We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple but service could be improved.”
Review of New Mitrapap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Mitrapap Hotel
Ranked #277 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good points - The room was clean, simple, good choice of TV channels, free soap, fresh towels, free bottled of water everyday, free wifi (when it was eventually given to us)

Bad Points - When we first arrived they said they had no password for the internet and to come back in the morning, fair enough...So we come back in the morning only to be told to 'come back in 2 hours' We were told to 'come back in 2 hours' all day until I finally got a little annoyed that they kept fobbing us off. The system they have for the internet is stupid and they only print so many passwords off a day. As soon as these have been given out then you have to wait for the 'manager' to print more (but he isnt always there) The staff had huge attitude problems and wouldn't even look up from their facebook pages to answer any of my questions. This was annoying as I was actually being polite and were acting like petulant teenagers.
The website said that there was free toast and coffee. There was coffee but no toast and they only served coffee until 9. When I asked them about this they responded by shrugging their shoulders.

Overall this is a cheap and clean place to stay and we did actually extend our stay for another 2 nights. If you need the internet for business purposes (like we did) I wouldn't count on it working all the time. This is a good location and about 5-10 minute walk from the night market and the city gate. This is good value for money and it was clean which is the most important thing for me. The only thing that lets this place down is the staff.

Room Tip: Get your password for the internet as soon as you get there!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for New Mitrapap Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 265 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel right before Xmas when all the old city accommodations had already been taken. The hotel indeed looks a bit Kafkaesque, a funny farm/detention center hybrid, but it apparently has so many rooms that it's capable of digesting any number of incoming tourists. If you ever fancied yourself being in a Pedro Almodovar's movie, you will enjoy their staff. The night market is really close and once you accept the idea that the old city is just a 100 baht tuc-tuc ride away, things will start looking up even if they didn't in the beginning.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stefan-mow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent a few nights here. Centrally located and was the cheapest in Chiang Mai while we were here. Air conditioning, bathroom/shower, mini fridge two single beds and surprisingly clean for $300 BHT a night ($10 CAD).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Basic and overpriced - like another poster said, you can have much nicer accommodation for cheaper. There are no personal touches and each room looks and feels like a bit of a prison room, which many foreigners joke about after staying there. The staff are avoidant and inattentive, the bathrooms are dingy and a little scary, actually!

For some comic relief (I assume), you are given about five small soap bars and new rolls of tissue paper every day. My partner had to stay there for a few weeks when he first came to Chiang Mai, and over a year later we still have some of those little soaps hiding in our apartment. Whoever makes the rules has no idea what the word "wasteful" means. Absolute madness!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxlashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here 8 nights. We had made the booking through a website and got a fan room even cheaper than form the hotel. The pictures are EXTREMELY photoshopped. The towels in the room had holes and so did the sheets. Plus you can hear everything form the next rooms and the corridor. The hotel attracts a bunch of Asian tourist (mostly older men) who kept yelling and watching tv until very late at night. So sleeping was kind of a problem. Also the staff don't really speak English so communicating is kinda hard.

I wouldn't stay again: at this price, you'll find much better value hotels or guesthouses around Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyrren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is near the Ping River and on the edge of Chinatown and the markets with lots of good street food and cheap restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean and basic with A/C, cable TV and the rate includes a toast & coffee breakfast.
The staff are friendly and accommodating, and there arre lots of songtiews outside. A bonus is the small western supermarket across the road with lots of hard-to-find goodies.
A good place to call base!

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the building for a quieter experience. More expensive rooms have a bath whi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elfin400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cheap and sufficient facilities but it is outside the the gate. Will take about 20 minutes slow walk to the gate and all the entertainment outlet. So transportation is quite costly around this area to go to and fro...staff language is quite a major problem...so have to use very simple english, as if you are talking to a 3 years old kid...but rooms are big and clean...the bed shaky...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank single79traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#140 of 387 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#101 of 387 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pornping Tower Hotel
Pornping Tower Hotel
#264 of 387 in Chiang Mai
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 387 in Chiang Mai
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#192 of 387 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 387 in Chiang Mai
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mitrapap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mitrapap Hotel

Address: 94-96 Ratchawong Rd | T.Chang Moi A.Muang, Chiang Mai 53000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $14 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Mitrapap Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the features you'll enjoy are Air Conditioning, Television , Bathtub, Shower, Satellite/Cable TV. Comfort and convenience are the hallmarks of New Mitrapap Hotel. Book your room now at New Mitrapap Hotel via our secure online booking form. The first step is to enter and submit your travel dates in the spaces provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Mitrapap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing