We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cell Block H”
Review of New Mitrapap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Mitrapap Hotel
Ranked #277 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cell Block H”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

You get what you pay for. At least the rooms were clean and they changed the bedding and towels daily and provided you with toilet rolls and soap (which I collected in a pile in the corner!!) It was cheap and not cheerful and really did feel like Cell Block H. However, close to market and lovely restaurants in the back roads. Good restaurant across the road for breakfast (closed early though because of the food stalls on the market at night. They are decorating and I happened to have a room on the top floor which was a little kinder on the eyes, other rooms were insipid lilac, green, pink and yellow - all in one room, my room was magnolia. Quite a depressing place, but probably a lot better than some places.

Room Tip: Cheap and local, most 4th floor rooms have been re-decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    119
    90
    22
    17
See reviews for
6
42
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burgos, Spain
Level Contributor
327 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Too bad you can not put negative score. We booked two double rooms from 9 to 11 September 2012. In one of them the toilet would not drain and we had to move to another, which turned out to be worse because the new, upon entering, we found a huge cockroach in the bathroom... The floors and walls of the rooms are filled with spots of suspicious origin and the clothes of the beds.
The location is not too good, because after some time there is nothing open nearby, and there is a long way to walk to the center (Night Bazaar, or old city).
Hotel staff in line with the quality of their services. For them all our complaints about the condition of the rooms were trifles. When paying, first they said that only accept cash, moving to invent the dataphone had disappeared, when we teach it in reserve consisted expressly accepting credit cards...
Finally, the driver thymus. To get to the airport early in the morning we asked the front desk called a taxi, and only agreed to do so on payment to staff of the total price of the ride to the airport (amount well above usual... but we did not discuss ), however, the taxi driver did not say anything, and when we stopped at the airport went blank when we wanted to charge and told him he had money in the hotel... We do not know if I collect, or how...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cesar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

For the price i dont think you could really complain , basic hotel, but staff were helpful and freindly, short walk to centre but plenty of taxis going by hotel to sothat wasn`t a problem, resturant across the road was cheap and food was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

You get excellent value at the hostel. It is really cheap, and the rooms are very clean and nice. The location is nice, walking distance to old city. Wifi, hot showers and friendly staff. When you consider how cheap it is, you really get a great value out of it. www.newmitrapaphotel.com

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Huge building, probably a former hospital. Well located but quiet as well.
It's been surely one of my worst experiences in a hotel:

- Old, shabby, dirty room. Besides, the toilet was broken and we had to get another room. In the second room, the water heater was broken too (temperature selector not working).
- Wildlife: we found a HUGE cockroach in the toilet, and a couple of geckos on the wall.
- The staff was very unkind and not very useful: they didn't inform us of the free coffee and toast (we read about it in the booking info); they weren't nice when we had to change the room (broken toilet). Besides, they tried to cheat on us: when we ordered a taxi from the reception, we had to pay there, and we got no receipt, no invoice, no nothing. But they didn't tell the taxi driver we've already paid ! The man asked us for his money, and we told him (I hope he got paid after all ...).

To finish with, I forgot there the battery of my camera. I sent them an email the next day, but never got an answer.

Room Tip: No way! Seek another one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nidhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buriram, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A not expensive, friendly hotel ( ฿450.- a night for two), reasonably clean although full of ants. Wifi worked easy. No breakfast apart from powder coffee. Restaurant over the road, well situated for markets, parking space ok. However my wife became ill after one night and I couldn't stop sneezing when I entered the room. Insecticide? Maybe not.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After spending more than 1 hour trying to find the place, I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful lobby. However, on exiting the elevator on my floor, it was more reminiscent of The Maze prison. The room was very basic and clean enough. Wi-fi didn't work. They wanted THB 500 for the key which I refused to pay. Would never stay here again nor recommend anyone else to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hoovesonthehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#110 of 381 in Chiang Mai
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#194 of 381 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
#40 of 826 in Chiang Mai
357 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mitrapap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mitrapap Hotel

Property: New Mitrapap Hotel
Address: 94-96 Ratchawong Rd | T.Chang Moi A.Muang, Chiang Mai 53000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Mitrapap Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the features you'll enjoy are Air Conditioning, Television , Bathtub, Shower, Satellite/Cable TV. Comfort and convenience are the hallmarks of New Mitrapap Hotel. Book your room now at New Mitrapap Hotel via our secure online booking form. The first step is to enter and submit your travel dates in the spaces provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your New Mitrapap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing