We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Comfortable”
Review of Awanahouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Awanahouse
Ranked #21 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This guesthouse has an excellent location and very nice rooms for a good price. Walking distance to anything you would want and can also park your scooters in a safe, off street location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Awanahouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 526 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Cute hotel and right outside the fort walls. You can't beat this place for the price! Our room was a good size, with AC, clean bathroom and cable TV! It also has a pool and good massage place across the street. 2 minute walk to the fort area with great restaurants!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights over the New Year. The location was great, really close to the Sunday walking street and short tuk tuk drive to the night market. The rooms had some nice features including a balcony, a bug net, air conditioning, safety deposit box, and a tv. On the down side the room needed a bit of work... the toilet constantly ran, the dresser was useless unless you unpacked everything as it couldnt fit a standard size carry on, the bed was so hard(but that might just be a Thailand thing) and the room itself wasnt very sound proof. Besides that we enjoyed our stay... staff were helpful and polite and it was nice to have the added feature of security gates. Side note.... Try Lert Ros restaurant across the street. Amazing food, amazing prices! Good trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2922unwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights here and really enjoyed it. The facilities were fairly basic (I stayed in a cheaper room as that was what was available) but good value for money and the staff were really kind and helpful. They seemed to be fully booked most of the time. The bed was comfortable, they had a mosquito net, small fridge and a safe in the room. The only downside is that the top floor used to be a dorm that they have split into single rooms so the walls are paper thin and I got no sleep until I got moved downstairs.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank pizzacatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is undoubtedly the best place I have ever stayed whilst travelling. The rooms are beautiful and clean, there's a lovely little pool and a wonderful roof terrace. Everything is just done to a very high standard- it is an incredible respite after a few months of grotty guesthouses elsewhere. The value for money is superb- I would have expected this place to be the same cost as an upmarket resort. The staff are also friendly and helpful. Book in advance though- sadly we could only get two nights here- we would have loved to stay for longer. Only downside is that it is not very sociable so if you are travelling alone you are unlikely to meet people here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

After stumbling apon this place after dinner one night and seeing the award of excellence from trip advisor being advertised, we thought we'd give it a go. We were previously staying a little out of town and paying 1600 baht a night. For 540 we were given a large double room on the ground floor, typical toilet/shower situation as across Thailand. The room had both aircon and a fan, tv, safe, fridge and a mosquito net. We were warned the room might be a little noisy as we were by reception however we were never woken by it so no problem there.

The staff go out of their way to help you and are always smiling. They don't force you to book trips but are helpful if you enquire. This guesthouse also has a pool and a lovely rooftop area for guests.

Excellent location, good rooms and wonderful staff. Can't fault it :-)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beckyengland1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have just spent four nights at awana house with a friend and I couldn't recommend it highly enough! The rooms are of a good size, clean, beds are comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly. Every time we saw them as we left for the morning they asked how our night was, what our plans for the day were and gave us plenty of information on surrounding things to do. I have stayed in chiang mai previously, for 4x the price and honestly I prefer awana house. If you stay here, make sure you go to Cooking love the restaurant down the soi to the left as you leave awana house! Food is amazing and Lin the owner is even better!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 388 in Chiang Mai
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 388 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 777 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 777 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Village
Tamarind Village
#15 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awanahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awanahouse

Address: 7 Ratchadamnoen Road, Lane 1 | Thapae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Awanahouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing