We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean accommodation”
Review of The Dome Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dome Residence
Ranked #136 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Dome is a no-frills hotel/long-term rental building located on Huay Kaew Road. Its location makes it convenient to do things in the northern part of Chiang Mai, such as going to the university, Suthep Mountain, and Nimmanhaemin Road.

The rooms are clean and have cable, but the appearance is a little drab although the building is only a few years old. The hallways are very dark.

The staff are not enthusiastic about their jobs. No food venues so one has to walk at least five minutes to find anything. It isn't expensive so would be appropriate as a stop-over.

Room Tip: North facing is best to avoid street noise and karaoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzyyxxww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Location. Pros: About 10 restaurants within 600m walk, plus a major mall with 2 food courts and some freestanding restaurants. Cons: Close enough to one of the busiest roads in Chiang Mai that leaving the balcony door open is an unattractive option because of the noise. Late nights feature the howl of high powered motorcycles. Returning to the hotel from the east during late afternoon traffic means creeping along in bumper to bumper traffic.

Big bathroom, good capacity instant water heater. Western toilet, asian shower which means no curtain.

Desk space for 2 people at laptops, but only one chair. Mid sized refrigerator. Sink on balcony.

An excellent mattress but sheets were not 100% cotton.

Thin walls. An atrium seemingly designed to amplify any sound. Doors that close with a BANG unless one is careful. Could understand every word of my neighbor's phone conversation. In all fairness he was in a heated discussion, emphatic but not shouting. Hearing other's TV is routine - and that's sleeping with ear plugs, which I always do.

Friendly, helpful desk staff with limited English skills which seemingly decrease with the severity of problem one is attempting to solve. Room cleaners not as friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItDontMeanAThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Without a doubt the worst hotel experience I have ever had, and this is after working and traveling in Asia for nearly 20 years. From the mosquito infested lobby (the only place where wi-fi works) to the inconsistent service (my room went days without being cleaned) to the officious and arrogant management (she obviously felt she could because it was high season), this place promises a lot but delivers close to nothing - a roof and a bed. No facilities to speak of, always asking for money for this bit and that bit (even a hot water kettle in the room) they treat all travelers the same - short and long term. Fortunately I was able to get out of there after a week to a place that offers a lot better facilities and services, more hospitality, all for the same price or less. I actually feel sorry for the normal staff there, they mean well but are clueless because they seem to receive no help from management.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A nice building in a convenient location. Unfortunately, management here is lazy and clueless.

The staff are just idling around most of the time.

There is no restaurant or coffee bar in the building. Based on earlier reviews, this building used to have a restaurant. That is no longer the case. The fact that they can't even sort out a coffee and juice bar in the morning is surprising. The nearest coffee shop is 5 minutes walk away. For good coffee you need to walk 15mn to Nimman. They have 2 or 3 people at the reception doing virtually nothing all day but they can't run a little coffee and drinks bar? It's just puzzling.

The towels and sheets are all stained.

Wifi is free downstairs in the lounge by reception but you have to pay in the rooms. If the Dome had a bar in the lounge perhaps this would be a nice communal space where you could get to know your neighbors. It isn't.

There is a laundry room where you can do your own laundry. You have to buy detergent at 7 eleven. There are no racks to dry your laundry anywhere. They expect you to use one of the driers? In this climate?

We booked a "suite" for 5 days. It was advertised to have a kitchenette. We figured it would be a nice room higher up in the building with some of these mountain views they advertise. The pictures on the web showed nicely decorated and spacious rooms. Wrong. Wrong. Wrong.

In Thailand, expectations for kitchenettes are low. That said, here you only get one microwave, along with plates, mugs, and cutlery. Unless you want to microwave something, you're out of luck. There is no stove. There is no kettle. There is no coffee maker.

We were on the 2nd floor on the shady side with no views in a room that had clearly seen better days. It wasn't worth doubling down for a "suite" at all.

Management here is just lazy. This building could easily be great and lively. They could provide services for both short and long term residents and make money in the process. They chose not to. It's depressing.

You can survive here and the nightly rate on the studios isn't bad. For a short stay, you can do much better at one of the lodges in the old city. For long stays in the Nimman area, there are better options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stop here for a few days, due to the proximity to Doi Suthep. Nice room, basic but nice decor, with a kitchenette, but without a cooker (only microwave). Basic kitchen tools, but good tv sat, 2 aircon, medium room cleaning service, good parking, staff polite, fair price

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wow...time sure whizz by...is 2012 and this review can't even be dated in the scroll below. Yes, this trip was done back in Aug 2010 and I meant to add into Trip Advisor upon return as it's not listed herein prior. However, they insisted me to add a date without an option of "Not Listed". So, this is an almost 2 years' back review.

A quaint hidden hotel out of the hustle bustle of the town square but if you fancy a good workout, it's within walking distance :)

Comfortable and you get what you pay - hence, it's value for the amount we pay.

As we always believed that unless you plan to stay in the hotel, there's no point in paying for a 5* hotel and not using the facilities that how the stars were accorded anyway.

You can get more photos of the hotel from their website! Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed 1 month at the Dome and thought for what you get it is definitely overpriced. A small room with a shower without a curtain so the water is every where where it shouldn't be- = found this very annoying, especially considering the price. There is no onsite restaurant but there are many restaurants near by so this is not a major problem. In my view, the place is very mediocre at best. The walls are thin so you can here others as they come and go. Not much more one can really say about this place since there are no facilities (no restaurant, no pool, no spa, no business section). I think the place is workable for people without much demand in the way of comforts, but I do believe you can get a better place for you money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lshapspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
#109 of 392 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayflower Grande Hotel
Mayflower Grande Hotel
#145 of 392 in Chiang Mai
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B2 Green
B2 Green
#95 of 392 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Palace Hotel
Green Palace Hotel
#252 of 392 in Chiang Mai
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hop Inn Chiang Mai
Hop Inn Chiang Mai
#120 of 392 in Chiang Mai
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome Residence

Address: 1 Soi Plub Plueng, Huay Kaew Road | Chang Phuek, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $23 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dome Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Dome Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dome Hotel Chiang Mai
Dome Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing