We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No luck with Chiang Mai hotels”
Review of New Mitrapap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Mitrapap Hotel
Ranked #278 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No luck with Chiang Mai hotels”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Again, a comfy bed, decent A/C, a working fridge, and a decent shower head. They even let us check in way early after our bus from Bangkok arrived three hours earlier than predicted. Should have been okay. We stayed here on the days leading up to Songkran though. I am not surprised by a hotel jacking up their prices during a holiday, but this one failed to tell us that they were doing so--even after we pre-booked it online. The problem here is that Mitrapap doesn't read their online bookings (they don't even have a computer at their reception desk), so even after we showed them our email confirmation and our confirmed price, they politely smiled and replied, "yes, but new year, so 700 baht." Trying to explain what a price confirmation meant, they politely smiled and replied, "yes, but new year, so 700 baht." There were three other people at the front desk experiencing the same problem as us: We all pre-booked through Agoda or Hostelbookers, received confirmation emails, but were expected to pay unconfirmed holiday rates, and were told this AFTER we had already slept in our rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarnivoreOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    119
    90
    22
    17
See reviews for
6
42
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you don't mind single beds then this is the place to stay. We got a good deal on one of the hotel sites booking for 3 nights or more. The rooms have 2 single beds (which re some of the most comfy I have had in Thailand so far), tv, ac, mini fridge and bathroom. they are serviced daily. The front desk staff can be hit-and-miss. sometimes they are super helpful, other times not at all. There are 4 floors with an elevator so it's easy going. It's only about 10mins to walk to the heart of town. There is a market just 1 block away and a night bazarr about 3 blocks away but easy walking distance.
We had no issues staying here and for the budget traveler this is an ideal base at about $10pn. we even left Chiang Mai for a week and rebooked here on our return.

Room Tip: Top floor has done well for us. and if it rains you can listen to it on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is really cheap, the bedrooms are clean and cleaned everyday. Hot shower, towels and toilets that Work, and in Thailand you know that's real luxury. The hotel is not in the center but Chiang Mai is not very big so it's not a problem. And the night bazaar and chinese district are close, that's nice.
The only problem of this hotel was the service, we've never been ignored so much. And they say you can have breakfast but they just have tea or coffee.
I really recommend this hotel, simple and clean, great deal

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backfromtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located close to the centre of town and the night bazaar. The rooms were pretty sparse and the bathroom was tiny but considering the low price we paid, they were not too bad. Service was okay. When we arrived the sink was leaking. They fixed this promptly but would have been better if they moved us to a different room instead. I would recommend this place if you are not spending too much time in the hotel as it is decent value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

You get what you pay for. At least the rooms were clean and they changed the bedding and towels daily and provided you with toilet rolls and soap (which I collected in a pile in the corner!!) It was cheap and not cheerful and really did feel like Cell Block H. However, close to market and lovely restaurants in the back roads. Good restaurant across the road for breakfast (closed early though because of the food stalls on the market at night. They are decorating and I happened to have a room on the top floor which was a little kinder on the eyes, other rooms were insipid lilac, green, pink and yellow - all in one room, my room was magnolia. Quite a depressing place, but probably a lot better than some places.

Room Tip: Cheap and local, most 4th floor rooms have been re-decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
Level Contributor
327 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Too bad you can not put negative score. We booked two double rooms from 9 to 11 September 2012. In one of them the toilet would not drain and we had to move to another, which turned out to be worse because the new, upon entering, we found a huge cockroach in the bathroom... The floors and walls of the rooms are filled with spots of suspicious origin and the clothes of the beds.
The location is not too good, because after some time there is nothing open nearby, and there is a long way to walk to the center (Night Bazaar, or old city).
Hotel staff in line with the quality of their services. For them all our complaints about the condition of the rooms were trifles. When paying, first they said that only accept cash, moving to invent the dataphone had disappeared, when we teach it in reserve consisted expressly accepting credit cards...
Finally, the driver thymus. To get to the airport early in the morning we asked the front desk called a taxi, and only agreed to do so on payment to staff of the total price of the ride to the airport (amount well above usual... but we did not discuss ), however, the taxi driver did not say anything, and when we stopped at the airport went blank when we wanted to charge and told him he had money in the hotel... We do not know if I collect, or how...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cesar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

For the price i dont think you could really complain , basic hotel, but staff were helpful and freindly, short walk to centre but plenty of taxis going by hotel to sothat wasn`t a problem, resturant across the road was cheap and food was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mitrapap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mitrapap Hotel

Property: New Mitrapap Hotel
Address: 94-96 Ratchawong Rd | T.Chang Moi A.Muang, Chiang Mai 53000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Mitrapap Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the features you'll enjoy are Air Conditioning, Television , Bathtub, Shower, Satellite/Cable TV. Comfort and convenience are the hallmarks of New Mitrapap Hotel. Book your room now at New Mitrapap Hotel via our secure online booking form. The first step is to enter and submit your travel dates in the spaces provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Mitrapap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing