We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
344
186
32
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
186
32
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsawana houseroof terracetop floorold cityswimming poollert roscooking lovesunday marketfamily roomguest houseair conshared bathroomeast gateclean roomsstayed here for nightslovely guesthousetha phae gate
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 579 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Awana House is in a great location in the centre of Chiang Mai and has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The mountain view rooms are slightly more expensive, but a balcony makes the view even more beautiful. The reception staff were always available and helpful. Rooms are clean, spacious, well decorated and the beds are big and comfortable. Daily drinking water is not supplied, which I would've expected for the price we were paying.

Room Tip: Book a week in advance, it was almost full when we arrived.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katfight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Awanahouse is modest, but charmingly decorated and very clean. I stayed in the mountain-view room with a friend in June 2011. The king-size bed was huge. The bathroom was spartan but spacious. It's conveniently located in the Old City. I'm not sure about the rooms facing the street, but ours was very, very quiet. It's on a small side street off the a main road, so it's a fairly quiet neighborhood. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful, giving us advice on directions and how to find the cheapest taxis and tuktuks. We only ate at the restaurant once, but it was a delicious breakfast. Most of the other guest were young, Western couples, some with a couple children in tow.

I wouldn't recommend taking the tours affiliated with the hotel, however. I'm not sure if going to a travel agency would be much better, but doing research beforehand may help you find a less rushed, touristy experience than the day-trip we took through a company affiliated with the hotel.

Overall, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jt1569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabertsch, General Manager at Awanahouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying with us in the beautiful place of Chiang Mai.
Thank you too for the compliments for our accommodation, restaurant and staff.

Besides being very happy about the great rating we’ve received from you we also paid good attention to your remarks about the tour.
Like many other hotels, who have a license of the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) we are allowed to sell tours from the Travel Agencies .
These tours are standard joint tours and some of these are arranged to see the most popular places many people want to visit.
There are several kind of tours available doing sight-seeing or trekking, in one or more days. And when guests like to do and go to some alternative routes and places we also can arrange private tours.

Thank you again for your write up and helpful comments.
We hope you’ll come back to Thailand and we would be happy to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Perfect, clean, great location, good price. Could not ask for more. Thank you Awana for a wonderful stay in Chiang Mai, your service, accomodation and of course swimming pool made my 4 days there a bliss.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Could not ask for a better location in Chiang Mai, on a quiet road just behind the the main Ta Pae Gate, 1 minute walk away. The ladies that work there are always available to help with booking excursions (which they don't overcharge for). Swimming pool is lovely and food is great. Even made us some sandwiches to take away for our night train journey to Bangkok. Rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hembbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed in the fan room, was 225 baht a night!! Bargain. Extra discount being a solo traveller. Awana really puts in effort to make the place nice and it looks much better than on the website. Rooms are cleaned daily. I stayed in the fan room. Which was really hot. So if you are a person who likes to spend a lot of their time in their room during the day I would advise against the fan room. But there is an area outside of the room Panarama Level where you can relax and is much cooler. The place is very clean and has nice colourful rooms, safe, cupboards, bed side lamps etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews