We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
344
186
32
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
186
32
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsawana houseroof terracetop floorold cityswimming poollert roscooking lovesunday marketfamily roomguest houseair conshared bathroomeast gateclean roomsstayed here for nightslovely guesthousetha phae gate
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 579 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Recently spent 1 week here with my husband. The guest house is great; very clean, great staff, good price and perfect location. Lovely big rooms, good shower (apart from having to stand on the toilet to use it but this is a common theme n Asia!). There is a safe in the room and free, good wifi. Good location with many places on your doorstep.
My only issues were general noise from around and in the guest house meant that we rarely got a good nights sleep (there is a building site outside the window at the moment) and there is a total lack of communal atmosphere. If you are happy to just sit on your own in your room at night or always be out in the evening that is fine but if you want somewhere to hang out and meet other travellers this is not the place for you!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that faces the street or away from the building site. We chose mountain view thinking it would be quiet but this meant a building site was under our windows and woke us u every morning pretty early.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Awanahouse for 2 nights and enjoyed the ambience of this guest house. It is within a few minutes walk to Thapae gate and is pretty central along the main road. We booked 2 days in advance and they didn't have any double rooms left, so they had pushed the 2 twin beds together which was fine. Our room had a/c, mosquito netting and cable tv and a safe. The staff are courteous and helpful, we needed some plates one day to eat some take away which they happily provided. There is a nice outdoor pool which we didn't have the opportunity to use but it was kept clean. The entrance to the guest house is very cozy and a great place to have a beer in the evening or a coffee in the morning. For the price we paid, we felt this accomdation was definitely good value. Would happily stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgreenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

A friend recommended Awana Guesthouse and we were not disappointed! Perfectly located down a quiet street just around the corner from Thai Pae gate, and just off the road from the Sunday Night Market.

Room was a great size with extremely comfy beds, wardrobe space, little balcony and an okay bathroom. Hotel staff were very helpful, there was a nice rooftop terrace, and a small pool on the ground floor which was very refreshing!!

There is also a Awana House massage place opposite across the road which was great, good value and friendly staff - the foot massage is perfect after exploring the city all day!!

Would happily go back to Chiang Mai - we spent four-days there but could have stayed for at least another week!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckieLouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in Awana House for a week, in august 2012. We had a wonderful time. The 2 double rooms - next to each other - with 2 extra matrasses, were spacious enough for our family (6 persons). Service is good and very friendly. The guesthouse is very beautiful and clean.
Our Children (aged 3, 5, 7, 8) started and ended the days with a swim in the pool. There was a spacious roof terrace offering room to play and relax.
Location is very good. Quiet but in the middle of an area with restaurants, and some bars.
It's easy to walk to the city's main attractions, and it's very easy to leave the city, using tuk tuk, songthaew, taxi etc .
There is a good offer of tours. Information is given and bookings are possible, but you're not pushed. The atmospere is very relaxing.
The surroundings are beautiful, with lots of things to see and loads of possible activities.

We can strongly recommend this guesthouse for your stay in Chiang Mai,

Ann, Koen, Emma, Brent, Bartel, Bram

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A perfect place for a couple that likes to leave the nightlife behind at the moment you enter your guesthouse. Situated perfectly in the middle of Chiang Mai, this place offers their ground floor room for a little discount because of possible noise from the lobby. Good deal for us, since there was never any noise and lazy us didn't have to climb any stairs. There are some mosquitos, but hey: you're in Thailand. Cable television which you don't need in bustling Chiang Mai is still a nice extra. The bathroom was fine.
There is a beautiful rooftop terrace, in case you want to hang out at night or have an early morning yoga session.
The staff were very friendly and the biggest treat this place offers... a swimming pool!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews