We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Rooms, no bar or restaurant on site.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dome Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dome Residence
Ranked #125 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hua Hin Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Noisy Rooms, no bar or restaurant on site.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

After a very long drive from Bangkok we arrived at the hotel eager for food and drink, they did not even have a drinks machine and no tea and coffee making facilities even though they were advertised on the site we booked on [Agoda] We booked two rooms, for our friends and ourselves, we both suffered from lack of sleep. The way that the hotel is built every time someone on any floor shuts their door it echos throughout. The view from the rooms on the second floor were non-existant. If driving out of the moat towards the hotel there is no way to turn into the hotel other than a very long detour to find a legal u-turn. Luckily we had only booked for two nights, we changed hotel and for an extra 1200 baht [24 pounds] we were in a luxury poolside room in a five star hotel. The hotel has no redeming features whatsoever and is so far in the opposite direction to the chill out atmoshere it advertises.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay at the Dome ask for a room on a high floor, it might not echo as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redladybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
20
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here for a mere $20 usd a night. It has a/c, hot water, and decent beds. Thats all you can really ask for. ITS A BIT OUTSIDE THE CITY CENTER BUT HAS PLENTY TO DO WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF THE HOTEL. The college area is right there with plenty of cheap eats and drinks as well as shopping. City center is only a 100 baht cab ride away. the rooms are basic, theres a small balcony which is nice, also has a fridge too. next time I would probably go with a more comfy hotel but for a strapped traveler money wise you can't go wrong

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demons851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I love staying at The Dome, the rooms are light and airy, especially the corner rooms, bed is comfortable, and for Chiang Mai tv has a lot of channels for farangs. This is my second visit to the Dome and while I would stay there again I feel the hotel is let down by its staff.
They say Thailand is the land of smiles... The dome must have been skipped as the reception staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. We always like to get extra pillows and asked for extra pillows and was told that the hotel was fully booked and no extra pillows... Really?!? The room opposite us was empty as I was shown this room an I'm sure there were lots of empty rooms. Eventually they gave us one extra pillow, so they other person had to put Towels under the pillow to prop it up. The shower curtain was filthy, moldy which hadn't been washed in awhile, I tried to explain over two days if they could wash it, I was even willing to take it down and put it into their laundry.. But thankfully they understood and two days later they changed the shower curtain. There were also big ants in the room, which we didn't have the first time we stayed there, but other reviewers have complained about. Since the dome has many nonThais staying there, I think they should employ people with English speaking skills, that may solve some of their communication problems, or just get more friendly staff to work on the front desk.
They charge For wifi in the rooms, but in the lobby it's free. If you stay a week or so you can bargain with them to get a cheaper wifi rate for your room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street or the empty lot are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My room was great, spotless, bed was firm and confortable, the shower was great.

However, there are a few cons to this hotel, that have nothing to do with the rooms themselves:

- the staff is unfriendly. I arrived in the morning, tired of a long flight, and they refused to let me sleep in an available room until check in time. I really did not appreciated it.

- The staff made me pay 20 bahts for 2 photocopies. 20 bahts ... I was staying 3 days there.

- there is free internet in the lobby, and paying internet in the rooms.

- the hotel is located quite close by red trucks from the gate (5-7 mins to Taphae Gate, less to the western gates). However, if you plan to stay inside the gates most of the time, it is less than ideal to have to take the red trucks. It is just that you have to plan your day in advance and it is more complicated to go back to the hotel at mid-day. And there is not much around it.

Overall, the room is very good, but the paying internet, the indifferent staff and the location will make me choose another place next time.
-

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bart_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Was able to book the Dome at the last minute during the Song Ran festival in April, and so I thought that meant I'd be out of the action but it turned out the hotel is smack in the middle of things. I walked out the door and got plastered with water-gun toting pickup-riders and by mid-day found that our location was surrounded by full blown water-fed rock-out stages with dancers and fun galore. Had to wade through shin-deep water in the 7-Eleven to get drinks. Massive fun, but then just steps away the Dome offered relative tranquility, a large room for the price, a lot of privacy, and NEW infrastructure. Lemon Tree restaurant down the street is awesome. Walk 5-10 mins and you're at the moat. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is it seems, while quite good, a little impersonal compared to other family-feeling Thai places of this size, and our little balcony looked out over the make-shift gym of the kitchen workers. All in all, though, not a complaint, just an observation.

Room Tip: upgrade to corner room worth it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaManMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

totally like this place, so central with very polite and helpful staff.
I booked a standard room and it was fantastic, clean, new beds, nice bathrooms, quiet aircon and more cable channels that i could need. Its a trendy looking hotel, i paid 1,800 baht for 3 nights. Of all the places i stayed in thailand on this trip, this was my favorite, its was small, cosy, unpretentious, comfy. wifi in the rooms was only 100 baht per day, 2 quid
will defo come back

Room Tip: standard rooms are more than excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick73nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

A missed flight meant I needed a one-night sleepover near the airport. The Dome was just the thing -- 15 mins to/from the airport, USD24 for a big ensuite air-con room, good WIFI connection. The immediate area around Dome is nothing to shout about. But 5 mins walk brings you to Lemon Tree restaurant which has a super range of yummy Thai and international dishes (hearty and cheap), across that is Central shopping centre which has almost everything you might need including couple of banks. so CONVENIENCE is the key word here.

I should mention that the Dome has a dine-in coffee house which serves decent breakfasts + yummy stir fry local cuisine + very good coffee. The cafe owner Khun (Madam) Walee is a sweetie who will fuss over you + make you feel at home.

Perhaps that is why Dome is popular with long-stay guests. The very good rates for long-term stays....the ever-friendly young staff at reception....lovely Khun Walee....good cheap laundry across the road.....all make for a very convenient place to rest your head in Chiang Mai for a few months or for one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
#188 of 375 in Chiang Mai
36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#101 of 375 in Chiang Mai
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hug Collection Hotel
Hug Collection Hotel
#290 of 375 in Chiang Mai
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#147 of 375 in Chiang Mai
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Din Ki
Baan Din Ki
#178 of 375 in Chiang Mai
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#133 of 375 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome Residence

Property: The Dome Residence
Address: 1 Soi Plub Plueng, Huay Kaew Road | Chang Phuek, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dome Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dome Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dome Hotel Chiang Mai
Dome Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing