We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$10
Travelocity$10
Hotels.com$10
Orbitz.com$10
Tripadvisor$10
Trip.com$10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
31
83
64
61
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
83
64
61
59
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 298 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at SK house on Christmas 2011 at 400THB fan room. Which is cool because you don't need AC on Christmas, it was pretty cold anyways. The room we stayed was ok two big bed but decoration was bed and the TV didn't work but it was only 400THB a night so, I didn't expect the great service. The location was really nice but it was loud because there are always tourists. There is a pool at SK house and there are some chair we you can sit and read all day long beside the pool. It was valuable to me as we only paid 400THB a night haha. My bf went there again in July 2012 stayed there for a night but he moved out because it was too crowded and loud (it always busy at SK house) He stayed in the AC room which was quite nice for 650THB something that he paid for. SK house is a good place but if you like a quite place you better stay in other places.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaD509
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We got a free transfer from he trainstation, and checked in. After looking through the room we found dead bedbugs on the floor so we left straight away! We got our money back luckily, as I showed them the bedbugs. I would avoid this place, as the room was very dated and shabby and the mattress was ancient and pretty disgusting.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gokkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at SK House 1 for a few nights. At first it looked like a great deal - a swimming pool and reasonably nice room for only 300B. But this was the worst experience of bedbugs I've ever had. I had at least 50 bites on my back one night.

The thing is, the hotel doesn't care about it. When I told them about it, they did a half-hearted attempt of spraying a little (with toxic spray) and changing the sheets, which just made it worse. They just shrugged and basically said live with it. They refused to change the mattress.

Having a swimming pool is not worth it. Yes, it seems nice at first, but the staff really doesn't care to be hospitible. Not to mention that they try to make money off all the small stuff (internet, inflated prices off the tourist desk, etc). We left for another hotel and felt so much better.

Talking around the serious bedbug problem has been going on for years...and again, they don't care.

Room tip: Probably the air con rooms don't have bedbugs, but there's better value for that elsewhere.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carrotwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

After comparing a few hostels/hotels we ended up in S.K. House 1 (cause there are 4 i believe). We we're shown 2 different rooms and picked the cheapest, which was 250 bath per room! We had a fan and our own bathroom, which was small but had everything you need and was clean (and so was the room)! When we wanted some information about what to do around Chang Mai we ended up at the entrance of the hostel where a tourist office (with licence) was situated. A lovely lady named Nicky helped us with our questions. This was not just a selling-talk, but she really listened to our wishes and was honest about some trips that existed only for tourists. We booked our jungle trip, extra nights at the hostel, cooking course and flight from here to phuket with her......

Everything in this hostel is good organised, the staff is friendly and they truly help you with everything you need..(and not for their own gain). I would recommend this place and come back..

(by the way the jungle trip organised bij S.K House was brilliant, we didn't see any other tourists a long the way and our guide literally cut his way through the jungle!!)

This is the place to be!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simone h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed 1 week in the sk house 1, the hotel is located at the edge of the centre what makes it close enough to everything and also nice and peacefully. The room we had was very cheap and it was a good room, for more money you'll get more more extra's. Breakfast is great, i can recommand the club sandwich! The Thai food is also great.... The tour operator down in the lobby advised us a great jungle trekking (non-touristic) witch you can only book from that location. They also helped us with other bookings like transportation to the south and even IN the south.
Thanks a lot! (Tom en Simone)

Room tip: Rooms in the old building across the road are older, but also cheaper, we stayed here and is was good!
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomjansma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews