We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay location, low cost, poor staff.”
Review of New Mitrapap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Mitrapap Hotel
Ranked #278 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay location, low cost, poor staff.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Cannot argue with the price I guess and the location is okay (10 minute walk from Sunday Walking Street) but the thing that really ruins the experience here was the staff. Generally I tend to ignore those statements citing staff for a bad experience, cause after all you don't share a room with them, so just stay out of their way, right? Not the case here as you have to hand in your room key every time you leave the hotel or face a fine (how bizarre is that?!), and have to regularly ask them for the wifi password as it changes regularly and is unique to each device/user- and each time you are greeted with a response that is so tense, so unfriendly that it makes been in the foyer an awkward situation. Maybe I've been lucky with the hostels/hotels so far, but you cannot take for granted the friendly manner of a grateful host. The thing that sums this place us is how depressed their 'pets' are- e.g. cruelly putting a terrapin in the most unnatural of settings- a concrete water feature. In my opinion, there are much better options out there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SEApacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    119
    90
    22
    17
See reviews for
6
42
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We didn't find this hotel to be good value for the cost. The photos online do not resemble the rooms properly. The rooms are very basic with no atmosphere and the toilet is bit dark and dingy. The service desperately needs to be improved....staff cannot communicate in English very well and are never smiling. the location is ok and quiet. We would recommend to look around for other options,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

A fairly forgettable hotel with smelly drains and surly staff. I was hung up on twice when asking for WiFi pass code. Wanted me to come down to get it, I told them I had pen and paper.
Slept well though on a comfy single bed. Fairly quiet.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MeavyHetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good points - The room was clean, simple, good choice of TV channels, free soap, fresh towels, free bottled of water everyday, free wifi (when it was eventually given to us)

Bad Points - When we first arrived they said they had no password for the internet and to come back in the morning, fair enough...So we come back in the morning only to be told to 'come back in 2 hours' We were told to 'come back in 2 hours' all day until I finally got a little annoyed that they kept fobbing us off. The system they have for the internet is stupid and they only print so many passwords off a day. As soon as these have been given out then you have to wait for the 'manager' to print more (but he isnt always there) The staff had huge attitude problems and wouldn't even look up from their facebook pages to answer any of my questions. This was annoying as I was actually being polite and were acting like petulant teenagers.
The website said that there was free toast and coffee. There was coffee but no toast and they only served coffee until 9. When I asked them about this they responded by shrugging their shoulders.

Overall this is a cheap and clean place to stay and we did actually extend our stay for another 2 nights. If you need the internet for business purposes (like we did) I wouldn't count on it working all the time. This is a good location and about 5-10 minute walk from the night market and the city gate. This is good value for money and it was clean which is the most important thing for me. The only thing that lets this place down is the staff.

Room Tip: Get your password for the internet as soon as you get there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel right before Xmas when all the old city accommodations had already been taken. The hotel indeed looks a bit Kafkaesque, a funny farm/detention center hybrid, but it apparently has so many rooms that it's capable of digesting any number of incoming tourists. If you ever fancied yourself being in a Pedro Almodovar's movie, you will enjoy their staff. The night market is really close and once you accept the idea that the old city is just a 100 baht tuc-tuc ride away, things will start looking up even if they didn't in the beginning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan-mow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Spent a few nights here. Centrally located and was the cheapest in Chiang Mai while we were here. Air conditioning, bathroom/shower, mini fridge two single beds and surprisingly clean for $300 BHT a night ($10 CAD).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Basic and overpriced - like another poster said, you can have much nicer accommodation for cheaper. There are no personal touches and each room looks and feels like a bit of a prison room, which many foreigners joke about after staying there. The staff are avoidant and inattentive, the bathrooms are dingy and a little scary, actually!

For some comic relief (I assume), you are given about five small soap bars and new rolls of tissue paper every day. My partner had to stay there for a few weeks when he first came to Chiang Mai, and over a year later we still have some of those little soaps hiding in our apartment. Whoever makes the rules has no idea what the word "wasteful" means. Absolute madness!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxlashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mitrapap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mitrapap Hotel

Property: New Mitrapap Hotel
Address: 94-96 Ratchawong Rd | T.Chang Moi A.Muang, Chiang Mai 53000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Mitrapap Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the features you'll enjoy are Air Conditioning, Television , Bathtub, Shower, Satellite/Cable TV. Comfort and convenience are the hallmarks of New Mitrapap Hotel. Book your room now at New Mitrapap Hotel via our secure online booking form. The first step is to enter and submit your travel dates in the spaces provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Mitrapap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing