We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy family members”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #172 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Happy family members”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our daughter graduated from an international school in Chiang Mai a couple years ago. Since then she has come to visit us in Bangkok twice and both times she returned to Chiang Mai for a few days. This most recent trip she found her own accommodations and was very pleased with herself for choosing the Thaphae Garden Guesthouse. She told me it was ideal for her extended stay (5 days, 4 nights). The rooms were simple but comfortable, the staff was friendly, the pool was nice and they had several meals at the restaurant. Location is a 5 minute walk from the Night Bazaar and the Moat. She booked an elephant tour through the hotel, including pick up and drop-off and had a wonderful time. The room had limited accessories, but she felt it was perfect if you spend most of the day touring around Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiFamilyExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    99
    38
    18
    10
See reviews for
28
88
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice room with decent air conditioning. We had initially booked for two nights but decided to extend our stay a further 5 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke perfect English. Nice location close to the Thaphae gate and the swimming pool was a bonus. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmthout, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very quiet and still close to the old town. The staff is friendly en carefull. They give the feeling of wanting to help you with anything. It looks like they are a family who wants to run the guesthouse with heart and soul. Nice room, fun to jump in the pool for a nice refreshment. We enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After staying in various places, we heard from
Friends to try guesthouses in Chiangmai rather than a hotel. It was perfectly situated between thaphae gate and the night Market, near 2 temples(literally so close) and it was peaceful! No noise of the main street etc!
Also it has a pool.
We got there after a 6 1/2 delay on our nighttrain and they were very helpful. We wanted to do a day tour but by the time we had decided reception was closed. However, we were still able to manage to book something for the next morning with the lady who checked us in through her daughter on the phone. We got receipts etc straight away and even though the ladies daughter we were dealing with spoke very little English, she was polite and helpful.
We would 100% recommend this place to our friends to stay.
We also paid for some washing to be done, this was perfectly done and my White clothes were brilliant White. Very impressive as even at home there's a risk of me tuning them grey!!!
Breakfast was also fine. And actually better than some of the hotels we had stayed in.
Our room was decent size and cost with a fan. There were no real issues with the bathroom although the shower soaked everything in the room including the toilet roll as it wasn't the best with direction but it was pretty powerful and a good temperature.
The day tour we did through the guesthouse for 800 baht each included an elephant ride, a river rafting on bamboo rafts. A trek to a waterfall through 2 hill tribes. It was really good value compared to some tours we were offered elsewhere in thailand.
Yes they are keen for you to do a tour, but never were we pressured into it, or hassled about doing it.
We also bought tickets for the muay Thai evening at the hotel as it is 50 baht cheaper than on the door of the arena. This was walking distance as is just inside thaphae gate, and we wold recommend this also.
The only thing that was possibly a bit expensive were their actual pc's where we had to print off some tickets. Other than that, which is minor there were no serious problems.

Very good!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzlelems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights,I really enjoy it.The staffs are friendly and patient ,they will help you wherever you need.The rooms are clean and nice ,the bathroom is big and the shower is comfortable.There even has a small swimming pool which you can relax your tired baby .The location is perfect ,close to Thaphae Gate,and you can find 711 and banks very easily.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

While backpacking around Thailand, my wife and I found this quaint guest house in a quiet side street in the middle of a busy Chiang Mai. It was affordable, clean, had laundry service, a pool and tours could be booked through reception. For backpackers and travellers on a budget, who still want a nice place to stay, we strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights initially, and liked it so much that we booked another night when we came back through Chiang Mai. Thaphae Garden Guesthouse was handily located - easy walk from the Old City, the Night Bazaar, riverside restaurants and more. Rooms basic, but very clean, with modern decor. And compared to many places in Thailand in a similar price-range, it was down a quiet lane.

Really though, it's the staff who made our stay there so positive. The two front-of-house staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, even though they seemed to be there at all hours, every day. Best service we had during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#92 of 757 in Chiang Mai
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandala House
Mandala House
#189 of 757 in Chiang Mai
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#240 of 757 in Chiang Mai
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#101 of 757 in Chiang Mai
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finlay's Cottage
Finlay's Cottage
#113 of 863 in Chiang Mai
127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#35 of 757 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaphae Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

Property: Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Address: 60 Soi 3 Thapae Road , Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaphae Garden Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse offers you a choice of well equipped fan or air conditioned rooms at a budget price. Situated only a few minutes walk from Chiang Mai's Night Bazaar and Tapae Gate. Thaphae Garden is Chiang Mai 's best located Guesthouse. This Chiang Mai guesthouse is close to all Chiang Mai's attractions but well set back in a quiet lane just off the main Tapae Rd. Thaphae Garden Guesthouse offers travelers with a fantastic range of facilities and services including a swimming pool to compliment the clean, modern rooms and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Thaphae Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaphae Garden Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing