We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
paul c
munich

Nice, Clean, Cheap and friendly

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 18, 2012
We started our trip in Thailand in this guesthouse and it was a nice place to start. For the price this is an excellent budget Hotel and one of the only budget hotels in Chiang Mai with a pool.

ROOMS:
The rooms were clean although it would have been nice if they had been cleaned at least once while we stayed there. The rooms weren't huge but definitely good for the price you pay.

LOCATION:
The location was good if you like quiet but was still close enough to all the main sites and the old city. It's roughly a 10 minute walk to the markets and into the old city.

STAFF:
The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The reception also staffed from early in the morning until late at night.

Tip:
Take the cooking course that they offer. It's 700 baht and probably the best money we spent in Chiang Mai.

Cons:
The toilet door was a wooden slatted one so you can hear every noise from the bed. But to be fair to them this is the case in almost every budget hotel in Thailand.

We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for nice budget accommodation with a pool.
Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$220
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$35
  • Priceline
    $25
  • Agoda.com
    $23
  • Expedia.com
    $28
0.3 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$99
  • Expedia.com
    $91
  • Vio.com
    $91
  • Priceline
    $99
0.7 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$79
  • Official Hotel
    $79
  • Agoda.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $67
2.2 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $133
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Expedia.com
    $133
0.4 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Booking.com
$48
  • Expedia.com
    $80
  • Agoda.com
    $32
  • Priceline
    $35
2.1 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$293
  • Expedia.com
    $292
  • Lol.travel
    $265
  • Hotels.com
    $293
0.5 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$46
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $41
  • Agoda.com
    $40
  • Hotels.com
    $50
2.3 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$267
  • Expedia.com
    $292
  • Agoda.com
    $220
  • Hotels.com
    $292
4.5 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $97
  • Algotels
2.1 miles from Bodega Chiang Mai Chill On Thapae
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
113
105
41
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
113
105
41
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thaphae gate swimming pool night bazaar stayed here for nights elephant sanctuary hostel backpackers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 291 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We enjoyed so much to stay there. All staffs were very kind and friendly.
They suggested many interesting things when we ask something.
And also room was very clean and comfortable. We wanna stay there again and we want to see all staffs. Anyway they gave us very nice memories.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our daughter graduated from an international school in Chiang Mai a couple years ago. Since then she has come to visit us in Bangkok twice and both times she returned to Chiang Mai for a few days. This most recent trip she found her own accommodations and was very pleased with herself for choosing the Thaphae Garden Guesthouse. She told me it was ideal for her extended stay (5 days, 4 nights). The rooms were simple but comfortable, the staff was friendly, the pool was nice and they had several meals at the restaurant. Location is a 5 minute walk from the Night Bazaar and the Moat. She booked an elephant tour through the hotel, including pick up and drop-off and had a wonderful time. The room had limited accessories, but she felt it was perfect if you spend most of the day touring around Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiExperience22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very quiet and still close to the old town. The staff is friendly en carefull. They give the feeling of wanting to help you with anything. It looks like they are a family who wants to run the guesthouse with heart and soul. Nice room, fun to jump in the pool for a nice refreshment. We enjoyed staying here.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After staying in various places, we heard from
Friends to try guesthouses in Chiangmai rather than a hotel. It was perfectly situated between thaphae gate and the night Market, near 2 temples(literally so close) and it was peaceful! No noise of the main street etc!
Also it has a pool.
We got there after a 6 1/2 delay on our nighttrain and they were very helpful. We wanted to do a day tour but by the time we had decided reception was closed. However, we were still able to manage to book something for the next morning with the lady who checked us in through her daughter on the phone. We got receipts etc straight away and even though the ladies daughter we were dealing with spoke very little English, she was polite and helpful.
We would 100% recommend this place to our friends to stay.
We also paid for some washing to be done, this was perfectly done and my White clothes were brilliant White. Very impressive as even at home there's a risk of me tuning them grey!!!
Breakfast was also fine. And actually better than some of the hotels we had stayed in.
Our room was decent size and cost with a fan. There were no real issues with the bathroom although the shower soaked everything in the room including the toilet roll as it wasn't the best with direction but it was pretty powerful and a good temperature.
The day tour we did through the guesthouse for 800 baht each included an elephant ride, a river rafting on bamboo rafts. A trek to a waterfall through 2 hill tribes. It was really good value compared to some tours we were offered elsewhere in thailand.
Yes they are keen for you to do a tour, but never were we pressured into it, or hassled about doing it.
We also bought tickets for the muay Thai evening at the hotel as it is 50 baht cheaper than on the door of the arena. This was walking distance as is just inside thaphae gate, and we wold recommend this also.
The only thing that was possibly a bit expensive were their actual pc's where we had to print off some tickets. Other than that, which is minor there were no serious problems.

Very good!!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fizzlelems
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights,I really enjoy it.The staffs are friendly and patient ,they will help you wherever you need.The rooms are clean and nice ,the bathroom is big and the shower is comfortable.There even has a small swimming pool which you can relax your tired baby .The location is perfect ,close to Thaphae Gate,and you can find 711 and banks very easily.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews