats.
The clientele was mostly western with a smattering of Thai. Wiriya House is probably not a destination in its own right (think Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai), but does provide OK affordable accommodation in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dundas3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews