We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
18
119
91
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
18
119
91
22
17
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 267 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Like a lot of other reviewers of this hotel, on first impressions we were not overly impressed. It does have a strange prison-like interior design style on the upper floors. The room was basic, with built-in furniture that looked home-made and somewhat tired (some rooms were being redecorated during our stay). However, we had booked the hotel through an Air-Asia Go package, and our arithmetic deduced that we were paying next to nothing for the hotel. After briefly considering checking out and upgrading to another hotel we decided to give it a go. It turned out to be not so bad! The good points were the air-conditioning which was quiet and very efficient, the housekeeping which was also efficient with clean sheets, towels, soap and toilet roll replenished daily, and the small in-room fridge which worked well. The shower and toilet facilities were also not bad. The TV had an assortment of channels which were so-so. An English Language news channel would have made a big difference. The reception staff spoke variable amounts of English, but always tried their hardest, and what they couldn't manage in English they made up for with a broad smile! We'd heard about the breakfasts of toast, margarine and coffee, so we never participated. There are many cheap cafes around the area where a good meal can be had for very litte money. The location is good in that it is within walking distance of the Night Market and the Sunday Night Walking Street market. The local Chinatown is just around the corner where the Wararos indoor market which is mainly frequented by the locals is a "must-visit". For travel further afield the local "red taxis" which are converted pick up trucks will take you anywhere in town for app B20 pp you can just flag them down in the street even if they already have passengers. Tuc-tucs are also relatively cheap, but negotiate a price with the driver first. To conclude, if for whatever reason you are wanting a cheap hotel with good position, good air-con, clean sheets and towels every day, then I'm sure you could do a lot worse! If you are so optimistic as to expect Ritz-Carlton quality and service for hostel prices, then look elsewhere!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smifnsmif2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The location is okay, and that's about it. This place has absolutely no ambiance - not even a little. Apparently towels and toilet paper are not included in the price of the room. What they call "breakfast included" is some scary bit of bread that you can toast yourself and some instant coffee you can make yourself, available in a setting that does nothing for one's appetite. There is a pervasive odor that seems to be a mixture of cleaning solution and unknown substance. The staff is business-like to the point of unfriendliness. I've stayed in plenty of basic accommodations and I don't mind simple, but this place is stripped down to the point of being prison-like.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdetata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Having already travelled round Asia for over a month staying at several hotels, I walked into the room and thought "Oh dear !". The furniture was old and a bit grubby looking, but, to be fair, the room was clean enough. Once I'd settled in, it really wasn't that bad, especially since I'd paid less than 8GBP a night.

There was free water in the fridge, although it was drinking water, not mineral water. The free wifi was quick and very stable.

You have to pay a THB500 deposit for the TV and Aircon remotes when you check in, but you get it back at the end of your stay, so no big deal.

Position wise, I'd say it's in a pretty good position. It's next to Chinatown and it's only one street away from Thapae Road. In 10 to 15 minutes you can stroll to either the Night Bazaar or the Night Market.

I'm in Asia for over 3 months, so staying in some cheap places allows me to stay in more expensive ones occasionally.

For less than 8GBP per night, if you grumble, you're just not being realistic. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banksyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

When we first arrived at this property we were not overly impressed! However, we did stay for four nights and it was OK. Nothing great but within walking distance of most places, lots of shortcuts to and from, worth discovering. Rooms were basic and clean. Breakfast consist of toast and margarine, instant coffee and hot chocolate. There is a great value place to eat right next to the Esso station, nice ladies and very friendly.

Room tip: As far back from the elevator as the water pump goes all night and can be a bit noisy.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacadien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights and found it a good base camp to see the city.
Walking distance to the old city and the night markets and lots of restaurants on the way.

Air con in the rooms works well, we had clean sheets every day and fresh water in the fridge too.

Excellent value for money. Its no palace but its perfect for seeing Chiang Mai on a budget.

My only negative is that even on the fourth floor we were under attack by tiny ants which crawled on the walls and in our bathroom. But we never found them in our beds but moved our beds away from the walls just in case. But it is probably our fault for having food in our room.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBJP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews