We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine & Dine”

Favola at Le Meridien
Ranked #9 of 2,102 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Favola's menu is inspired by Italian cuisine 'a la moda' with a combination of iconic dishes from the country’s northern, central and southern regions, adding innovative light fare created by In-House Chef Filippo Morelli.In addition, Favola has a fine wine selection available from the walk-in wine cellar. The majority are Italian wines complemented by International wines, all for competitive prices.
Mae Rim, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine & Dine”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

From: Andy Mannhart
Date: Sunday, July 28, 2013

Another outstanding dining experience was presented at the Favola Restaurant last night 27th July 2013.

Winfried and his whole service crew welcomed us with a glass of champagne at the entrance to the Favola Restaurant. The service during the whole evening was very friendly and most efficient. Simply a pleasure to watch and to be there.

The kitchen crew under the watchful eyes of Executive Chef Filippo presented us a dinner of highest standard. From the appetizer to the dessert, all was outstanding. Really very well done.
The Tuscany wines which were served to each and every dining course complimented the high level of a wine and dine experience.

Michael the Director of Food & Beverage together his charming wife Sabrina fulfilled the very important role of socializing with all guests, in my opinion, probably the most important task in a hotel. We as guests feel comfortable, important and very well looked after. Great job.

All in all, it was another unforgettable wine and dine experience. Anyone who enjoys good food and wine and was unable to attend, mist a great opportunity.

Already now, I am looking forward to the next wine and dine event at the Favola Restaurant.
Signed with the highest respect for a job very well done by each and every one who contributed to the evening..

Andy Mannhart

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    66
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
1 review
“Favola excellent experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to the Favola restaurant in the Le Meridian Hotel the service and food was excellent. The was atmosphere was very comfortable and the Australian wine was very nice. I would recommend this restaurant to visitors looking for a classy place spend the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rack of Lamb -Delicious”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Favola this past Saturday evening with four other friends. I ordered the seared tuna starter and my partner ordered the duck starter. Both starters were amply sized, well presented and both were delicious. I ordered the rack of lamb for my main and was not disappointed. In fact, the lamb was the best I've had in years; three large pieces, cooked to perfection, with a rich sauce that complemented the lamb perfectly. Will certainly return and probably order exactly the same thing. Winfried, the manager, helped us navigate the extensive wine selection and recommended a wonderful, full-bodied, Italian red.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony293917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Some kind of luxury but ordinary food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been there 2 times for dinner. Disappointed by the taste and the size of the dishes ("nouvelle cuisine").
When you pay over 700 baths for a dinner (nearly 10 times more than in Thai restaurant), why should you be still hungry when you leave? Did they expect you to order dishes for up to 2000 Baths? probably. The place was mostly empty of customers, not surprising. It seems that somebody (I guess, the customers) have to subsidize inactive staff and there is little money left for what is the most important, i.e. the quality and quantity of the dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Starter was great. Staff was attentive. Pizza was terrible. Sea bass was ok, missing something. We did not finish our main course.
On a brighter side, wine selection seemed very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hroniki2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Favola at Le Meridien also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Favola at Le Meridien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing