We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most accomodating owner...”
Review of Villa San Pee-Seua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa San Pee-Seua
Ranked #28 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The most accomodating owner...”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 days at Villa San Pee-Seua and it was not long enough! We headed up to Thaton and were met by a small inn owner (Old Tree House- see review) who did not want to be bothered with guests.It was a nightmare. Had we not already booked our air out of Chiang Rai we would have turned around and went right back to Villa. That is how welcome we felt.
From the moment we arrived at Villa San Pee Seua, the owner made it his business to ensure that our stay was perfect. We had a free transfer from the train station and the owner was up late to welcome us. He gave us a map and explained some sites and the fair costs of things which was helpful as prices vary in Thailand.
Our room was perfect, clean, quiet and comfortable.We slept soundly. Breakfast is included and served along the river (which our rom also faced.) The rooms have a patio and seating area so it is nice to relax and watch the river flow by. Breakfast is plentiful and there is coffee/tea making facilities in each room. There is free internet and an honor bar where yo can get a cheap beer and cool off at the pool (located on the river's edge) after a day of sight seeing.
Now...this hotel is a bit out of town. Which is a positive if you would enjoy a quiet peaceful environment on a river. The owner makes up for the distance by offering a morning shuttle into town and a beautiful (free) boat ride into town in the evening on an old teak boat. You are on your own to get back to the hotel. But, for about $45. a night we felt it was a great deal.
The owner went above and beyond for us. He took us to our cooking class (A Lot of Thai) which I would highly reccommend. Great fun! He also got bus information for us and even drove us to the bus station and got us in the right direction! We have not met a more interesting or nicer hotel owner...we would go back if we could! He studied in the United States so his English is excellent. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri&Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    70
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
117
70
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
vienna
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

it started allready with the e-mail contact when we booked the room - very friendly and a lot of information.
the rooms are decorated with much love and you have coffee/tea facilities without extra charge, a little fridge, AC. wifi is also free. you can enjoy a nice view of the river ping from your balcony. the location is about 3km from the center ( 15min by motorbike) and so you have a quiet place to relax. the garden with the small pool is beautiful and you have many places there to relay, enjoy a drink, coffee,.....
but what was real special was the friendlines off all the people there and the service. nothing is to much or to complicated and always with a smile from the heart. you can trust the recommandations of khun prae (the manager) no matter what you are looking for, restaurant, massage, guide - everything was as good as it as promised.
the breakfast options are good, for example french toast, fresh fruits, american breakfast,...breakfast is served in the garden also.
we allready made our reservation for our next trip because can not find a better place to stay in chiang mai. this is our 11th trip tp thailand and we never had been more impressed than from the san pee seua team. don`t miss it

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony & river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewel031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

No one can beat the service at this beautiful Chiang mai home. It feels like home as atmosphere is so relaxed and every amenity in your own home can be found here. You will regret not staying any longer. Books, magazines even the more recent dvds are provided. A pool, comfortable beds, beautiful oriental themed rooms and made to order breakfast!!!! What a treat to wake up and enjoy your first meal of the day lounging beside the Ping river. Honeymooners should consider this place.
Airport transfers and transfers to town are provided by ever smiling and efficient Ming. Prae who runs the place is a genius at service. Your every wish is her command. Have been to many hotels around the world both large and small, yet none can compete with Villa San Pee Seua's value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensionmgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Yes - San Pee Seua is a little out of town. That's not a big issue and taxis from town only cost c. 180 Baht.

Prey and others were always attentive and proactively helpful. When we weren't sure which company/activity we'd do during the day, they not only came out with great ideas, they also helped set them up for us too. They arranged taxis, and even changed existing bookings. Naturally, they picked us up from the airport, and dropped us back too. Some of the most attentive service we've ever received. For evening meals, they are not only happy to recommend, but also to arrange complimentary transport to local restaurants.

As for the room, we stayed in a two-bedroomed room, that was clean, smart, elegant, comfortable and yet family friendly. Both rooms had en-suite bathrooms.

Outside there is a pool, and a beautiful lawned terrace down to the river, where breakfast is served. At night, the lanterns in the trees make it a very beautiful setting too.

If you're looking for a relaxing stay, with a comfortable room, this would be a good option.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SR-SHZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The hotel is great, in a secluded region next to the river. Tee, the owner, is extremely helpful. One of us got food poisoning and he took us to the hospital, helped us communicating with the hospital personnel and made sure that everything went on fine.
The hotel has a shuttle service to and from the airport and to downtown, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diegoadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The reason i booked this hotel was all the good reviews i read on trip advisor and i was not disappointed. We stayed in deluxe room, lovely big room with views over the river. It was so peaceful there is nothing like having breakfast beside the river and just relaxing all day in a beautiful setting. If you are going to Chiang Mai this hotel will make your holiday complete i highly recommened it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

From the moment I arrived, Prea (I hope I spelt that right) made me fell right at home. Such a warm smile that immediately put me at ease as I'd been pretty ill over the festive period on a short trip back to the UK.

Check in was short and sweet and I was shown through reception to the back of the building, where any thoughts you may have formed about the hotel from the front, dissipate. The location is simply awesome...... Literally right on the banks of the Ping River.

If you can, opt for the Deluxe (bathrooms are not 5 star and are essentially a small wet shower room but, no matter to me) rooms as they are at mid level and the view every day at anytime stops you from ever wanting to leave, I booked for 5 days and, stayed for 12 promising to return after a Temple stay in The Fang Valley. I did and, was given the same room with a massive wicker woven egg shaped basket chair with which to while away the hours of the day catching the sun.

Breakfast is up to you, have your choice of pancakes, ham, egg, sausage, bacon fest all with fruits, tea, coffee, juice by the river or on your balcony, I had this up to as late as midday sometimes with never an ump or grump from anyone. Nothing is an issue or a problem for any of the staff. Special mention to the cleaners and the cook, all smiles, all the time.

The hotel does not have its own restaurant but, Prea will order any type of food from anywhere that will deliver in the city, a great service as the hotel is 15 minutes out of town.

Tuk tuk ride home is no more than 150B but, Prea will organise to give you a lift in and promise to bring you back saving you the cash, an incredible service that really does go above and beyond....! Also, the hotels boat goes to town every night at 16.30, a lovely 45 minute trip down river in to Chiang Mai.

Upon leaving I was presented with a beautiful gift, which led to an emotional exit for this 6'2" English man. A rapport with the staff (Prea) and a hotel I will never forget as long as I live and will return again.... Thank you to T, Prea and all the staff for the best hotel on my 4 month trip....!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussellMetcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#11 of 757 in Chiang Mai
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#3 of 757 in Chiang Mai
712 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 757 in Chiang Mai
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#23 of 757 in Chiang Mai
349 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#6 of 757 in Chiang Mai
231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#60 of 757 in Chiang Mai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Pee-Seua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Pee-Seua

Property: Villa San Pee-Seua
Address: 220 / 2 - 220 / 9 M.7 | M.7 San Pee Seua, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Pee-Seua 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Villa San Pee-Seua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Pee-Seua Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing