We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveler rating
346
186
32
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
186
32
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews awana house roof terrace top floor old city swimming pool lert ros cooking love sunday market family room guest house air con shared bathroom east gate clean rooms stayed here for nights lovely guesthouse tha phae gate
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 581 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

And while this award winning house certainly has a lot to offer such as beautiful designs and pleasantly decorated rooms as well as swimming pool, if you need a decent speed internet for further travel plans don’t stay on the fourth floor. Combined third and fourth floor modem is as far away located from rooms above as possible reducing the speed below snail mail speed. We complained but were told it worked fine. Well, was not!
Also, at first we were told that check in was at noon, when we arrived at noon we were told it was at one, when returned at one we were told, not ready, customers checked out late! Not happy!
We returned this year because we liked it last year, now not sure if we will.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Adi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabertsch, Guest Relations Manager at Awanahouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear guest Adi P,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Unfortunately it is not as good as the review we’ve received when you’ve stayed here the first time.
We should have done it better than it’s “Mostly Ok”.
However thank you first for the positive comments.

Then we would like to apologies for the inconvenience you had for not being able to work on a fast internet connection.
Throughout the building we have access points on every floor except the Top floor.
On the 2nd and 3rd floor we’ve installed access point devices with stronger signals
expecting that Top floor has a good WiFi reception as well.
We understand your complaint and will make inquiries how to increase the “WiFi” reception and possibly add necessary devices.

Regarding check-in and availability of your room. It was indeed not the best way we’ve communicated this.
Check-in is as usually not before or at 12 Noon because the time the previous guest can check-out is at 12 Noon.
Around Noon it’s a kind of peak time, guests checking out and Housekeeping has to take care of these rooms. Each of these rooms will have a thorough cleaning.
For this reason already we should have informed you differently.
I fully understand your Unhappiness when we’ve told that you could check-in at first Noon and later at 1 PM and room appears not to be available since previous guest checked out later.
We should communicate this matter in another way in order to prevent wrong advising about check-in time….(and probably need to be strict regarding the check-out time)
We’re very sorry about this.
We’ll keep working on our performance and improve .

Hopefully there will be a third time to have you with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights.

Pros:
* In centre and close to most things in old part of town.
* Quite... considering location.
* Pool, Airconditioning, fan, hot water, safe.
* Reasonable price for location and facilities.
* Nice roof top lounge area and downstairs court yard.
* Fantastic local eaterys 'Cooking Love' and Angel's Secrets down the laneway
* And excellent Thai massage by Nee Nee straight out the front entrance.

CONS:
*Our bathroom was very mouldy and smelled of sewerage.
*We had breakfast in house on one occasion and food was ineadible. Eggs microwaved?? and tough, bread hard.
*And despite other reviews to the contrary...we found the staff courteous but not particularly friendly..compared to other accommodation experiences.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank maddyDiamondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabertsch, Public Relations Manager at Awanahouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Dear guest, MaddyDiamond Beach,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
It’s always a pleasure reading the Pros of a stay at Awanahouse and we’re
thankful for this.
But also to know what you’ve found not satisfactory is just as important to us.

Regarding the Cons:
Our bathrooms have been renovated about a half year ago.
New sanitary wear (washbasin sink, toilet, shower), re-make of the ceilings and lights
and having new shower curtains.
We’ve also re-grouted the tiles.
The bathroom picture you’ve posted showed that parts of the grout already looks bad.
Unfortunately the impact of our climate and humidity make this develop quickly.
It’s discussed with Housekeeping . Standard all bathrooms are cleaned daily and especially at room check-out.
Never the less Housekeeping is attended to the black grout and to conduct additional cleaning.

(Sometimes) “bad-air” is finding the wrong way back into the bathroom.
We’ve contact Plumbers to check this and how to prevent.

We’re very sorry that you found the breakfast inedible. It’s not our standard to serve microwaved eggs and hard bread but we let staff who prepares breakfast know about this.
As we’ve read that you’re one of many guests, appreciate the dishes of Cooking Love restaurant we can make a premature announcement that we have extensive discussions with them to have a Cooking Love branch at Awanahouse.
Hopefully we can launch the opening soon.

We sincere regret that you haven’t experienced our staff friendliness .
Friendliness that actually is quite a common nature of Thai people and those who
work here.
Your comment is brought under every ones attention.

We strive to give the best of us, to make our guests feel at home and to make
things better.
But we also kindly request to tell us about your inconvenience right away when
you’re still here. We’d certainly appreciate this.
In some situations we could be able to take measures or in the case of the breakfast , offer you to make new eggs and toast or bread.

We really hope that we have the chance to welcome you again.
Or when coming back to Chiang Mai and decide to stay at another place , we’d like to invite you for a free breakfast?

Kind regards,
Awanahouse management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms next to each other. The staff were very friendly right from the beginning. The rooms were interestingly decorated and clean. We did visit the roof terrace a few times and it had a nice view. Our children really enjoyed the swimming pool. It's a bit small but is in a covered area and was perfect to cool off at the end of the day. There weren't any other places with such a great location (being in the old town area) and a pool! In fact, after we extended our stay for a few days in Chiang Mai unexpectedly and we were unable to keep our room (we had to move hotels since they were completely booked), they allowed us to come back and use their pool at no charge! Very accomodating and friendly!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LilyMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

I had one of their recently renovated rooms and was very happy with it.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. There is a small swimming pool. The location is fantastic, near the Tha Pae Gate, plenty of nice restaurants nearby and I would definitely return if I ever go back to Chiang Mai

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank AlisonB006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Awanahouse whilst waiting to go out to the elephant sanctuary and had high expectations based on the reviews and it did not disappoint!

The rooms we had were a good size, great a/c and warm showers. The property was a good location for getting around as well - plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

The staff could not help you more if they tried. We needed help with booking a bus into Laos and the woman on reception used her own account to book them for us to save us a lot of trouble!

Would definitely stay again! Highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews