We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly , good value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #156 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly , good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A comfortable guesthouse with helpful friendly staff - ready to help with directions. Swimming pool a definite plus.Quiet location but not far from restaurants, Muay Thai boxing and all attractions! Felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoruyaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    98
    38
    18
    10
See reviews for
28
87
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean and reasonably priced (we paid 780 baht for a room with AC). The real pleasure is the owner, a sweet and helpful lady with good English. Try the Muesli for breakfast. It's great. Within walking distance of most everything (Tae Pae gate is a 10 min walk).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We started our trip in Thailand in this guesthouse and it was a nice place to start. For the price this is an excellent budget Hotel and one of the only budget hotels in Chiang Mai with a pool.

ROOMS:
The rooms were clean although it would have been nice if they had been cleaned at least once while we stayed there. The rooms weren't huge but definitely good for the price you pay.

LOCATION:
The location was good if you like quiet but was still close enough to all the main sites and the old city. It's roughly a 10 minute walk to the markets and into the old city.

STAFF:
The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The reception also staffed from early in the morning until late at night.

Tip:
Take the cooking course that they offer. It's 700 baht and probably the best money we spent in Chiang Mai.

Cons:
The toilet door was a wooden slatted one so you can hear every noise from the bed. But to be fair to them this is the case in almost every budget hotel in Thailand.

We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for nice budget accommodation with a pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We enjoyed so much to stay there. All staffs were very kind and friendly.
They suggested many interesting things when we ask something.
And also room was very clean and comfortable. We wanna stay there again and we want to see all staffs. Anyway they gave us very nice memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our daughter graduated from an international school in Chiang Mai a couple years ago. Since then she has come to visit us in Bangkok twice and both times she returned to Chiang Mai for a few days. This most recent trip she found her own accommodations and was very pleased with herself for choosing the Thaphae Garden Guesthouse. She told me it was ideal for her extended stay (5 days, 4 nights). The rooms were simple but comfortable, the staff was friendly, the pool was nice and they had several meals at the restaurant. Location is a 5 minute walk from the Night Bazaar and the Moat. She booked an elephant tour through the hotel, including pick up and drop-off and had a wonderful time. The room had limited accessories, but she felt it was perfect if you spend most of the day touring around Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiFamilyExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice room with decent air conditioning. We had initially booked for two nights but decided to extend our stay a further 5 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke perfect English. Nice location close to the Thaphae gate and the swimming pool was a bonus. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmthout, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very quiet and still close to the old town. The staff is friendly en carefull. They give the feeling of wanting to help you with anything. It looks like they are a family who wants to run the guesthouse with heart and soul. Nice room, fun to jump in the pool for a nice refreshment. We enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#60 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#316 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#27 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#31 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chang Puak Hotel
Chang Puak Hotel
#129 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#71 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaphae Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

Property: Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Address: 60 Soi 3 Thapae Road , Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaphae Garden Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse offers you a choice of well equipped fan or air conditioned rooms at a budget price. Situated only a few minutes walk from Chiang Mai's Night Bazaar and Tapae Gate. Thaphae Garden is Chiang Mai 's best located Guesthouse. This Chiang Mai guesthouse is close to all Chiang Mai's attractions but well set back in a quiet lane just off the main Tapae Rd. Thaphae Garden Guesthouse offers travelers with a fantastic range of facilities and services including a swimming pool to compliment the clean, modern rooms and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Thaphae Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaphae Garden Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing