We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bargain in the centre of Chiang may” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kavil Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kavil Guesthouse
Ranked #98 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bargain in the centre of Chiang may”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Needed to find one night's accommodation to extend the stay and stumbled on Kavil's guesthause 2. Not sure if the same or what 2 stands for but we were very pleased to find it. We got a private room at the top, 3 flights if stairs, not a bad size and with en suite bathroom. A would consider a bargain for 250 bts a night! At night could be slightly noisy with couple of bars across the road but no problem with ear plugs, which I always carry with me. Very nice looking breakfast club 20 meters away servings gluten free cakes among many other things, which I think were also organic. We absolutely loved juice bar on the next street, mixed juices for 40 bts and smoothies for 30bts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank augusta_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    38
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
44
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forli, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Chiang Mai offers a lot of good accommodations and in my opinion Kavil Guesthouse is one of better ones for location, price and courtesy. The room where we stayed was big and clean with aircon or fan, the cost was 350 bat.
The guesthouse is in the old city very closed to the main attractions of Chiang Mai, the friendly owners will suggest you the best way to visit the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrycane78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I kind of stumbled into Kavil, and I'm so glad I did! The rooms are basic, but cheap and clean. I booked a tour through Kavil, and not only did I get it cheaper than everyone else in the group, but Kavil kept my bag locked up for me while I was gone, served me a beautiful breakfast before I left, and gave me a free nights accommodation the day I returned. As if that isn't great enough, the location is ideal! On a smaller, quiet side alley, so you have privacy but are a few minute's walk from all the temples.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalaynaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The rooms are basic but very nice and clean. It's located on a quiet side street with some nice restaurants. Lily and the other employees are so friendly and helpful! They arranged a trip to the Baan Chang Elephant Park for us, which was a great experience, and also our bus trip to the next place. My boyfriend and I both fell ill, and Lily brought us toast and tea all day- so nice!! Also the breakfast is an amazing deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank domas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful place, located in Soi 5 of Ratchadamnon Road in the old side of town. The outward appearance is simple but very attractive, the room size is in the standard, but well-kept, clean and quiet. The owners are a Thai couple, very nice and friendly, they were always helpful and gave us many useful information for excursions and where to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will probably be back. We recommend Kavil Guest House to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harkey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

A small, but extremely cosy place, run by a helpful old lady. It is not set on one of the main roads so it's surprisingly calm for a city like Chiang Mai (you can actually hear the birds sing!). There is free wi-fi and fans, and the rooms are clean (both beds and toilets). Unfortunately there aren't any single rooms, but the doubles are cheap so it's still a good option... And breakfast is really nice as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasna z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice location just off Sunday walking St and on a quiet lane. The hotel is fine for basic stays. The rooms can have aircon and large beds.. There isn't a fridge, tv etc and no breakfast included. Overall, rendezvous is nicer and better value-a guesthouse on same st. It's 150baht extra per night for the aircon room but it's a bit more modern with tvs etc and also includes breakfast.. so you'd end up spending more at kavil with two people paying for breakfast elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#138 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#42 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#124 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#112 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#235 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kavil Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kavil Guesthouse

Property: Kavil Guesthouse
Address: 10/1 Ratchadamnoen Rd. Soi 5, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kavil Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavil Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing